Skip to content

Croissant bread pudding

July 23, 2009

Croissant Bread Pudding

Remember I mentioned finding that yummy ciabatta bread on the clearance rack of the bakery dept.?  Well, I grabbed some of these croissant “twists” too.  I figured I didn’t care if they were a little stale since I knew I wanted to use them in bread pudding anyway.

I’ve had my eye on this Ina Garten recipe for a while and those croissants were destined for it.  I don’t even know what to say about this recipe.  It is wonderful.  Amazing.  Perfect.  Basically, we took one bite and just sighed.  It’s that good.  And the house smelled absolutely lovely while it was baking.

Seriously, just look at this!  We ate it warm, room temperature, and then cold from the fridge for breakfast the next day.  There is no wrong way to enjoy it.  It’s pure joy, all wrapped up in custard.

And that’s even without including the raisins Ina suggested.  (I am no fan of raisins in my baked goods.)  Instead, I added some cinnamon, and we couldn’t be happier with the results.  See all those browner croissant tops?  Cinnamon.  After it starting puffing up in the oven, some of the cinnamon just found a home on the tops of the croissants.  So delicious and pretty.  In fact, I’ve got my eye out for more day-old croissants to freeze for another time.  There will positively be another time.

Recipe:  Croissant Bread Pudding

(adapted from Ina Garten‘s recipe)

3 large whole eggs

8 large egg yolks

5 c. half and half

1 1/2 c. granulated sugar

1 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon

6 large croissants, preferably stale, sliced horizontally  (or 10-12 small croissants)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the whole eggs, egg yolks, half-and-half, sugar, vanilla, and cinnamon. Set the custard mixture aside. Slice the croissants in half horizontally. In a 10 by 15 by 2 1/2-inch oval baking dish, distribute the bottoms of the sliced croissants, then the tops of the croissants (brown side up). Pour the custard over the croissants and allow to soak for 10 minutes, pressing down gently.

Place the pan in a larger one filled with 1-inch of hot water. Cover the larger pan with aluminum foil, tenting the foil so it doesn’t touch the pudding. Cut a few holes in the foil to allow steam to escape. Bake for 45 minutes. Uncover and bake for 40 to 45 more minutes or until the pudding puffs up and the custard is set. Remove from the oven and cool slightly. Serve warm or at room temperature.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2009 3:19 am

    Michelle will you be my bestfriend? LOL!

    That is one gorgeous bread pudding and weren’t you the clever girl to add cinnamon! We love bread pudding! I think I’ve even blogged about a few.

    Seriously, I’ll be baking that up this weekend. I can’t wait! YUM!
    ~ingrid

  2. July 23, 2009 4:32 am

    Gasp! This looks amazing. Bread pudding is one thing, but bread pudding that starts with flaky, buttery croissants? Heavenly! It also doesn’t hurt that they look a little like Princess Leah’s hair buns.

  3. July 23, 2009 4:43 am

    That looks beautiful!! I wouldn’t want to cut into it, but once I did I’m sure I would have no problem going back for seconds or thirds! Oh and I don’t think I would enjoy it with raisins either, cinnamon is perfect. :)

  4. July 23, 2009 8:06 am

    well, it’s a party for the eyes first and foremost! and the innards look so moist and tender—this is a stellar bread pudding! you even included cinnamon, bless your heart. :)

  5. July 23, 2009 8:44 am

    Hello! I’m new to your blog, I found it on TasteSpotting, and I’m glad I did!! I’ve always wanted to try this recipe, I’ve seen the episode and thought it was the most decadent thing. Yours looks so gorgeous! I’m so glad you left out the raisins… not a huge fan either ;)

  6. July 25, 2009 5:10 am

    This is stunning! Love the way it looks. I bet it tastes great too!

  7. July 28, 2009 1:03 pm

    Hey, Michelle! Guess what’s baking in the oven as I type? Yup, bread pudding, baby! I only made a 1/2 as we DON’T need that much. Okay, I don’t need that much. :) It smells good and the custard mixture (sans egg & yokes) tastes amazing! I’m going to turn it into (custard base) ice cream. The only thing I didn’t half was your cinnamon. I did at first. Took a taste and fell in love so in went the other 1/8 tsp. Adding cinnamon was a brillant idea! My last change was to use vanilla bean paste instead of straight extract. I’m very excited to see how it taste. Oh, and I baked up crescent rolls last night and used those. :)

    I’ll let you know!
    ~ingrid

    Btw, I’m starting that book The Time Travelors Wife tonight while I dig into my bread pudding….it’s gonna a be a “One Ordinary (Day) Night” here! :)

  8. oneordinaryday permalink*
    August 3, 2009 4:16 am

    Ingrid – You bet! LOL You can’t have too many best friends. I’m soo glad you guys loved the bread pudding! And how funny that you had a One Ordinary Day night. You crack me up!

    Irana – Oh, you are too much. I never thought about Princess Leia’s hair or I may have renamed the dessert! : )

    Natalie – There were seconds and thirds. It’s too good for just one serving, for sure.

    Grace – Thank you!!

    Marta – Thanks and you described it perfectly – decadent. It sure was.

    Robin Sue – Thank you. I liked the look of those croissant twists too. I love how they looked in the finished pudding.

    ~Michelle

  9. kitchenbelle permalink
    August 3, 2009 8:45 am

    Oh my gosh–this looks unbelievably delicious. What a great idea for bread pudding. Thank you for sharing! It is the prettiest and most photogenic bread pudding I have ever seen!

  10. August 4, 2009 3:42 pm

    oh man, this sounds like it is scary good. this is something that I would literally not be able to stop eating!

  11. September 20, 2009 1:57 pm

    Love your croissant bread pudding. You should submit it to the bread contest on my site. The winner gets a $179 Super Bread bread knife from New West Knifeworks. You can get more info here:

    http://www.phamfatale.com/id_516/title_Pham-Fatale-Bread-Contest/

    Let me know if you’re interested. All I need is a photo of your bread (for voting) and the link to your recipe.

  12. Bobbie permalink
    March 29, 2012 10:46 pm

    I’m looking forward to making this recipe but does anyone have the recipe for bread pudding using croissants it was in Southern Living magazine in the late 90′s I believe and has almost all of these ingredients but the croissants are torn into pieces and the eggs are whole, I just cant remember all the other ingredients. It is my favorite and I cannot find the recipe anywhere.

  13. Bobbie permalink
    March 29, 2012 10:50 pm

    If you do have the recipe please email it to me at bjk697@yahoo.com. Thank you

Trackbacks

  1. American Food Holidays | January 28 - February 3 - (a)Musing Foodie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 837 other followers