Skip to content

Zucchini fries

May 5, 2009

Zucchini Fries

Okay, I’m really tired of all these cake posts.  If you’re still with me, I thank you!  I’m still baking up a storm, but I’m going to give us all a break from telling you about it.  The last two flavors are being tested today and then I’ll have my final lineup for the wedding.  I’m sure I’ll blog about it but for right now I’m ready to take a breather.

On that note, let me introduce you to my friend, zucchini fries.  Yum. O.  These are so insanely easy to throw together and they bake up to this beautiful golden brown.  They taste great and they’re even pretty good for you.  These are great with marinara sauce or ranch dressing.  They’re best eaten right out of the oven when they’re nice and hot.

Recipe:  Zucchini Fries

3-4 small zucchini   (We call these little ones summer squash.)

2 eggs, lightly scrambled in a pie plate

3/4 c. dry bread crumbs  (I made my own from some whole wheat bread slices in the food processor.  I let them sit in a bowl on the counter to dry out, so that took a little advanced planning.  Using bread crumbs or panko crumbs from the store would certainly be quicker.)

1/2 c. Parmesan cheese

garlic powder, Italian seasoning, salt, and pepper to taste

cooking spray

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or foil.  Spray with cooking spray.

Combine the bread crumbs, cheese, and spices in a pie plate.  Trim the ends of the zucchini and cut each in half lengthwise, then cut in half two more times to get long skinny pieces of squash.

Dip the zucchini fries into the egg first, then the crumb mixture.  Coat evenly.  Place them on the baking sheet and spray the tops lightly with cooking spray.  Bake 12 minutes.  Turn the oven to broil and watch carefully until the tops are browned.  Serve with marinara sauce or ranch dressing.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2009 3:25 pm

    I’m not tired of cake. :)

    Thanks for the recipe. I’m always on the lookout for new recipes for veggies. Mine love ‘em but I like to try and mix it up for them. Bet these would be yummy with panko crumbs which stay crispier.
    ~ingrid

  2. May 5, 2009 11:19 pm

    I dont think anyone can ever get tired of cake :)

    I love zucchini fries. I have to admit that I usually fry them, but these look a lot better for me. Thanks for sharing!

  3. May 6, 2009 7:55 pm

    These look great! This will be a perfect use of zucchini when it’s coming out of ears this summer.

  4. May 10, 2009 3:48 am

    Look at you whipping up a storm of cakes! Sorry that I’ve been absent from reading for awhile, but I’m excited to get reading about all those cakes! The zucchini are what really caught my eye, though… These look delicious.

  5. May 12, 2009 9:54 pm

    Love these! I am a total zucchini fanatic, and I am so glad that they are baked because then I can eat them without feeling the deep fry guilt afterwards.

  6. May 13, 2009 12:06 am

    I’m surprised how versatile zucchini can be. I’ve never heard of them before I came to Australia and to see a vegetable put into cakes, slices and now as fries astonishes me.
    It looks delicious!

    P.S.: I’m with everyone else… there’s never too much of cake

  7. May 15, 2009 1:15 pm

    Now they look kinda nice! My mouth is watering just looking at the picture.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 818 other followers