Skip to content

Mini tie-dyed cheesecake.

April 19, 2009

Mini Tie-Dyed Cheesecake

Apparently, there’s a resort at Disney that makes a mean tie-dyed cheesecake.  I found a knock-off recipe for it at Slashfood, but this is my version.  Same basic cheesecake filling, but with a vanilla wafer crust and sour cream topping.  And in miniature.  Not too mini though.  You still feel fully happy that you’ve had a real piece of cheesecake when you’re done.

But look at those colors!  Every cheesecake is different.  Different swirls and layers.  But all bright and colorful and fun, fun, fun.  I used Betty Crocker neon food gels for coloring the cheesecake.  This particular one looks more layered than tie-dyed, but I still like it.  Wouldn’t it be great to show up at a party with a tie-dyed cheesecake?  People would go crazy.  Or a red and green one for Christmas?  Just too many possibilities.  I love it.

Recipe:  Tie Dyed Cheesecake

(adapted from Slashfood)

Cookie Crust:

3/4 c. vanilla wafers, crushed into fine crumbs in food processor

2 Tbsp. granulated sugar

2 – 2 1/2 Tbsp. melted butter (enough to bring cookie crumbs and sugar together)

Cheesecake Filling:

16 oz. cream cheese, room temperature

1/2 c. sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1/4 tsp. almond extract

2 large eggs

1/4 c. sour cream

food coloring

Sour Cream Topping:

1/2 c. sour cream

4 tsp. granulated sugar

1/4 tsp. vanilla extract

Line muffin tin with paper liners.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine cookie crumbs and sugar and add enough melted butter to bring mixture together.  Press a spoonful into the bottom of each muffin liner.  Bake for 5-6 minutes or until just golden.  Remove from oven to cool while you make the filling.

Beat cream cheese, sugar, vanilla, and almond extract until smooth.  Add eggs one at a time.  Add sour cream.  Divide filling into 4 bowls and add desired amount of food coloring to each bowl to give you 4 different colors of batter.  Drop by spoonfuls onto cookie crust in muffin liners.  You can use a toothpick to swirl the colors together or just leave them in dollops.  Do not overswirl or the colors will combine.  Tap the tin on the countertop to make sure the filling spreads to the sides.  Return to 350 degree oven and bake until center is almost set but still jiggling a little.  Start checking at 15 minutes.  They will bake between 15-20 minutes, depending on the size of your muffin tin and varying oven temps.

Combine sour cream, sugar, and vanilla extract in a small bowl.  Spread over surface of warm cheesecakes and return to oven for about 5-6 minutes.  Cool on wire rack.  Chill.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. unknowntheartist permalink
    April 19, 2009 11:17 pm

    Awesome take on the cheesecake. It looks more appetising in colour! Nice work!

  2. April 20, 2009 2:35 am

    Those are pretty cool looking! Great job on them.
    ~ingrid

  3. April 20, 2009 7:07 pm

    I love this! I don’t know if I can handle making the colors, but the recipe itself looks awesome- I think I am making this for my ‘treat of the week.’

    Thanks!

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 1, 2009 8:56 pm

    unknown – Thank you. I think it’s a fun makeover too.

    Ingrid – Thanks!

    Jess LC – Oh, it’s definitely an easy recipe, but the colors didn’t really take any time at all either.

    cheescake – Thanks for the link.

    – Shell

  5. Rebecca permalink
    May 6, 2009 2:42 pm

    Hi! These mini cheesecakes look beautiful and very yummy! I’m definitely going to try this recipe out; it’s great for when you have company over!

    I was wondering if it okay with you if I share your pictures and recipe to 3 recipe groups I belong to (one on facebook, two other via e-mail).

    Thanks in advance for your reply!

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 6, 2009 2:58 pm

    Rebecca – Thanks for asking before you use the photo anywhere else. I don’t mind at all as long as you link back to us with the recipe and photos. Hope they’re well-received.

    – Michelle

  7. Rebecca permalink
    May 6, 2009 3:02 pm

    Thanks Michelle! I’ll definitely link back- your blog is very interesting. :)

  8. Shanna permalink
    April 26, 2010 4:17 am

    Love your site! Also love your “one year ago” links…helps me catch up! : ) These little cheesecakes are SO cute and look so yummy! I want to make them for a shower and I’m curious how far ahead I could make them…any idea?

  9. dana permalink
    June 15, 2011 4:24 pm

    Someone on Etsy has swiped your photo for her shop, where she sells recipes. I can only assume she is selling this recipe as her own as well:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/75683090/creamy-colorful-rainbow-tart-cheesecake

    I have reported the shop the Etsy, but I thought you might want to know. All of the photos have been lifted from blogs. Such a shame.

  10. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 15, 2011 7:40 pm

    Dana – Thanks for the heads-up. I noticed other familiar photos from other bloggers in her “shop.” That takes a lot of nerve, in my opinion. :P
    ~ Michelle

  11. dana permalink
    June 16, 2011 10:16 am

    Yeah I tracked down 10 blogs/recipe sites she lifted from and sent the links to Etsy. I stopped checking after that, but I’m sure the rest follow the same pattern. Hopefully it will be remedied quickly. One of them is from Betty Crocker! Sheesh.

Trackbacks

  1. cheesecake cupcakes | Makeunder My Life

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 853 other followers