Skip to content

Pink lemonade frozen yogurt

May 17, 2009

Pink Lemonade Frozen Yogurt

I seem to have collected several different sorbet and frozen yogurt recipes over the past few weeks.  Today we enjoyed pink lemonade frozen yogurt.  It’s light and refreshing with a little lemon kick.  Very nice for a hot day.  Unfortunately, when I made this yesterday it was a hot day, but by the time we got to eat it this afternoon the weather had changed drastically.  It’s downright chilly in these parts today.

Recipe:  Pink Lemonade Frozen Yogurt

32 oz. low fat vanilla yogurt

12 oz. frozen pink lemonade concentrate, thawed  (You could just use regular lemonade for this too, and skip the drop of red food coloring for a lemonade frozen yogurt.)

1 c. half and half

1/4 c. fresh squeezed lemon juice

1/2 c. granulated sugar

1/8 tsp. red food coloring  (You certainly don’t have to do this, but it did give it a perfect pink color.)

Combine all ingredients in large bowl and whisk until sugar is dissolved.  Chill until cold, about 30 minutes.  Freeze mixture in an ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions.  Transfer to an airtight container and freeze until firm enough to scoop, about 2 hours.

(I do not own an ice cream machine, so after the mixture was chilled, I transferred the whole stainless steel bowl to the freezer.  After 45 minutes, I beat it with my hand held electric mixer and returned it to the freezer.  I did this two or three more times, then transferred it to an airtight container until frozen.  It didn’t get a really creamy texture like the chocolate frozen yogurt I made a while back, but I was more diligent with that one and mixed it more than three times.  This ended up somewhere between the texture of frozen yogurt and sorbet.  Still a great treat though.)

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2009 11:45 pm

    You MADE this?! Holy guacamole (no pun intended). I didn’t know people actually made this stuff. You’re my hero. I just wish I was your neighbour. Sigh.

  2. oneordinaryday permalink*
    May 17, 2009 11:55 pm

    Every time I look at your blog photos I wish I was your neighbor! Especially when I get a glimpse of that crystal clear blue water…. sigh.

  3. May 18, 2009 1:57 am

    This looks wonderful! Found the picture on TasteSpotting… I will be giving this a try! :)

  4. May 18, 2009 2:46 am

    This looks great! I keep hearing about making ice cream and frozen yogurt this way without a machine, and I have to try it since I don’t have an ice cream machine either.

  5. May 18, 2009 6:11 am

    This looks like the perfect summery treat… adding it to my to-do list!

  6. May 18, 2009 1:55 pm

    Sure is pretty! Sounds like a fun summery treat. You must get an ice cream machine! They’re so much fun to play with.

  7. May 19, 2009 4:02 pm

    This looks so good and easy to make. Love the color-pink is always a favorite of mine!

  8. May 20, 2009 3:18 am

    Oh, I thought it was sherbert at first. This sounds wonderfully refreshing and look pretty with it’s pink color. I’m impressed you’re doing this by hand. I’m way too lazy. Several years ago for Valentine’s day Joe got me an ice cream maker. He thinks it hilarious that I ask for B&N gift cards, kitchen gadgets, and coach purses. I’d ask for cash but it gets spent on the kids then. :)
    ~ingrid

  9. Lynn permalink
    July 29, 2009 5:46 am

    This looks great. I was wondering if you could use a low fat Half and Half and if it would work as well.

  10. July 29, 2009 10:10 am

    Could this be a smoothie, instead of freezing it? I make my own yogurt and make smoothies with fruit.

  11. Kandice permalink
    November 9, 2010 6:21 pm

    First off I LOVE anything tart/sour. I have always been a fan of sour candies etc so give me froyo and tartness–I am all about it! I tried a regular lemonade froyo which I made sure to go for seconds the first time I got it. But PINK LEMONADE…oh my I think I may have to fall over and die—I didn’t know tart froyo could get even BETTER!

    P.S. If there are any avid froyo lovers like me on the East Coast–a NEW shop is opening soon called CUPS frozen yogurt and they are giving away FREE yogurt from I think 1PM-10PM on Grand Opening day! Don’t quote me on this though– I just stumbled upon it at facebook.com/cupsfrozenyogurt But I’ll be there for sure!

Trackbacks

  1. Top Posts « WordPress.com
  2. 55 Bucket List Activities for Labor Day « The List Queen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 818 other followers