Skip to content

Chocolate ice cream sandwich cookies

June 3, 2009

Chocolate Ice Cream Sandwich Cookies

Sam asked me to make chocolate cookies with dark chocolate chips to celebrate his birthday at school, so we looked on the Hershey’s Kitchen website and found this great recipe.  Holy cow are these cookies chocolatey!  We made more  than we needed for school, and I still had half a bag of mini chocolate chips left from the cookie dough dip, so the stars were aligned for this ice cream sandwich to make its debut.  The vanilla ice cream really helped to cut the super rich taste of the chocolate.  It made for one awesome treat.

Sam’s review:  “Awww!  They’re perfect!”

Recipe:  Chocolate Ice Cream Sandwich Cookies

1 c. butter, softened

1 c. granulated sugar

3/4 c. packed light brown sugar

2 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. salt

2 eggs

2 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 c. Hershey’s cocoa

1 tsp. baking soda

12 ounce package of dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Beat butter, sugars, vanilla, and salt in a large bowl until creamy.  Add eggs; beat well.

Whisk together flour, cocoa, and baking soda.  Gradually add to butter mixture, beating until well blended.  Drop by rounded teaspoons onto ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake 8-10 minutes.  Cool slightly and remove to wire rack to cool completely.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 2:22 pm

    Ok, I definitely need to make some of these this summer. Except I will probably make mini ones so I won’t feel as guilty. It’s 9:21 and suddenly I have the urge to eat ice cream, thanks to your blog! :)

    PS thanks for the comment on my site!

  2. nutmegnanny permalink
    June 3, 2009 8:05 pm

    Cookies + ice cream = delicious!!!

  3. June 3, 2009 8:27 pm

    Looks fantastic and I love the chocolate chips on it!

  4. June 3, 2009 8:59 pm

    Yummy! – Especially for the summer! And I must admit, I LOVE the chocolate chips addition, such a cute idea! For similar great summer treats, check out Dove Chocolate Discoveries’ webpage.

  5. June 3, 2009 9:35 pm

    When I was little my mom would make these for us. I have made them for my kids but with regualr chocolate chip cookies. They would flip for this huge dose of chocolate. I like the blanket of chips on the outside!

  6. June 3, 2009 11:01 pm

    YUM! These look so tempting!! I…must…resist!…for now hehe.

  7. June 4, 2009 5:13 pm

    I have to make these. My two favorite things!

    justalittlepiece.wordpress.com

  8. June 5, 2009 8:23 pm

    Oh, those look amazing! One of my favorite summer time treats.

  9. June 6, 2009 3:07 am

    I’m not a fan of chocolate but those ice cream cookies do look yummy! Built in milk….I like it!

    Darn I meant to make your chocolate chip cookie dough dip for McKenna’s class party! Time just got away from me and she had two recipes she really wanted. Now I’ll have to make it for home and will wind up eating half of it! :(
    ~ingrid

  10. June 6, 2009 12:45 pm

    Is there really anyone who can say no to an ice-cream sandwich cookie? Those looks rich and very tempting!

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 14, 2009 11:41 am

    jennk – I love the mini idea!

    nutmegnanny – Definitely a good combination. Thanks.

    Katie – Thanks. I kind of liked that part too.

    Kelly – The chips were the kids favorite part too.

    Robin Sue – All that chocolate reminded me more of the ice cream sandwiches I grew up with. Chocolate chip cookies would be great too.

    Memoria – Aw, why resist? It’s summer…

    Just a little piece – Cookies and ice cream? Pretty good list of favorite things!

    Bittersweet – Thank you!!

    Ingrid – Not a fan of chocolate…. {head shaking here}

    Y – If someone can say no, they don’t live here. : )

  12. September 15, 2009 11:48 pm

    Hey Honey!!

    Thank you for a beautiful post!

    I liked it so much I’ve included in my salute to Chocolate post “12 Hot Ice Cream Recipes You Need to Try”

    I look forward to many other wonderful recipes.

    Love,
    Bridge.

  13. June 21, 2011 4:55 pm

    i’m making these cookies now! i’m going to sandwich them with homemade mint ice cream when they cool.

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate Ice Cream Sandwich Cookies | The Kosher Foodies

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 859 other followers