Skip to content

Salted butterscotch blondies

July 28, 2009

Salted Butterscotch Blondies

Oh my.  These are Good, with a capital G.  Ingrid, you brilliant baker, thank you for posting your blondies recipe the other day.  (By the way, head over there to see her photos.  My picture doesn’t do this justice!)   As soon as I saw the word “salted” in the title, I knew I was gonna love these.  And I did.  We did.  Book club did.  They’re a keeper.  I went with butterscotch chips this time, but I’ll shake it up a bit for next time and try something w/ peanut butter or toffee or white chocolate chunks.  The possibilities seem endless.  Frankly, I might like them best of all without any kind of add-ins.  The cookie part is just amazing all on its own.  Especially with that little extra kick of sea salt.  {sigh}  Makes me happy.

I doubled the recipe and made it in a 9×13″ pan, so I also had to let them bake longer.  I found that they really puffed up around the edges and seemed a little sunken in the center.  They also didn’t seem to get baked as much through in the center, but I was worrying about the edges being overcooked, so I took them out anyway.  (Next time I won’t double the recipe and I think they’ll be perfect.)  Once I took a bite, I didn’t care a smidge that they didn’t bake up evenly.  I strayed from Ingrid’s recipe only in that I sprinkled some sea salt on top of the blondies before I baked them, instead of adding the extra salt into the dry ingredients.

Recipe:  Salted Butterscotch Blondies

(from Ingrid at 3 B’s)

1 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/8 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

sprinkling of sea salt for blondie tops, but I didn’t measure it

1 c. brown sugar

1/2 c. melted butter

1 large egg

1/4 tsp. vanilla extract

1 c. of favorite add-ins  (i.e.: chopped Heath bars, white chocolate chunks, peanut butter chips, butterscotch chips, etc.)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9×9″ baking pan.

Into a large mixing bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and 1/2 tsp. kosher salt.

In another bowl, beat together brown sugar and melted butter.  Add egg and vanilla.  Stir in the flour mixture, along with add-ins.  Pour batter into pan.  Sprinkle top with sea salt, to taste.

Bake for 20-25 minutes.  Cool completely.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2009 9:08 am

    AHHH blondies!! My specialty :-D

  2. July 28, 2009 3:05 pm

    Yours do look very gooey more so than mine did. I think you may have needed to up the flour just the tiniest of bits. Play around it with.

    I’m really happy you liked it and thanks for the “love”! :) You rock!

    Btw, Babygirl said to tell you that the pudding was perfect, she even told me, “Bravo, Mommy!” :) It’s all GONE, Michelle. They picked every single crumb and ran their finger around the dish. Okay, maybe it was my finger but THEY picked the dish clean! :)
    ~ingrid

  3. July 29, 2009 12:56 am

    i can’t tell you how much i adore butterscotch chips, even though they taste nothing like legitimate butterscotch. these bars rock.

  4. sumshay permalink
    July 29, 2009 12:49 pm

    I can attest to these being delicious!! Definitely marked to be made in our house.

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 3, 2009 4:03 am

    Veggie Girl – Wonder what my specialty is? {smile} I think I need one.

    Ingrid – Believe me, no one minded the gooeyness! These rocked! I’m so happy the bread pudding was a hit too. We just loved it.

    Grace – This is the first time I’ve used the butterscotch chips. Blondies are a good fit with them, for sure.

    Sumshay – Thanks!

    ~Michelle

  6. August 7, 2009 12:59 am

    These look incredible….definitely going in my recipe file for later use. Thanks for sharing.

  7. October 10, 2009 1:49 pm

    Delicious! This one is a keeper, but next time I want to either try a sprinkling of kosher salt on top — or — I will make sure all my sea salt is crushed into uniformly small bits. Some of the crystals which didn’t look all that big turned out to be too intensely salty, lasting looong moments in the mouth. For those moments, it was all salt! Who knew those little crunchy crystals could be so strong?! lol. I do like the play of sweet and salty, tho, so need to fine tune to my taste. My add-in was 3/4 cup of chopped pecans. Otherwise, followed recipe. Love this site. The only problem I have here is there’s too many recipes I want to try! Thanks for sharing.

  8. Kim permalink
    May 22, 2013 8:40 pm

    I am pregnant with my first little one and had a major craving for something sweet and a little salty. I happened upon this recipe and….oh my… these are DIVINE! I also added about 3/4 cup of pecans and they are fabulous! Just what I was craving! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers