Skip to content

Mozzarella chicken sandwich

July 18, 2009

Mozzarella Chicken Sandwich

I saw this ciabatta loaf on the “clearance” rack in the bakery section and picked it up for something totally different than this sandwich.  Turns out I didn’t have all the ingredients for the first recipe, so I put it to use on a really delicious lunch instead.

While Jim grilled two chicken breasts, I made some basil mayonnaise by adding julianned basil leaves to the mayo, along with a little garlic oil.  I returned that to the fridge to meld a little while the rest was assembled.  Then I sliced some mozzarella and a perfect beefsteak tomato.  When the chicken came off the grill, I sliced that very thinly, then put the whole thing together.  I spread the basil mayo on both sides of the ciabatta, then added a layer of chicken, tomato, and mozzarella.  I wrapped the sandwich in foil and returned it to the grill for a bit, checking on it now and then to see how the cheese was melting.  I turned it over so it didn’t burn, and got a wonderful color and crunch to the outside.  The inside just melted together in the most amazing way.  We loved this.  I know it isn’t terribly fussy or complicated, but the flavors really go perfectly together and kind of turned our lunch into something special.  (It dosn’t take much to make us happy, really.  We’re simple folk.)

Recipe:  Mozzarella Chicken Sandwich

ciabatta bread

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1/4 c. mayonnaise

2 Tbsp. thinly sliced basil leaves

1/4 tsp. garlic oil, or to taste

mozzarella, sliced

beefsteak tomato, sliced

Season the chicken with salt and pepper and grill until no longer pink.  In the meantime, assemble the rest of the ingredients.  Mix mayonnaise with basil and garlic oil and return to refrigerator until ready to use.  Slice mozzarella and tomato.  When chicken is cooked, slice thinly.  Assemble sandwich by cutting ciabatta, then spreading mayo on both sides of bread.  Add layer of chicken on bottom, then tomato, and mozzarella; and top with second slice of bread.  Wrap in foil and return to grill until cheese melts and sandwich is thoroughly heated.  Turn at least once during heating to avoid burning.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2009 9:05 am

    mmm…i love ciabatta, and i would LOVE to sink my teeth into your crunchy, filling, wonderful sandwich. the end.

  2. July 20, 2009 1:02 am

    Oh yummy! and the basil mayonnaise sounds very good!

  3. July 20, 2009 3:04 am

    Ciabatta bread on Clearance? whoa. i can’t imagine why people wouldn’t want to buy lots and lots of that stuff! It’s my fav sandwich bread!

    This sandwich is awesome! I want one for lunch today!!!

  4. July 20, 2009 5:21 am

    Great sandwich – sometimes simple is the best way to go.

  5. July 22, 2009 3:47 am

    While that may have been fairly simple to put together it definitely has a “fussy” look to it! Very upscale bistro looking! Good job! Love the look of the bread! I know what I want for lunch just hold the tomato, please!

    Btw, where did you get the garlic oil or did you make it yourself?
    ~ingrid

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 22, 2009 4:04 am

    Ingrid – I always have one of those “cheats” in my fridge… a jar of diced garlic for a quick go-to. It’s packed in oil so I just used the oil from that bottle.
    ~ Michelle

  7. July 22, 2009 10:15 am

    I need to figure out a way to save the recipes I want to try. Or do you have a list somewhere on the blog?
    Anyway, the whatever photos are very cute.
    But what I really want to tell you is that now I’ve learned about how to take photos and use the camera properly, Pioneer Woman’s site is a whole different kettle of fish for me. I sent the link to all my classmates!

  8. July 24, 2009 8:46 am

    This looks super yummy!! OH MY!!!

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 3, 2009 4:23 am

    Grace – Thanks!

    Ben – I am growing basil for the first time and I’m loving all the different ways you can use it in your cooking.

    Niki – I’m hooked on ciabatta now too and I’m looking for it everywhere I go.

    Sara – I’m with you on that one… especially after a long summer day when the last thing I want to do is turn on the oven.

    Lonely Scrapbooker – You can favorite the recipes on your own or you can always come back and do a search through the search engine on the blog. And, btw, I’m dropping hints as big as a plane about getting a new camera!

    Michelle – Thank you!

    ~Michelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers