Skip to content

Chocolate chip cookie dough brownies

July 15, 2009

WARNING:  RECIPE MY BE HAZARDOUS TO YOUR SELF CONTROL

(My advice?  Make it anyway!)

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Brownies

Decisions, decisions.  I couldn’t decide what I wanted to bake today… cookies or brownies.  So why not both?  Who can resist a chocolaty brownie and raw cookie dough?  Definitely not me, so this recipe was a no-brainer.  And if you happen to have a brownie mix in your pantry, then you’re halfway there already.  I was going to take the shortcut and use a boxed mix but I ended up not having one, so this is so full of butter and chocolate, I can’t even describe its goodness.

First, you’ve got a layer of chewy brownie, then a layer of cookie dough, and then a layer of melted chocolate.  I dare you to not drool.  Would you like a napkin?

I found the brownie recipe at Hershey’s and the rest came from Taste of Home.  It’s a knock-out combination, let me tell ya.

Recipe:  Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Brownies

Brownies:  (adapted from Hershey’s Kitchens)

1 c. butter

3/4 c. Hershey’s cocoa

2 1/4 c. granulated sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

3 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 1/4 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 c. mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

Prepare 13×9″ baking pan by laying a piece of foil in the bottom and up the sides.  Spray with cooking spray or butter the foil.

Melt 2 sticks of butter in a medium saucepan; add cocoa, stirring until smooth.  Remove from heat and cool slightly.  Add sugar, salt, eggs, and vanilla; beat with a spoon until combined.  Add flour and baking powder; mix well.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Spread batter into pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.  (I always remove my brownies from the oven when a toothpick inserted 1 inch from the side of the pan comes out clean or almost clean.) Allow brownies to cool completely before moving on to the next step.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Filling:  (adapted from Taste of Home)

1 c. butter, softened

1 c. packed light brown sugar  (I combined light brown sugar and dark brown sugar because I didn’t have enough light in the pantry.  Turned out great.)

1/2 c. granulated sugar

4 Tbsp. milk

2 tsp. vanilla extract

2 c. all-purpose flour

1 c. mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

Combine first 5 ingredients in a mixing bowl and cream together.  Add flour and stir until combined.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Spread in an even layer on top of cooled brownies.  Chill before adding chocolate glaze.

Chocolate Glaze:

1 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 Tbsp. Crisco shortening

Melt chocolate with shortening and stir until smooth.  Spread over chilled cookie dough layer.

40 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 12:49 am

    Oh my, that looks INSANELY amazing!!! Perfection.

  2. madame_yum permalink
    July 15, 2009 12:56 am

    Mmm! These look so yummy! I will try these next time I’m bored.

  3. July 15, 2009 12:57 am

    Wow. I just made brownies too but I can control myself around mine! These would NOT be safe! These look insanely good.

  4. marinasrecipebox permalink
    July 15, 2009 2:20 am

    Looks delicious! I wish I could bake good, but I am better at cooking.

    Marina

    http://marinasrecipebox.wordpress.com

  5. July 15, 2009 3:08 am

    LOL! You know if that was just a brownie I could pass it up no problem but you HAD to add cookie dough didn’t you?! :) Hmm, do I get to have a big icy cold glass of milk with it? ‘Cause if so then I’m done.
    ~ingrid

    I got your email…Devon has games all week long at Disney’s Wide World of Sports and then I’m trying to get in a few hours at work so not much time but I’ll try to drop you a line tomorrow!

  6. July 15, 2009 4:47 am

    Oh my! This does look very tempting. The cookie dough portion looks almost like a cheesecake layer. Anyway, I hope to try this one out soon. bookmarked!

  7. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 15, 2009 12:13 am

    Thank you for all the drooling and great comments!! I’m telling ya… these are keepers!

  8. July 15, 2009 2:16 am

    Wow these made my mouth water. I might just have to make these up tonight! Yummm!

  9. July 15, 2009 3:24 am

    i’ve seen these around, and every time i lay eyes on them, i want them more and more. what a phenomenal creation. phenomenal.

  10. July 15, 2009 6:45 am

    My children are gone for the next 2 weeks. If I make this, my husband and I will have to eat it all. I’m still trying to decide if that’s in any way a bad thing :D

  11. July 15, 2009 9:07 am

    This looks amazing. This is heading to the top of my “to-try” list!

  12. July 16, 2009 6:47 am

    uh, yes please. I love that you can have the raw cookie dough and it’s not actually raw. These look so much better than the chipster brownies I made for Tuesdays with Dorie. Brownies topped with chocolate chip cookies, they ended up raw in the middle, but not really in a good way.

