Skip to content

Nutella pinwheel cookies

May 14, 2009

Nutella Pinwheel Cookies

I bought my first jar of Nutella not too long ago.  It’s just been sitting in the cupboard waiting for me to bake up something wonderful with it.  Not being one to disappoint, here’s something wonderful.  Nutella pinwheel cookies!

Not only are these little gems pretty, but they are good!  I have to say, the ends of the cookie log didn’t quite make the cut so I took one for the team and ate them raw.  Don’t you love raw cookie dough?  I do, and with the Nutella swirled through it?  Divine.

I found the recipe at The Purple Foodie and I send many thanks her way.  This recipe requires so few ingredients to get such beautiful results.  I’ll definitely be making them again.  They look like I spent a long time fussing over them, but really the dough log spent more time in the fridge than anything, and even that was short.

One tip for you.  You can certainly use a knife to slice the cookie log, but it will mess with your perfect nutella swirl.  The Purple Foodie used a floral wire, but I just used some dental floss.  It worked like a charm.  Frankly, it was the most enjoyable use of dental floss I can imagine.

Recipe:  Nutella Pinwheel Cookies

8 Tbsp. butter, softened

1/2 c. granulated sugar

1 egg yolk

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 heaping cup of sifted flour

1/4 c. Nutella spread  (Instead of measuring the Nutella, I just spread it across the dough straight from the jar.)

2-3 Tbsp. toasted and chopped hazelnuts  (I left this out because I knew the kids wouldn’t enjoy them as much.)

Mix the butter and sugar together until creamy.  Mix in egg yolk and vanilla until well combined.  Stir in the sifted flour.  Refrigerate dough for 15 minutes to help firm it up for rolling later.

Remove dough from refrigerator and roll into a rectangle about 1/4″ thick.  Spread Nutella on top of dough, leaving on finger width around all the edges.  Sprinkle with toasted hazlenuts.  Roll dough into a log and return to refrigerator for 15 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Cut slices from dough and place on an ungreased baking sheet.  (This is where some dental floss comes in very handy.) Bake for 10 minutes.  If you’ve cut thicker rounds, you will need to bake them longer.  Watch for the edges to begin to color and remove from oven.  Cool one minute on pan and transfer to cooling rack.

I got 27 cookies out of one batch, and that doesn’t count the pre-baking nibbling!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2009 4:35 pm

    You did a great job with the swirls! I’ve tried them before, and like you, I used a dental floss. I’ve actually forgotten how these taste like; will definitely give it a re-visit soon!

  2. May 14, 2009 5:03 pm

    I love nutella! Especially with bananas…

  3. May 14, 2009 6:16 pm

    these look so fun and tasty. great idea.

  4. May 14, 2009 6:35 pm

    Oh my goodness, these look delicious! All of your baking looks fabulous. I will be trying to make some of these, thanks so much

  5. May 15, 2009 12:44 am

    yum! I heart nutella. Even with a spoon straight out of the jar…is that weird?

  6. May 15, 2009 3:23 am

    I really need to stop being so lazy and bake cookies already! These would be a perfect place to start. Just need to find some time now!
    ~ingrid

  7. May 15, 2009 9:57 pm

    I think I gain a pound everytime I read your blog!

    PS…I Left something for you on my blog, take a look when you get the chance! You deserve it!

  8. May 15, 2009 10:01 pm

    I love Nutella! these look wonderful!

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 16, 2009 12:36 am

    Ovenhaven – Thank you!

    Lonely Scrapbooker – I haven’t actually tried it any other way. I’ll have to give that a go.

    Carrie – Thanks!

    Lynette – Thank you for the kind words.

    Deseree – Not weird. Just delicious!

    Ingrid – I know what you mean. I’ve gotten hooked on bars now and cookies feel like they take a lot longer.

    Amy – LOL And thanks for a wonderful surprise! I blogged about it and chose 15 new blogs to pass it along to.

    Dimah – Thank you!

    - Michelle

  10. Brenda permalink
    May 18, 2009 5:55 am

    These are absolutely wonderful! I doubled the recipe easily. Just make sure you refrigerate the dough really well both times or else it’s really hard to roll out and cut. And don’t be stingy with the nutella!!

Trackbacks

  1. Nutella Pinwheel Cookies « Absolute Gluttony

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 859 other followers