Skip to content

Red Velvet Cake Roll…

January 9, 2009
tags: ,

I picked my son up from school yesterday and the first thing he asked was, “What did you bake today, Mom?”   He was incredulous and darn right snippy when I said I hadn’t made anything.  His jaw dropped and he stared at me with utter disbelief.  What does he think I do all day, I wonder?  But, never one to disappoint, I baked today.

Red Velvet Cake Roll

I tried my hand (for the very first time ever) at the cake roll.  Lest the photo deceive you, this is a Red Velvet Cake Roll.  Mine isn’t very red, because I only had a smidge of red food coloring, but this was a test run for a Valentine’s Day dessert so I wasn’t too worked up about it.  Having never made a cake roll, I was a little nervous about putting waxed paper in the oven, but it was for such a short baking time that I had no cause to fret.  It was easy and came out perfectly.  So pretty and so good!  I will definitely not shy away from this sort of dessert again, and I’ll be looking for more recipes to try other flavors.

I followed the recipe from Imperial Sugar, which I found in a blog post by Robin Sue at Big Red Kitchen.  I didn’t have super fine sugar on hand, so I made my own by tossing some in the food processor…. otherwise, I followed their recipe.

Recipe:  Red Velvet Cake Roll

Cake:
4 eggs
3/4 cup Imperial Sugar Extra Fine Granulated Sugar or Dixie Crystals Extra Fine Granulated Sugar
1 Tbsp. oil
2 Tbsp. buttermilk
1 tsp. vinegar
1 tsp. vanilla
1 oz. red food coloring
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 cup cocoa powder
3/4 cup cake flour, sifted

Filling:
8 oz. cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup butter, softened
3 cups Imperial Sugar Confectioners Sugar or Dixie Crystals Confectioners Powdered Sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
Additional Imperial Sugar Confectioners Sugar or Dixie Crystals Confectioners Powdered Sugar, to dust cake
Optional glaze: White chocolate bits
Water

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Coat jellyroll pan (cookie sheet with sides) with cooking spray.  Line with waxed paper.  Coat with cooking spray.  Beat the eggs for five minutes.  Slowly add Imperial Sugar Extra Fine Granulated Sugar or Dixie Crystals Extra Fine Granulated Sugar and oil.  Beat well.  Add buttermilk, vinegar, vanilla and red food coloring.  Sift together dry ingredients.  Add slowly to liquid ingredients.  Beat two minutes, until well combined.  Pour batter into pan.  Bake on middle rack for twelve to fifteen minutes, until the cake springs back when touched in center.  Sprinkle a cloth dishtowel with Imperial Sugar Confectioners Sugar or Dixie Crystals Confectioners Powdered Sugar.  Immediately turn cake out onto towel.  Peel off waxed paper.  Starting at narrow end, roll up cake and towel together.  Place seam side down on rack to cool for thirty minutes.  Combine filling ingredients.  Beat well.  Unroll cake.  Spread filling over cake.  Trim any rough edges.  Re-roll the cake without the towel.  Place seam side down, on cookie sheet.  Dust with Imperial Sugar Confectioners Sugar or Dixie Crystals Confectioners Powdered Sugar.  Refrigerate.  When ready to serve, slice cake one inch thick.  If desired, melt white chocolate in microwave for one minute.  Thin with a little water.  Stir until smooth.  Drizzle over sliced cake or simply dust with additional Imperial Sugar Confectioners Sugar or Dixie Crystals Confectioners Powdered Sugar.  Serves eight.

- Shell

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    January 9, 2009 10:32 pm

    Try pumpkin roll with cream cheese filling. It is the best! (This is my Christmas gift for my brother every year.)
    Okay, I know I said I don’t like to cook/bake, but there are some things that I will do. Though I don’t make it as decorated as you do, he is only my brother for heaven’s sake!

  2. January 10, 2009 3:45 am

    This looks absolutely delicious. My mouth is watering. But I do not bake! This, however, could inspire me… I love red velvet cake too… going back to read the recipe/instructions to see if this is something I could do (and find ingredients for here; that’s sometimes a challenge).
    I hope it tasted as good as it looks.

  3. limeandlemon permalink
    January 10, 2009 1:30 pm

    i love red velvet cake but i never tried it as a roll … looks delicious and will sure give it a try …. Laila http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

  4. Dani permalink
    January 11, 2009 3:04 pm

    I have to admit my disbelief that a day would go buy without you baking something delicious and beautiful.

  5. January 13, 2011 8:52 pm

    I just spent the last half hour looking for this recipe. ha ha! And now I see that you already made it. I just have just asked you :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 817 other followers