Skip to content

Ground beef stroganoff

February 19, 2009

Ground Beef Stroganoff

Let’s be serious – aren’t we all trying to cut corners and save money where we can?  But does that mean we have to give up eating good food?  Of course not, which is why this meal is one of my go-to favorites.  It can feed a crowd, it’s inexpensive to make, and it uses items I always have in the pantry and freezer.  Plus, it just tastes good – and it’s excellent reheated too.

This recipe is from an Emeril Live show and you can find it at The Food Network.  I follow Emeril’s recipe except that I omit the mushrooms.  I know – you might be wondering how I can call it stroganoff with no mushrooms.   I’m just not into mushrooms, so I usually toss in some frozen peas instead and we like that just fine.  I always double or triple the recipe because it’s so good to eat it for lunch the next day.  And maybe the next day.

Recipe:  Ground Beef Stroganoff

(adapted from Emeril Lagasse, Emeril Live)

1/2 pound lean ground beef

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/4 teaspoon Essence, recipe follows

1 tablespoon olive or vegetable oil

1/4 cup chopped yellow onions

1 cup sliced white button mushrooms

1 teaspoon chopped garlic

1/4 pound small elbow macaroni or wide egg noodles, cooked

2 cups beef broth

1/4 cup sour cream

Grated white Cheddar, optional

Chopped parsley, for garnish

Season the beef with the salt, pepper, and Essence.

In a large skillet, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the seasoned beef and cook, stirring, until well browned and all pink has disappeared. Drain off any excess oil in the skillet.

Add the onions and cook, stirring, until soft, 3 to 4 minutes. Add the mushrooms and garlic and cook, stirring until the mushrooms have released their juices, about 2 minutes. Add the macaroni (or egg noodles), beef broth and sour cream.  (If you’re like me and opt out of the mushrooms, now’s a good time to toss in some frozen peas.) Cook, stirring, until the mixture thickens slightly, 5 to 6 minutes.  (I add a big handful of cheese to the skillet at this point and add additional cheese when it’s plated.  You can’t have too much cheese!)

Remove the pan from the heat and spoon the mixture onto 2 large plates. Sprinkle each portion with the cheese, if desired, and chopped parsley and serve immediately.

Recipe:  Emeril’s Essence

2 1/2 tablespoons paprika

2 tablespoons salt

2 tablespoons garlic powder

1 tablespoon black pepper

1 tablespoon onion powder

1 tablespoon cayenne pepper

1 tablespoon dried oregano

1 tablespoon dried thyme

Combine all ingredients thoroughly.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    February 19, 2009 7:59 pm

    I guess we can go to the food network site for the Essence recipe. This looks great!

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    February 19, 2009 8:50 pm

    Hi, Lisa. I’ll add the recipe for Emeril’s Essence to my post, but I just buy it already made in the spice section at the grocery store.

  3. sumshay permalink
    February 22, 2009 1:40 pm

    I would take mushrooms over peas, hands down anyday!!

    (Unless they are cold, crispy snap peas in the middle of summer.)

  4. February 24, 2009 2:44 pm

    Ooooh, I may have to make this. Rarely do I get so excited by things that aren’t made of 80% sugar but this looks terrific! :)

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    February 24, 2009 7:20 pm

    I have to say, it really is a great dish. I love that it doesn’t take any prior planning to toss it together since I always have those ingredients at home. Let me know if you try it, Stephanie.
    – Shell

  6. March 4, 2009 11:44 pm

    Mmm,this reminds me of being a kid!!!

  7. Pete permalink
    August 26, 2010 4:26 pm

    The Food Network recipe calls for 1/2 cup beef broth, not 2 cups.

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 26, 2010 4:32 pm

    Pete – This recipe is adapted from FN, but I prefer using more beef broth. You can start w/ 1/2 cup and see what you think. It’s just a matter of preference. It’s a really good dish, either way. Thanks for commenting.
    ~ Michelle

  9. Robyn permalink
    January 12, 2012 11:49 pm

    I just made this and it was delicious! I doubled the recipe but only used 1/2 cup of broth total. I also added a bit of flour to make the sauce creamier and a but thicker.

  10. February 3, 2013 4:22 am

    Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Very helpful information specifically the last part :) I care for such info much. I was seeking this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  11. Heidi permalink
    April 14, 2014 7:06 pm

    This is absolutely delicious!!!! Thank you!! Heidi

Trackbacks

  1. Best Budget-Friendly Ground Beef Recipes | Yummly

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 859 other followers