Skip to content

Tastykakes at home

July 1, 2009

Homemade Tastykake

“Nobody bakes a cake as tasty as a tastykake….”  Do you remember that commercial jingle or am I really dating myself here?

I grew up totally loving the tastykake – the one with the little sponge cake topped with peanut butter and coated in chocolate.  You know the one?  They came in sets of two in the little plastic wrappers.  Ahh.  Good times.  Good times.

Well a few years back, Dani got a recipe for a cake that tastes exactly like that.  Exactly.  I think it came from her sister-in-law.  Anyway, the email was dated 2004, and that was the last time I made it.  When I came across the recipe and read the date, I wondered why I’d never made it again.

Not anymore.  As soon as I took one bite, I remembered very clearly why I only made it that one time.  I have absolutely no self control when this cake is in the house.  Nada.  Zilch.  I cut it and promptly ate FOUR pieces!  FOUR!  F-O-U-R.

I’m not the only one who loves it either.  It was also a hit with my book club and the librarians.  I’m going to go hide the recipe now.

Recipe:  Homemade Tastykake

4 eggs, beaten

2 c. granulated sugar

2 c. all-purpose flour

1 c. milk, scalded

2 tsp. melted butter or oil

1 tsp. vanilla

2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

peanut butter  (There is not real measurement here – you just spread on enough to cover cake.)

3 giant sized Hershey chocolate bars

Mix all ingredients, except the peanut butter and chocolate, together.  Pour batter onto greased jelly roll pan or cookie sheet.  Bake at 325 degrees for about 15 minutes.  Remove from oven, and while hot, spread peanut butter all over top of cake.  The peanut butter melts and spreads smoothly.  Refrigerate cake until peanut butter sets and hardens.  Break up Hershey bars and melt in a double boiler over simmering water.  When melted, spread chocolate over cake and return to refrigerator.  Once chocolate has set, you can cut into squares.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 3:35 pm

    I like how the chocolate set up. You got such nice clean cuts.

    I’ve never had TastyKakes. Growing up in NYC I remember Drakes being the name of the snack cake company that was in the stores. Then I started living part of the year in FL and it was Little Debbies. Even as a child I wasn’t fond of prepackaged snacks so my Mom bought ones her, my dad, and brothers liked which generally involved chocolate or powdered sugar.
    ~ingrid

  2. July 1, 2009 4:38 pm

    awesome! i daresay that your ingredient list is much, much cleaner and more legible than the tastycake package. :)

  3. ericksonblog permalink
    July 2, 2009 10:23 am

    This looks AMAZING! Reminds me of summer when I’d visit my grandparents because they always had Tastycakes in their snack cabinet.

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I hope you try the bacon-wrapped strawberries!

  4. July 13, 2009 7:51 pm

    oh boy, this is a dangerous one. My boyfriend grew up in PA and lived on tastycakes. I think he will love this.

  5. July 19, 2009 8:28 am

    These would be great to have around.

  6. smallkitchenbigideas permalink
    August 10, 2009 6:51 am

    This looks delicious!

    My favorite tasty kake is the buttscotch krumpet.

  7. August 28, 2009 7:25 pm

    gonna do this soon.

  8. March 28, 2010 2:08 am

    I’ve never had a tastykake. I feel left out now. I should make this immediately.

  9. May 5, 2010 3:33 pm

    Oh, I’ve never had a Tastykake but I think one of these will be good enough for me! thanks for the recipe. I also think the chocolate set beautifully.

  10. Goss Family permalink
    June 19, 2011 3:47 am

    You just made my day =) I was looking for a recipe for Cake Batter Rice Krispie treats and came across your blog. I started going through all your posts and found so many recipes that we are going to try and make in the upcoming weeks. Being a military family that is originally from northeastern Pennsylvania, we miss the foods of home, Tastykakes being at the top of our list. We love that our families still send us boxes filled with goodies from home when they get the chance. Being stationed overseas makes it harder to send items since you never know how long a box will take to get to us and you don’t want anything to melt or be broken into millions of pieces. This recipe has us super excited!

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 19, 2011 4:02 pm

    Heather ~ Thanks so much for your comment, and I’m happy that you found foods that remind you of home. : ) Hope you love them!
    ~ Michelle

  12. Goss Family permalink
    June 20, 2011 8:30 pm

    We made them last night and they were fabulous!

  13. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 21, 2011 1:21 pm

    Heather – I am so glad you enjoyed a taste of home while you’re far away. : )
    ~ Michelle

  14. Jackie H permalink
    March 26, 2013 7:57 am

    I substituted in 1 cup whole wheat flour for 1 cup of all purpose, 1 1/2 cups honey for sugar, and 2 tsp applesauce for oil. It turned out amazing! I also used 12 oz Wilton’s chocolate melts instead of chocolate bars. My hubby said he couldn’t tell the difference. Great recipe!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 852 other followers