Skip to content

Sparkling strawberry lemonade

June 12, 2009

Sparkling Strawberry Lemonade

My sweet girl and her daddy went to the pick-your-own farm we like and they came home with a giant bowl of sweet strawberries.  Most of them will be eaten with no trimmings or fussiness, but I confiscated a few to make this sparkling strawberry lemonade.

It is so pretty and tastes wonderful!  We love it and I’ll definitely make it a lot this summer.  (And let me just say that my glass straws are the perfect way to enjoy such a nice refreshing summer drink.   I am totally smitten with them.  If you haven’t heard of glass straws yet, go here to see what I mean.)

Recipe:  Sparkling Strawberry Lemonade

(many thanks to Life’s Ambrosia)

4-6 lemons, enough to equal 1 cup of lemon juice

1-1 1/2 c. simple syrup  (recipe follows)

16 oz. container of strawberries, cleaned and hulled

1 quart sparkling water

mint to garnish  (I just used small strawberries for garnish.)

Juice the lemons to get 1 cup of lemon juice.  Blend the strawberries and 1/2 c. of the simple syrup in a blender or with an immersion blender, until smooth.   Strain to remove the seeds.  Pour lemon juice, strawberry puree, 1/2 c. simple syrup, and sparkling water into a pitcher.  Add more simple syrup if needed to achieve the sweetness you like.  Add ice and chill.

Recipe:  Simple Syrup

(I only used 1 c. of simple syrup for my pitcher of lemonade.  If you want it more sweet than tart, use 3/4 c. sugar to 3/4 c. water and add it all.)

1 part sugar to 1 part water

Combine sugar and warm water.  Stir to dissolve sugar.  (This can also be done on the stovetop, but I found this was faster and easier.)

    14 Comments leave one →
    1. June 12, 2009 1:23 pm

      This sounds (and looks) delicious! Can’t wait to try this one!

    2. June 12, 2009 4:06 pm

      This looks amazing…we plan on taking the kiddies strawberry picking this weekend! I may have to make this as well! I also posted your mocha cupcakes to my blog today! They were divine, thanks for sharing the recipe! :)

      http://mybakingaddiction.blogspot.com/2009/06/mocha-cupcakes.html

    3. June 12, 2009 7:17 pm

      Michelle that does look delightful! Thanks for sharing.

      That’s really sweet that your babygirl and honey went to pick berries. Mine would LOVE to do that with her daddy. She’s very much a daddy’s girl.
      ~ingrid

    4. June 12, 2009 7:27 pm

      That is a beautiful lemonade! Try herbed lemonade next! :)

    5. June 12, 2009 10:34 pm

      Ooooh, this looks like exactly what I could use right now. I’ve never made homemade strawberry lemonade. This summer will be the perfect time to start. Thank you so much for sharing!

    6. June 12, 2009 11:56 pm

      Yummm! I’m a sucker for any kind of berry/lemon combo…love the addition of sparkling water!

    7. June 13, 2009 5:37 am

      I am so glad that you enjoyed this recipe! Your pics are beautiful :)

    8. June 13, 2009 12:44 pm

      This looks perfectly summery. I’ve been putting together a binder of summer recipes to utilize at hand this summer. This will be a good addition to my ‘drinks’ section :)

    9. June 13, 2009 3:17 pm

      This looks soooo good!!! Perfect for summer, too! :)

    10. June 13, 2009 4:39 pm

      Sigh, those pictures just look so dreamy! Beautiful drink, and certainly tasty, too.

    11. oneordinaryday permalink
      June 14, 2009 11:22 am

      Thank you, everybody!!

    12. June 16, 2009 2:14 am

      I really am loving this, and the limeade. I don’t know what to make first.

    13. December 26, 2009 5:15 pm

      I like your sparkling version! The mint adds a nice contrast of color!

    14. oneordinaryday permalink
      December 28, 2009 6:35 am

      CherLea – Thanks for the nice comments. This lemonade was a favorite of ours all summer long.
      ~ Michelle

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 853 other followers