Skip to content

Chocolate mint brownies

March 12, 2009

Chocolate Mint Brownies

Let me give you the tiniest glimpse into how my day started.

First, Sam and I were at odds when he left for school.  That completely threw me into “guilty mom mode” because I hate to start a day arguing with him and then send him off to the school.  Then, I took a shower and was finishing up drying my hair while Claudia was brushing her teeth.  She was sitting on the sink so she could see herself while she brushed and suddenly looked at me and said, “Ewww.  What happened to your forehead?”  I was puzzled for about half a second and then realized that she meant the WRINKLES on my forehead when I raised my eyebrows!!  Good grief!  Naturally, she raised her eyebrows up and down at me a few times to show me that nothing was wrong with her forehead.  Isn’t she sweet? I went to get dressed and didn’t have one single pair of clean jeans.  Aarrgghh.  I crawled into my comfy lounging pants and my “eat.sleep.read.” tshirt and decided to go make some brownies.

These are good and very gooey, just like I like them, because I took them out of the oven 5 minutes earlier than the recipe called for.  I love love love gooey brownies.  Anyway, in honor of leprechauns everywhere, I made chocolate mint brownies – green layer included.

Recipe:  Chocolate Mint Brownies

(from Joy of Baking)

1/2 c. unsalted butter, cut into pieces

4 ounces unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped

1 1/4 c. granulated sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 large eggs

1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp. salt

Mint Layer:

2 Tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 c. powdered sugar, sifted

1 – 1 1/2 Tbsp. heavy cream

1/2 tsp. peppermint extract or 1-2 Tbsp. creme de menthe

green food coloring (optional)

Chocolate Glaze:

3 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped

1 Tbsp. unsalted butter

Prepare a 9×9″ baking pan by lining it with foil and overlapping the foil on two sides for lifting the brownies out easily later.  (Next time, I’ll lightly spray the foil with cooking spray – the brownies kind of stuck to the foil for me.)

For brownies:

In a heatproof bowl placed over a saucepan of simmering water, melt the butter and chocolate.  Remove from heat and stir in the sugar and vanilla extract.  Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well with a spoon after each addition.  Stir in the flour and salt and beat with the spoon, until the batter is smooth and glossy, about 1 minute.  Pour brownie batter into baking pan.

Bake in 325 degree oven for 25 minutes or until brownies start to pull away from the sides of the pan.  Remove from oven and cool completely.

Mint Layer:

In the bowl of your electric mixer, beat all ingredients until smooth.  Add a few drops of green food coloring, if desired.  Spread the frosting evenly over the cooled brownie layer.  Place in refrigerator for 10 minutes or until firm.

Chocolate Glaze:

In a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water, melt the chocolate and butter.  Spread over mint layer and refrigerate for about 30 minutes or until glaze begins to look dull.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2009 8:58 pm

    MMMMMMMMMM…those look so wondefully yummie :) !!!

  2. March 14, 2009 1:55 am

    Oh, I had a couple of those days with the twins this week! I hate that feeling. On the one day I felt so bad I wrote them notes and dropped them off to them at their school, telling them how I don’t like to argue and yell at them at the start of their day. I feel the same about sending them to bed like that. Anyway, your brownies look good. If I eat brownies I like ‘em like this gooey and with another flavor.
    ~ingrid

  3. March 14, 2009 12:50 pm

    Nothing but chocolate can save a day like that! These look really yummy. Thanks for stopping by my blog – hope to see you again. I will be back here for sure.

  4. oneordinaryday permalink*
    March 14, 2009 7:19 pm

    Sophie – Thank you and yes, they are pretty darn yummy.

    ingrid – It gives me a headache to think of either of my kids as twins. LOL I love them dearly, but one of each of them is plenty for me. Seriously, my dad was a twin too, and he used to tell us about all the mischievous things he and my uncle used to do. He made it sound awesome.

    Donalyn – Definitely! A good brownie was just the ticket that day.

    - Shell

  5. March 15, 2009 7:35 pm

    I love the green layer in these mint brownies. I bet they would be just perfect for St. Patricks Day :).

    Thanks for sharing! I cant wait to try them! Great pics!

  6. March 16, 2009 3:08 am

    Oh these take me back . . . my little sister used to LOVE making us mint brownies. I don’t even care much for chocolate, but her enthusiasm was so contagious that I loved them right back.

  7. oneordinaryday permalink*
    March 16, 2009 2:55 pm

    finsmom – Thanks and if you try them, come back and let me know what you think.

    Aleta – I love that. Isn’t it great how food can take you back to such a sweet memory?

    - Shell

  8. March 17, 2009 1:54 am

    Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

  9. oneordinaryday permalink*
    March 19, 2009 2:22 pm

    watcat – Thanks a lot!
    - Shell

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 818 other followers