Skip to content

Watermelon ginger cooler

June 24, 2009

Watermelon Ginger Cooler

I have really been dragging since we got home from our vacation.  My allergies are a mess and I’ve been feeling really run down.  I definitely needed a vitamin c boost, and this is one delicious way to get it.

I used one round seedless watermelon and got a little over 2 quarts of juice from it.  And for the lime juice, I just grabbed a bottle of lime juice concentrate instead of squeezing the limes.  The original recipe said you could do either and that it made no noticeable difference.

This drink is so refreshing and light.  Claudia and I drank half the pitcher all by ourselves as soon as it was ready.  It’s really delicious.  The ginger and the lime juice add just the right balance of flavor to all that watermelon.  I’d be hard-pressed to choose a favorite summer drink now.  There’s the honey limeade, the sparkling strawberry lemonade, regular lemonade, and now this.  Decisions, decisions.

Recipe:  Watermelon Ginger Cooler

(from the blog Food o’del Mundo)

1 c. water

1 c. sugar

3 inches gingerroot, peeled and diced

watermelon, seeds removed; enough to make 2 qts. of watermelon juice  (I used one round watermelon.)

1 c. lime juice (from concentrate or freshly squeezed)

In a small saucepan, combine water, sugar, and diced ginger.  Simmer for 5-10 minutes.  Strain and set aside to cool slightly.

In a blender, puree watermelon until you have 2 quarts of juice.  (I strained mine but it really wasn’t necessary.) Combine watermelon juice, ginger/sugar syrup, and lime juice.  Stir to blend well.  Add ice and serve, garnished with lime wedges.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2009 9:52 pm

    Sorry it’s taking you so long to recover and that your allergies aren’t helping things.

    I received your email but haven’t had a moment to really sit down and respond. Don’t worry about not getting together. We’ll hook up in four years – HA, can’t imagine four years down the road…scary!

    As for foodbuzz…I really wouldn’t be the one to answer. Someone left a comment about joining and then someone else left another comment about being a publisher. Didn’t think it would hurt so I just followed the links and here I am. I’m certain other bloggers do a lot more with it thus get more traffic. When I started my blog it was never to become some bigtime blogger so I don’t “do” a lot with the “community” sites. (just wanted to expand my baking horizons) I know there’s another big one called BlogHer but again couldn’t tell you much about it. If you figure it all out fill ME in! :))
    ~ingrid

  2. June 25, 2009 12:16 am

    I absolutely can’t get enough watermelon… This sounds like another great way to sneak some in!

  3. June 25, 2009 10:37 am

    this is DEFINITELY one of the best ways to replenish the ol’ vitamin c levels. forget horse pills, i’ll take my dosage in pretty, tangy liquid form. :)

  4. June 25, 2009 12:25 pm

    How absolutely refreshing. I love ginger & lemon…watermelon just adds to this beautiful cooler! YUM!!

  5. foododelmundo permalink
    June 29, 2009 7:28 pm

    Hey thanks for the plug!
    I am ashamed to say I’ve been thinking all along that you are/were the person writng oneordinarydaydotcom and I just couldn’t get into reading it. You are much more geared to my taste and liking! I’ll be checking in frequently!
    Cheers,
    Mary

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 840 other followers