Skip to content

Whole wheat peanut butter pancakes with chocolate chips

June 7, 2009

Whole Wheat Peanut Butter & Chocolate Chip Pancakes

The first photo is my kiddos’ favorite breakfast.  The photo below is my husband’s twice-monthly output in the kitchen.  (Well, I take that back.  He’s also a topnotch dishwasher on a daily basis.)  But Jim is the master pancake maker around here, and our kids are completely addicted to these particular pancakes.  Jim’s been making them for such a long time now, that I don’t know where the recipe even came from.  He pulls out my biggest mixing bowl and stirs up a gigantic amount of batter.  He actually triples this recipe.  Then he spends forever at the griddle.  When this giant pile of pancakes cools, they are stacked between waxed paper squares and stored in ziploc bags in the freezer.

The kids eat these for breakfast every single day.  And, man, do we hear about it if there aren’t any.  I know there’s a little chocolate in there, but seriously, it’s still a great way to start their days.  I like sending them off knowing they’ve had a nice, warm, filling breakfast.  Brain food.  And it’s really nice to know they’re all made ahead of time so breakfast on school days is a total stress-free time.  It’s definitely a win-win situation.

Recipe:  Peanut Butter Pancakes with Chocolate Chips

2 c. white whole wheat flour  (or 1 c. whole wheat flour and 1 c. all-purpose flour)

2 Tbsp. baking powder

2 Tbsp. packed light brown sugar

1 tsp. salt

2 eggs

2 c. milk  (add a little more milk for a thinner batter)

1 c. creamy peanut butter

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2/3 c. mini semisweet chocolate chips

Combine all dry ingredients in large bowl.  Mix eggs, milk, and vanilla in a separate bowl.  Pour wet mixture into dry mixture.  Add peanut butter.  Stir only enough to combine all ingredients.  Chocolate chips can be added to batter or used to top pancakes on the griddle.  Drop by 1/3 cupfuls onto hot griddle.  Makes approx. 16 pancakes.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2009 3:25 pm

    seriously, i could consume one of those entire stacks. perhaps two. i always spread peanut butter on my pancakes (in addition to smothering them with copious maple syrup), and the chocolate chips make these the perfect breakfast treat!

  2. June 7, 2009 3:27 pm

    It’s a great idea to stick them in the freezer. With two little kids and our life a bit chaotic lately, it’s a bit of a struggle to get things rolling in the morning with a hearty breakfast (we usually end up going the Cheerios and fruit route), but my husband is starting his new job tomorrow morning and if I could whip up some of these today he’d be set for breakfast for the week!

    THANK YOU so much for the quote you left on my site. I loved, loved, loved it. And I really needed something like that today. You rock!

    p.s. – That one is definitely going on my fridge too. ;)

  3. June 7, 2009 7:36 pm

    yum! love pb and chocolate. what lucky little kiddles to have such an amazing breakfast everyday!

  4. June 7, 2009 7:48 pm

    Oh, I will have to try these. They sound great! Thanks for posting this recipe.

  5. June 8, 2009 4:29 am

    Sounds great! And, of course, I could use a little of that kind of brain food myself. Thanks for sharing.

  6. June 8, 2009 12:12 pm

    Haha, I saw that stack and was wondering how you guys ate all those in one sitting… then I read on!!! That is an awesome idea though, making them all then freezing them. It would make my morning s so much nice if I could pop some in the microwave at work instead of spending $4 on a breakfast sandwich at Starbucks (they’re really good, but dang, $80 bucks a month on if I had one every day?!?!)
    Awesome idea, thanks!

  7. sumshay permalink
    June 8, 2009 1:11 pm

    Hmm… wondering if I could alter it for waffles. My girls would love the combination of peanut butter and chocolate, but for some reason lately (as in this whole last school year) they have wanted waffles before school. They seem to like the crunch from the toaster (which is how they reheat them).

  8. June 8, 2009 5:02 pm

    I so wish my kids would let us mix things up with their pancakes but no its the same ol’ same ol for them. Same with making them ahead and freezing them! They won’t touch them if they are not hot RIGHT off the griddle! We don’t eat breakfast together because we eat in shifts two at a time. I can’t complain too much about that one as I like right off the griddle too. LOL, it’s kinda funny two of us standing by Joe with plates held out!
    ~ingrid

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 8, 2009 9:52 pm

    Thanks for your nice comments, everybody! I can’t take any credit beyond finding the recipe eons ago. Jim does all the work. They are lucky kiddos.

  10. Deev permalink
    June 11, 2009 9:29 pm

    Ditto ditto ditto the comments about feeling like you’ve been a friend since forever. Discovering your spot on the internet transformed a wet grey drab afternoon into an extraordinary day! All this, plus superb photography. Type of camera? (Both of our beloved cameras died at the same time – a tad leery about going digital.) Thanks for everything!

  11. Tracy permalink
    June 12, 2009 10:42 pm

    I just found your site (through My Baking Addiction) and I think I’m in love! I’ve already marked about 10 of your recipes to try.

    Thanks for sharing!

  12. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 14, 2009 11:31 am

    Deev – Thank you. That’s such a nice thing to say.

    Tracey – That’s great and I hope you keep coming back!

  13. August 12, 2009 10:03 am

    WOW! What some truly AWESOME looking recipes you have! Great photos and the recipes ingredients themselves sound FABULOUS!
    Thanks so much for sharing! I’ll definitely be trying some of them soon.
    I’m fairly new to blogs/blogging so how do I find ALL of your recipes? Do I basically just look in the archives for each month?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 857 other followers