Skip to content

Chai cake

March 26, 2009
tags:

Chai Cake

I bought a cookbook yesterday called One Cake, One Hundred Desserts.  Is that a great idea or what?  Learn the basics of one cake recipe, then turn it on its ear in 100 different ways!  Well, the first thing that caught my eye was the chai cake.  I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned my affinity for Starbuck’s – my love doesn’t stop at peppermint white chocolate mocha.  It includes chai lattes over ice too.  I might like to try this recipe for cupcakes with a cinnamon vanilla buttercream frosting.  (What do you think, Michelle?)

I wasn’t patient enough to get my eggs to room temp. before I started mixing, so my cake’s a little flatter than it should be.  Oh well.  Next time I’ll take more time to get prepared first.  I’m also going to add a little more chai flavor by substituting my Tazo chai concentrate for the milk.  You definitely get a light spicy flavor here, but I’d like it to be a smidge more present.  I paired this up with a little cinnamon syrup (1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. vanilla, 2 Tbsp. cream) and whipped cream.

Recipe:  Chai Cake

3/4 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/4 c. milk

2 Tbsp. unsalted butter, cut into 2 pieces

1 tsp. chai tea (Cut open some chai tea bags and pour the tea into your coffee or spice grinder.  Pulse until it becomes powdery.)

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

3 large eggs, at room temperature

3 large egg yolks, at room temperature

3/4 c. granulated sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease and flour one 9″ cake pan.

Combine the flour and baking powder in bowl and set aside.

Heat the milk and butter in a small saucepan over low heat.  As soon as the butter is melted, remove from heat and stir in vanilla and chai tea until tea is dissolved.

Using the whisk attachment of a stand mixer (or, if using a hand mixer, the regular beaters), whip the eggs, egg yolks, and sugar in a large bowl on high speed for 3 minutes.  The mixture will triple in volume and turn a pale yellow.  Reduce speed to medium and continue whipping for 3 more minutes.  (If using a hand mixer, keep speed at high.)  The mixture will continue to thicken and increase in volume.

With the mixer on the lowest speed, slowly sprinkle 1/4 c. of flour mixture over eggs and mix until combined.  Repeat with remaining flour in two additions.  When all flour is fully incorporated, pour half of batter into the now empty flour bowl.  Pour the warm milk mixture into the batter and stir gently to combine.  Slowly pour the milk/batter back into the other mixing bowl; use a rubber spatula to fold mixtures together quickly but gently.

Pour batter into prepared pan and bake on center rack for 30 minutes, or until edges pull back from pan and toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool cake on wire rack.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jillian permalink
    March 26, 2009 9:38 pm

    Looks delicious! Love the photo.

  2. March 27, 2009 3:21 am

    Great job on the plating….love the little design with the “sauce”! I’m very sad to say that I have that cookbook but have yet to make anything out of it. Can’t wait to see what else you bake up from it.
    ~ingrid

  3. March 27, 2009 5:46 pm

    Looks great and what a great idea for a book. Can’t wait to see more!

  4. sumshay permalink
    March 27, 2009 7:13 pm

    Well, of course it looks delicious!!
    I’m sitting here reading your blog and drinking a nice iced chai latte. Me and my love of chai! I think I’ll have to try this recipe before I drink all my mix!

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 27, 2009 8:39 pm

    Jillian – Thanks a lot!

    Ingrid – Let me know when you try something from the book. I had my eye on a couple others from it, and I would like to try this chai cake in cupcake form too.

    Katie – Thank you. This recipe is sort of a “tease” for what’s coming up soon.

    Michelle – We’ll be needing to try this as a cupcake asap.

    – Shell

  6. Katie permalink
    August 24, 2009 6:16 pm

    Made this tonight after drooling over the idea of it for a week. Having read your comment on how it needed more chai flavor, I pulverized some of my good loose-leaf chai with whole spices, using only the inner seeds from the cardamom pods, and increased the amount to a tablespoon. The cake is delicious and has plenty of chai flavor for both me and my chai-crazy husband…I can’t imagine it would taste very chai-y as written! Thank you for posting the recipe!

  7. January 21, 2010 7:26 am

    I just did a gluten free version of this myself but I added chocolate, but you actually used the grains in the tea bag…hmm…not a bad idea..

  8. March 28, 2010 1:36 am

    Hi, you have interesting post! I’m definitely going to bookmark you! Thank you for your info.And this is wedding cakes site/blog. It pretty much covers “cakes” related stuff.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers