Skip to content

Three cheese and beer quick bread.

March 23, 2009

Three Cheese & Beer Bread

Finally!  A bread that I did right!  I haven’t blogged about my bread baking disasters, but there have been a few in the past couple of weeks.  I’m just not a bread baker if it involves kneading, yeast, or rising time.  Something always goes wrong and I end up breadless and swearing under my breath.  But, I’ve been following a blog called The Knead for Bread in hopes of getting to the bottom of my bread issues.  They posted a quick bread a few days ago that I knew I could do.  I had everything I needed (more or less) and my quick breads are typically pretty good, so here we are.  Meet three cheese beer bread…

When I said I more or less had everything I needed for this, I was referring to the cheese.  I substituted the gruyere with swiss, and I didn’t have shredded Parmesan so I used grated Parmesan-Reggiano.  This is the kind of bread that’s the perfect accompaniment to chili, stew or soup.  It comes together really fast and bakes in under an hour.  And, boy, does my kitchen smell good!  And the taste?  Outstanding!  I’m not usually a big fan of beer breads, but the flavor is so subtle in here; plus, combined with all that cheese….  Mmm. Mmm. Mmm.  My favorite part is the slightly crunchy top from that reserved cheese being sprinkled on at the end.  So mighty good.  Just look at this picture.  Yum.

Recipe:  Three Cheese & Beer Bread

6 1/2 c. all-purpose flour  (As usual, I played with this a little bit by subbing some of the all-purpose flour with a little soy flour and whole wheat flour.)

2 Tbsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

2 tsp. dry mustard

1 Tbsp. Italian dried herbs  (I actually used half oregano and half basil, for lack of having any other Italian herb blends on hand.)

1 1/2 c. sour cream

2 c. beer, room temperature

1/2 c. tomato juice

1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

2 beaten eggs

2 c. gruyere cheese  (I used swiss cheese.)

1 c. Parmesan cheese

2 c. white cheddar cheese

Grate all your cheese.  Set aside 1/2 c. of cheddar and gruyere cheeses and 1/4 c. Parmesan for topping the bread later.In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, salt, dry mustard, and Italian herbs.  Using a whisk, combine the dry ingredients.  Add the cheese (exc. for the reserved cheese) to the flour.  Combine with your fingers until the cheese it coated with the flour mixture.

In a separate bowl, combine the beer, sour cream, tomato juice, eggs, and Worcestershire sauce.  Whisk until mixed.  Add the liquid to the dry ingredients and mix with a spatula until just combined.  Do not overmix.

Pour mixture into 2 greased 9×5″ loaf pans.  Sprinkle with reserved cheese.  Bake in preheated 350 degree oven for 50-55 minutes or until done.  Allow to cool in pans for 15 minutes before removing them to finish cooling on a wire rack.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2009 7:09 pm

    MMMMM, that top does look yummy! You’ve got me beat, I haven’t gotten up the nerve yet to try making bread. I did buy the book Five Minutes a Day to Artisan Bread and have been reading it. Maybe by this weekend I’ll be ready to go. Can I just say, please, don’t take this wrong that I am happy to hear that you’ve been struggling with it a bit. Makes me feel like my fear of yeast is just a tidbit justified. ‘Cause it sure seems like everyone is just whipping out bread like there’s no tomorrow and raving about how tasty & easy it was. So thanks, I knew it wasn’t THAT easy! :-)
    ~ingrid

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 23, 2009 8:51 pm

    Ingrid – I’m equally glad to hear it isn’t just me! Yeast breads are just grueling to me, because I have such a need to do things perfectly (Wonder where my son gets that trait?) and I can’t get it right. Quick breads are my friends though, and this one is awesome. It’d also be excellent cubed and served with spinach dip!
    – Michelle

  3. March 24, 2009 2:26 am

    Mmmmmm… This is right up my alley, lady. I do love the fact that it’s ‘quick’ as well.

  4. March 24, 2009 7:37 pm

    I want this right now! It looks perfect, two of my favorite foods cheese and bread!

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 4, 2009 10:28 pm

    Farmer Gal – I’m not usually a fan of beer bread, but the flavor was so subtle in this one. And all that cheese? Love it.

    Katie – Thanks. Wish I could share.

    – Shell

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 856 other followers