  13. foododelmundo permalink
    July 16, 2009 8:02 am

    Dang Girl! What’s up with all the tasty treats lately? I’m going to have to go a One Ordinary Day diet soon ;-)

  14. July 16, 2009 11:21 pm

    OMG! Just been sent this by Laura from Are We Nearly There Yet Mummy on Twitter. I’m off to kitchen THIS SECOND!!!!

  15. July 16, 2009 11:27 pm

    Is it legal to put all of that into one treat? Actually, I don’t care whether it’s legal or not – I want!

  16. July 17, 2009 2:22 am

    Wait. No, wait. Chocolate. And Chips. And Cookie Dough. And Brownies.

    OMG.

    *faints*

  17. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 17, 2009 2:45 am

    Yep ~ to all of the above. : )
    These are stinkin’ good! I do suggest you’re feeding a crowd when you make them though, cause otherwise you will eat them all. Not good for the waist line, really.

  18. July 17, 2009 11:41 pm

    Made. And scoffed. Bloody yum. I hope you don’t mind, I’ve passed it on with a few fiddles. Muchas gracias! xx

  19. alexboy permalink
    July 18, 2009 3:37 pm

    Just made. Yum yum! Thank you, thank you, thank you! Almost heavenly, but I would suggest adding a stick of butter per layer.

  20. July 20, 2009 3:37 am

    woah, those look incredible. Two of my favorites in one. I think I’d eat the whole pan :)

  21. July 20, 2009 4:33 am

    WOW. I’ve got nothing… I so want these, but know that I so shouldn’t…

  22. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 3, 2009 4:28 am

    Thanks, one and all, and if you make them I hope you come back over and gush about them after your sugar highs wear off. LOL
    ~Michelle

  23. August 4, 2009 12:00 pm

    I cannot wait to try this recipe! My kids will be so happy to see these come out of the oven. Thanks for sharing:)

  24. August 28, 2009 7:01 pm

    i have always wanted to make these and yours look delicious!

  25. Nina permalink
    October 18, 2009 1:15 pm

    Too bad they don’t have a dollop of whipped cream drizzled with hot fudge on top! :-D

  26. November 30, 2009 4:17 am

    I was browsing for recipes when I stumbled upon this! Would it be alright if I skipped the glaze?

  27. oneordinaryday permalink
    November 30, 2009 4:27 am

    Hi, bigcheese. I wouldn’t leave off the glaze. It adds a whole extra layer and is delicious!!!
    ~ Michelle

  28. bexbakes permalink
    May 3, 2010 9:30 am

    Wow, I want to be eating that.

  29. Dani Lawton permalink
    July 25, 2010 4:20 pm

    O.K…so it is a miserable day in McKean County and my daughter invited her friend over to play. The two of them decided they wanted to bake something and I figured it was a good way to spend this kind of day so we pulled up Aunt Shell’s blog, knowing full well that we would find the perfect recipe.

    The girls took one look at this and were hooked. They did a great job and I got to sit back to supervise and of course clean up after them. They took some time to make because of letting the brownies cool, but the girls did a fabulous job.

    Once everything was ready, we all sat down to try them out. OH MY GOODNESS…THEY ARE AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am forcing myself to send some home with Rylie’s friend so I am not tempted to eat the entire pan.

    Once again Shell…you have posted a winner…Thanks bunches!

  30. November 10, 2010 4:46 pm

    I made them! Oh my, they are incredible. I did a small post about them on my own blog, so feel free to check it out – don’t worry i’ve totally given you credit for the amazing recipe. :)
    Thanks so much for making my day in the kitchen. xx

  31. oneordinaryday permalink
    November 11, 2010 10:46 am

    Sally – I’m so happy you came back to comment and that you loved the brownies as much as I do. How can you go wrong with all those layers? : ) Happy baking!
    ~ Michelle

  32. July 22, 2011 6:18 pm

    I made these for the hubby and co-workers and they were a big hit. Thanks so much for posting them. :)

  33. June permalink
    August 12, 2011 10:12 pm

    Pinning a picture to Pinterest, which links back to this page of your blog.

  34. Karie permalink
    August 23, 2011 12:38 pm

    Wow- I was looking for a brownie recipe and this looks so much better! Thanks a million!

  35. October 7, 2011 5:58 pm

    These look so delicious! Sinfully so. I MUST MAKE! Thanks for sharing!

  36. October 9, 2011 12:16 pm

    yum those look so good

  37. Avery permalink
    January 14, 2012 11:41 am

    Ohh my gosh! These are amazing!!! Just made them and they smell soooo good too!

Trackbacks

  1. ENGLISH MUM: A shining star of wonderful gorgeousness » Fetch the defibrillator! Double chocolate cookie dough brownies
  2. Chocolate chip cookie dough brownies « One Ordinary Day « Mac's Cheese
  3. White Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Brownies - What Katie's Baking

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers