Skip to content

Pea salad

July 17, 2009

Pea Salad

This is my biggest go-to recipe of the summer.  It’s great with anything off the grill or just with sandwiches at lunch.  It’s inexpensive and I always have the ingredients on hand, so it’s also good in a pinch.

I use frozen peas, but I wouldn’t go so far as to say I actually cook them.  I bring a pot of water to a boil and drop them in, but I only leave them in the water for 1-2 minutes – not even long enough to return to a boil.  I like to keep a little of that snap when you bite into them, so they only get a really quick blanch.  As for the cheese, you can decide whether you prefer shredded or cubed.  I’ve done both, depending what I have in the fridge, but I actually prefer shredded.

Recipe:  Pea Salad

1 10-ounce bag of frozen peas

1 c. cheddar cheese, cubed or shredded

2 hard boiled eggs, chopped

2 Tbsp. red onion, diced

1/3 c. mayonnaise

1/4 tsp. salt

1/8 tsp. pepper

cherry or grape tomatoes for garnishing your bowl, but they also taste great in the salad

Bring water to a boil to cook peas.  Add peas, but drain into a colander after 1-2 minutes.   Cool.  In bowl, combine other ingredients.  Add cooled peas and combine.  Garnish with grape tomatoes.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2009 2:26 am

    I’ve just about recovered from fainting over on your cookie dough brownies post!

    This pea salad looks delish and easy *ahem* peasy too.

    Sorry, that was a particularly bad pun.

    Found your blog through a tweet that went round today about your brownies. Really glad I came over for a visit, I’ll most definitely be back.

    And, oh! We’re wearing the same blog template dress! *blushes*

  2. July 17, 2009 10:15 am

    replace the mayo with yogurt and i would scarf this down like ghandi after his fast. :)

  3. July 18, 2009 2:43 am

    Frozen peas are great to have around. They are nearly as good as fresh and they are so versatile too. This is a great example. GREG

  4. July 18, 2009 9:19 am

    I just love, love, love peas in anything creamy.

  5. July 22, 2009 3:51 am

    The kids would probably like this but I don’t care for peas. (Devon even went so far to tell me a few weeks ago that he really likes peas. The other two agreed. Maybe that was a hint?) Yes, its sad when my children have better healthier eating habits than I do. (I’ve actually gotten better)
    ~ingrid

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 3, 2009 4:26 am

    aoife mc – Glad you’ve found me and hope you keep reading!

    Grace – Hmm… I don’t know – I do love my mayo.

    SippitySup – I always have a couple bags of peas in the freezer. They are great for so many quick dishes.

    Irina – I love peas too, especially when they taste so fresh, like in a salad like this.

    Ingrid – Too funny. Claudia told me while we were at the beach that she thought we needed to eat some “healthy food” when we got home. Kids are just too much sometimes. : )

    ~Michelle

  7. June 1, 2010 1:34 pm

    If you can get frozen peas to taste like fresh peas I’m game. One of favorite memories is picking peas in my Grandfather’s garden. They were the best right off the vine. Thanks for the referral.

  8. June permalink
    August 12, 2011 10:18 pm

    This sounds delish! I haven’t had pea salad in a long time. This looks easy enough that I’ll make it.

Trackbacks

  1. I’m giving Peas a chance « Try It You Might Like It

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 857 other followers