Skip to content

Garlic hummus with pita chips

March 8, 2009

Garlic Hummus

I was so hungry when we got home from church today – my stomach started rumbling before the sermon was even over.  Trust me when I say that’s embarrassing.   I needed something that would come together really fast or I was going to end up with a peanut butter sandwich… again.  That’s when I remembered a recipe I bookmarked last week.

Pickycook had posted a hummus and pita bread combo that caught my eye.  I had just bought two cans of chickpeas because I was planning to make roasted chickpeas for Jim to snack on, but when I read this recipe I changed my mind.  I’ve never had hummus but I wanted to give it a try.  Isn’t it funny how you can just assume you wouldn’t like something without ever having even tried it?  That’s what I did with hummus.  This quick and easy recipe totally proved me wrong.

I have to admit, when I opened the chickpeas I told Jim I thought they smelled like cat food.  Real appetizing, right?  I wasn’t ready to concede defeat yet, so I kept tossing ingredients into the food processor.  While that was pulsing and pureeing, I moved over to the whole wheat pita bread and brushed both sides with olive oil, then sprinkled both sides with the spice mixture.  I cut them into quarters, then kept cutting them until I had two cookie sheets full of pita bites.  They baked at 400 degrees for 7 minutes.  They got a really nice crunch to them – perfect for the creamy hummus.

This made a generous two cups of hummus and what we didn’t scarf right down went into the fridge for snacking on this week.  I especially liked the warm pita chips with the hummus.  Mmm.  Really good.  Thanks, pickycook, for turning me into a hummus fan!

Recipe:  Garlic Hummus

4 garlic cloves

2 cups canned chickpeas, drained, liquid reserved

1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt

1/3 cup tahini (sesame paste)

6 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice (2 lemons)

1 tablespoon grated lemon zest

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil – plus more for drizzling

2 tablespoons water or liquid from the chickpeas

1/4 teaspoon ground cumin

1/4 teaspoon smoked paprika  (I used regular paprika because I didn’t have smoked.)

Turn on the food processor fitted with the steel blade and drop the garlic down the feed tube; process until it’s minced. Add the rest of the ingredients to the food processor and process until the hummus is coarsely pureed.

Recipe:  Crunchy Pita Chips

12 pita bread pockets

1/2 cup olive oil

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 teaspoon granulated garlic

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon onion powder

1 teaspoon Italian herbs  (I skipped this ingredient this time and the chips are still really great.)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Combine pepper, garlic, salt, onion powder, and herbs in a small bowl. Brush the pita with olive oil and sprinkle with spice mixture.  Cut each pita into triangles (like slicing a pizza).  Place triangles on lined baking sheet.  Bake for about 7 minutes, or until lightly browned and crispy.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2009 7:28 pm

    cat food!? :)
    Love the addition of lemon zest!

  2. March 9, 2009 12:16 am

    I love hommous. Adding the herby pitta crisps takes it up a notch. Sounds yummy!

  3. March 9, 2009 5:27 am

    I am so glad you tried and liked it. It makes me want to make it again :)

  4. March 9, 2009 6:30 pm

    I saw that recipe over there, too! While I’ve had and enjoyed hummus before I really didn’t think it was something truly easy to make but maybe you’ve convinced me I’m wrong.

    Good for you that you stuck with it even after the cat food smell, ewww. LOL!

    You asked me if I would go back to my regular snickerdoodle blondie recipe or use Peabody’s and the answer is a resounding YES! It’s easier and while I like nutmeg, I prefer the blondies with out it. I’m also not sure what mascarpone adds to the blondies other than additional cost. Use Julia’s recipe and than if you like it maybe down the road give Peabody’s a try just so that you know you’re not missing out. Sorry about being longwinded.
    ~ingrid

  5. March 9, 2009 6:32 pm

    Oh, darn! Promise just a quick question & no more…have you read the book Emma & Me by Elizabeth Flock? I just started it, I know you read a lot and was wondering about your opinion on it if you had. Shutting up now! :-)
    ~ingrid

  6. oneordinaryday permalink*
    March 9, 2009 7:50 pm

    Olga – I know, it’s weird, but have you ever smelled a can of chickpeas??

    Arwen – The pita crisps were sooo good with the hummus!

    pickycook – Thank you again for an amazingly tasty recipe!

    ingrid – Try it, you’ll love it! And the book – nope, I haven’t read that. I try to avoid fiction with that sort of subject matter (from what I’ve read on amazon). I just have no interest in it, so if I’m reading something like that it has to be REALLY good. I’m reading Whistling Season and Honeymoon in Tehran right now (one in the house and one in the car). They’re both good and I’ll blog about them each when I’m done.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 838 other followers