Skip to content

Cinnamon roll cake

June 28, 2009
tags: ,

Cinnamon Roll Cake

A houseful of family for the weekend definitely calls for something sweet, don’t you think?  I’d bookmarked this cinnamon roll cake when I saw it at 3 B’s and I’m so glad I actually remembered it for this weekend!  The whole family was here – Bea and Dani and their families and our mom.  They usually get here once every summer, and I figured it was a good time to try this out.  Sam actually did most of the baking, and we whipped it up Friday before anyone arrived at our house.  I thought it’d be nice to have out for Saturday morning with the usual bagels and Jim’s famous pancakes.  It was a huge hit though, and it was pretty much gone Friday night.

This cake is so easy to make and tastes like the best cinnamon roll you’ve ever eaten.  Everyone loved it.  For me, though, I found it a little over the top on the sweetness chart.  Jim thinks I’m crazy for saying that, but eating a whole piece was too much for me.  Not that it’s not delicious, though, because it most certainly is.  I’ll make it again and I have a feeling Dani will be making it at her house too.  I’ll just enjoy it in small doses.

Recipe:  Cinnamon Roll Cake

(first seen and drooled over at 3 B’s)

boxed yellow cake mix

4 eggs

3/4 c. oil

1 c. sour cream

1 c. light brown sugar

1 Tbsp. cinnamon

2 c. powdered sugar

4 Tbsp. milk

Mix cake mix, eggs, oil, and sour cream by hand in a large bowl.   Pour into greased 13×9″ baking pan.

In a separate bowl, combine brown sugar and cinnamon.  Sprinkle all over top of cake mix and swirl with a knife.  Bake at 325 degrees for 40 minutes.  (I took mine out at 35 minutes and Ingrid said she baked her cake for 30 minutes.) Let cake cool for 10-15 minutes before icing.

Prepare icing by stirring together powdered sugar and milk.  Pour over warm cake.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2009 2:09 pm

    That looks like a heaping pile of gooey yumminess!

  2. June 29, 2009 2:26 pm

    Oh drool.

  3. June 29, 2009 4:12 pm

    i would have to second niki’s comment. this is the ultimate cake for me, the ultimate cinnamon lover. thanks for the picture, to which i shall return whenever i need a visual pick-me-up. :)

  4. June 30, 2009 2:30 am

    That. Looks. Delicious. I just may have to make that this week!

  5. June 30, 2009 12:40 pm

    I have seen this before and had wondered if it would be very sweet. But then again sweet is good as long as it comes with a big glass of milk!

  6. June 30, 2009 4:37 pm

    YAY! So glad that you gave it a try and that the family enjoyed it! It is quite sweet and have thought to top it with a cream cheese glaze instead. Whaddya think? Sounds good does it?

    My baby Jalen (LOL, he’s the same height as me) left yesterday to go home with Grandma and Papa! He’ll be spending three weeks in the mountains of NC. My parents within the past year had a log cabin home built there.
    ~ingrid

  7. July 4, 2009 9:19 pm

    OMG, this looks incredible!!

  8. August 12, 2009 8:00 pm

    OMGosh this looks incredible! I have a question: Could we safely cut some of the sweetness by cutting the sugar(s) yet still having it taste like a cinna-roll cake? Was the sugar too much in the cake part itself? or in the icing? or in both? I’m dying to try this but I do NOT like anything sickening sweet. :(
    Awesome photo btw!

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 12, 2009 11:42 pm

    Jimmy – Truthfully, I was the only person of the 13 of us to try this to think it was too sweet. I might consider cutting down on the sugar a little for the topping, but the cake part was fine. It is a delicious, go-to dessert/brunch item for sure. I’ll definitely make it again. (My family will make sure of that!)
    ~Michelle

  10. August 13, 2009 7:29 am

    Thanks Michelle! I definitely want to try it soon. VERY soon.
    Do you think that a “spice cake mix” might work better than the yellow? or should I stick w/ the yellow and just add the cinnamon that it calls for?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 856 other followers