Skip to content

S’mores cookie bars.

March 2, 2009

S’mores Cookie Bars

I first saw this recipe around Christmas time at Lovin’ from the Oven.  They looked so gooey and delicious that I knew I’d be trying them myself.  I took this picture as soon as they came out of the oven, because I was totally enamored at how the marshmallow fluff puffed up so much in the oven.  The only thing missing when you bite into one of these bars is the campfire.  It’s a good thing one batch only makes an 8×8″ baking pan, because these are hard to resist.   (Dani, you are going to dig these!)

I made really minor changes to the original recipe.  First, I didn’t measure the marshmallow fluff – I just used a 7 oz. jar.  I made it easier to spread in the pan by dusting my hands with powdered sugar and then patting it out onto the chocolate bars.  After all this, what’s a little more sugar??  I also substituted 1/2 c. of whole wheat flour for some of the all-purpose flour the recipe called for.  It made for a denser bar, I’m sure.  Totally delicious though.

Recipe:  S’mores Cookie Bars

1/2 cup butter, room temperature

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/3 cups all purpose flour  I used 1/2 c. whole wheat flour and 1/2 c. + 1/3 c. all-purpose flour

3/4 cup graham cracker crumbs

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 king-sized milk chocolate bars   Definitely giant Hershey bars – wouldn’t be a s’more w/o them!

1 1/2 cups marshmallow fluff (not melted marshmallows)  I used a 7 oz. jar of marshmallow fluff

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Spray an 8-inch square baking pan with cooking spray.  In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light. Beat in egg and vanilla. In a small bowl, whisk together flour, graham cracker crumbs, baking powder and salt. Add to butter mixture and mix at a low speed until combined.

Divide dough in half and press half of dough into an even layer on the bottom of the prepared pan. Place chocolate bars over dough. 2 king-sized Hershey’s bars should fit perfectly side by side, but break the chocolate (if necessary) to get it to fit in a single layer no more than 1/4 inch thick. Spread chocolate with marshmallow creme or fluff.  **I dusted my hands and with powdered sugar and used my hands to spread the fluff onto he candy bars.  It was way easier than trying to use a spatula!** Place remaining dough in a single layer on top of the fluff (most easily achieved by flattening the dough into small shingles and laying them together).

Bake for 30 to 35 minutes, until lightly browned. Cool completely before cutting into bars.  Makes 16 squares.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2009 6:36 pm

    I’ve made these several times they are with out a doubt delicious and one of my fave bars. That first photo does it justice! MMMMM
    ~ingrid

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 2, 2009 7:25 pm

    Ingrid – these are great, aren’t they? Remind me of summer!
    – Shell

  3. March 2, 2009 11:09 pm

    Irresistable!! Soo mouth-watering..

  4. Holly permalink
    March 3, 2009 12:17 am

    Funny! I was just eating the second to last one from a batch I made over the weekend! I, too, found these on Lovin’ from the Oven. I might have to try the whole wheat thing next time!!

  5. March 3, 2009 1:03 am

    I love marshmallow fluff! I think I might make these for a girls’ night chick flick or something. Hmm!

    Thank you for the comment!

  6. March 3, 2009 1:17 am

    Mmm these look divine!

  7. March 3, 2009 2:20 am

    These look soo good!

  8. March 3, 2009 4:59 am

    This looks SO yummy! I definitely have to try them. :)

  9. March 3, 2009 9:01 am

    yours look great! i’m so glad you got to try the recipe. my s’mores bars overflowed like yours, too.. but i think that makes them just a tad *more* homemade. :)

  10. March 3, 2009 3:04 pm

    holy crud these things look ewwy goowey amazing!!! MMmmmm campfires out in the woods and smores, nothing better!

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 3, 2009 6:46 pm

    Pepsakoy – Thank you!
    Holly – I thought they were great w/ that little addition of whole wheat flour – and I figured we were at least getting a little something good for us in there, no matter how minute it was!
    Jessica – Definitely a great, gooey treat to share with friends!
    Koko and Nikki – Thank you!
    Sara – Let me know if you try them. I know you’ll love them!
    Kim – My thanks for sharing such an awesome recipe!!!
    Stephchows – Holy crud is right! These are sooo good!
    – Shell

  12. Jillian permalink
    March 3, 2009 7:00 pm

    woah! That second photo had me drooling! Looks yummy.

  13. March 3, 2009 8:25 pm

    I want to lick the second picture, the chocolate just starting to ooze out!

  14. March 3, 2009 9:35 pm

    I am drooling

  15. gamemammoth permalink
    March 4, 2009 12:25 am

    OOOOH mind if I bookmark this? Thanks :P

  16. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 4, 2009 10:53 pm

    Jillian – Yummy is an understatement!
    Katie – LOL – it is a dessert that makes you lick your fingers off, that’s for sure.
    fitgirl101 – : )
    gamemammoth – Please let me know if you bake these and what you think of them!
    – Shell

  17. March 6, 2009 7:29 pm

    I was just at the grocery store – now I will have to go back to buy fluff. We eat more than our share of s’mores in the summer. These will be a good sub until the warm months are back.

  18. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 9, 2009 7:55 pm

    EAT! – These are definitely a good substitute for sitting around a fire roasting marshmallows. Hope you enjoy it too!
    – Shell

  19. August 13, 2009 10:38 pm

    Oh my gosh! These look amazing! I’m afraid I’d eat the whole pan by myself!

  20. September 2, 2009 9:06 am

    Those look amazing! I have to have this, I’m obsessed with S’mores!

  21. hannah1433 permalink
    August 15, 2010 9:06 am

    Absolutely amazing! Thanks for posting :)

  22. March 6, 2012 11:21 am

    these look delicious!

Trackbacks

  1. Top Posts « WordPress.com
  2. The Kitchen » Blog Archive » S’mores Cookie Bars
  3. Week 66 (August 10th- August 16th) « Documenting every day of my 25th year and beyond

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 857 other followers