Skip to content

Comfort food – macaroni & cheese

May 20, 2009

Everyone has comfort foods, right?  I remember how good my mom’s homemade french fries made me feel when I was a kid.  And her mashed potatoes.  And biscuits.  Mmm.  Now I’m all grown up, but I still swoon thinking about those foods.

Today my comfort foods include Pepsi – really cold, no ice.  Nachos with cheese broiled over the top and grape tomatoes sprinkled all over them.   Peanut butter sandwiches made with Peter Pan peanut butter.  Thanksgiving dinner – all of it.  And this macaroni and cheese.

Macaroni and Cheese

Looking at that list makes me think I still don’t have a very grown up palate.  Oh well.  I’ll worry about that another day.  Today, let me tell you about my mac and cheese.  This isn’t a fancy version of the old standby but it does have a twist.  Hot dogs.  Not very sophisticated, I know, but it is so darn good.

I bet when my kids grow up and start thinking about what their comfort foods are, this one will be right at the top.  What are your comfort foods?

Recipe:  Macaroni and Cheese with Hot Dogs

1 box of elbow macaroni  (I use 100% whole wheat macaroni.)

1/4 c. unsalted butter

1/4 c. all-purpose flour

3-4 Tbsp. minced onion

salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

2 1/2 c. milk  (I use skim milk.)

8 beef franks

2 c. shredded cheddar cheese

1 c. shredded monterey jack cheese

a little extra cheese to sprinkle on top

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil.  Add elbow macaroni and cook according to package directions.  Drain pasta and transfer to casserole dish that has been sprayed with cooking spray.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Add butter to the pot and reduce heat to low/medium.  When butter has melted, add flour and stir to combine.  Add onion, salt, and pepper.  Allow flour and butter mixture to bubble for 1 minute.  Stir in milk increase heat to medium/high; bring to a light boil.  When it has started to boil, remove from heat and add cheeses and hot dogs.  Stir to thoroughly combine, then pour over macaroni and stir until well blended.  Sprinkle a little extra cheese on top, if desired.

Bake for 35-45 minutes, until cheese is bubbly and top is nicely browned.  Serves 8-10.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Dani permalink
    May 21, 2009 12:15 am

    I use Shell’s recipe EVERY time I want mac ‘n cheese. It by far is a favorite. It is even good warmed up the next day.

  2. May 21, 2009 12:53 am

    I love Pepsi too–but don’t most Americans prefer Coke? We grew up with Pepsi here–one of the only countries in the world where it has dominant market share, though Coke over the years has tried to undo that. And it has to be very very cold, but it can have ice in it.
    I even have a little now and then (yes, even now!)–it really makes me feel better when I’m flagging.

  3. May 21, 2009 12:54 am

    By the way, the m&c looks really yummy too. If only I cooked… (I do do salads though–I can’t cook but I can make a mean salad dressing!)

  4. May 21, 2009 3:13 pm

    I love Mac and Cheese and hot dogs, we used to make easy mac in college and grill hot dogs on the george foreman because we could have no appliances. This brings me back!

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 23, 2009 6:14 pm

    Dan – Love ya.

    LS – Coke?? That’s crazy talk, lady. Pepsi all the way!

    Katie – I thought the mac and cheese and dogs was just our thing. Cool. : )

    – Michelle

  6. September 9, 2010 9:49 am

    Hot dogs, Michelle? I’m not sure about it but I won’t be as mean as Monica and call it trashy mac & cheese. lol, I *heart* you guys.
    ~ingrid

  7. October 19, 2011 4:56 pm

    So would using salted butter make that much of a difference? I only have salted and can’t get to the store till after dinner time…

  8. Shelley permalink
    March 8, 2013 1:56 pm

    Hot Dogs in Mac n Cheese is mainly a Southern thing, in my opinion, but they work. Although try cutting the hot dogs into half moons and then frying til crispy before. UM YUMM!! LOL And I wont hold the whole Pepsi thing against ya, although Coke is the way to go! LOL

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 852 other followers