Skip to content

5 layer jello jigglers

July 29, 2009
tags: , ,

5 Layer Jello Jiggler

I saw this idea floating around the blogsphere a while back and thought it was fun and kind of pretty and that sometime I was gonna give it a try.   “Sometime” came and here it is.  I still love how it looks and it really is a fun and tasty treat to eat.  But, mercy, it felt like it took forever to prepare.

It’s one of those things that I knew was going to take a while, and I probably wouldn’t have minded if the kids had been knocking me down to get to them.  But the fact of the matter is that my kids and Evie didn’t want them.  I actually had to pull out the “one bite to be polite” rule to get them to even try them!  Isn’t that crazy??  It’s Jello, man!  When I was a kid, Jello was king.  We used to love mixing it up and drinking it.  Forget the fridge – give it to me straight up.  My first “cookbook” was a Jello cookbook.  Remember poke cakes?  Jello.  And that thick part that formed at the bottom of the bowl sometimes?  {sigh}  Loved it!  So Jello jigglers were just a natural progression, right?  Whatever.  My kids are so weird.

All the more for me and Jim I guess.  It really is yummy and it would be fun to make for a baby shower or for Christmas or in your kid’s school colors.  Sometime that there’s a definite color scheme.  As for me… I probably won’t make it again.  Did I mention my kids are weird?

Recipe:  5 Layer Jello Jigglers

(this has been on a few blogs, but the one I bookmarked was The Food Librarian)

3 boxes of 3 oz. Jello  (I used lime, orange, and pineapple)

1 box of Knox unflavored gelatin

1 can of sweetened condensed milk

Mix the sweetened condensed milk with 1 c. of boiling water.  Stir until smooth and combined.  In a small bowl, sprinkle 2 packets of Knox gelatin over 1/2 c. cold water.  Let stand a few minutes, then add 1/2 c. boiling water and stir until gelatin is dissolved.  Pour the dissolved gelatin into the sweetened condensed milk and stir until combined.  Cool to room temperature.

Empty 1 box of Jello in a bowl with 1/2 a packet of Knox gelatin.  Add 1 c. of boiling water and stir until gelatin is dissolved.  Pour into a 9×13″ glass baking pan.  Place in refrigerator for 15 minutes.

After first layer of Jello has set up, pour 1 c. milk mixture on top and return to refrigerator.  Chill until set, about 15 minutes.  Repeat with next layer of Jello; then milk; then Jello, until you have as many layers as you like.

(You will have enough milk mixture to add one more layer of each and have a 7 layer jiggler, but you’ll want to remember to buy another box of Jello.)

25 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2009 6:20 am

    My jaw nearly fell on the floor when I saw this. A sight to behold, indeed.

  2. July 29, 2009 7:27 am

    it does seem like it’d take an eternity, but man–what a pay-off! it’s a gorgeous creation!

  3. July 29, 2009 1:29 pm

    Michelle I’m with the kids on this one and I’m pretty certain my children would have been the same way. While pretty it just doesn’t appeal to me but then again neither did jello. My mom didn’t make it or buy.

    On another note I love your one bite to be polite rule! My children are very good about trying everything but a few of their friends (Babygirl’s mostly), YIKES! I’m using that line.
    ~ingrid

  4. July 30, 2009 2:58 am

    Beautiful!
    I love the summer color and layers
    Great Job!

  5. July 30, 2009 5:24 am

    Digging into that jiggler would be SO MUCH FUN! Pretty colors!

  6. July 30, 2009 2:02 pm

    Incredible!!!! Truly a work of art!!! Its so fun and colorful!

  7. July 31, 2009 8:27 am

    I have bought all the parts to makes these but keep putting it off, don’t know why cuz they look so yummy-they do seem to be time consuming huh? I am happy to see the white layer is with Sweet con milk instead of coconut milk since we have nut allergies here. I think my kids would love these in the lunch box come fall. Are they stiff enough to hold and do you think they can live in a lunch box a few hours??

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 3, 2009 3:58 am

    Irana – Thank you! That’s so nice!

    Grace – I love how it turned out too, even if I had to eat it all myself. : )

    Ingrid – I have Bea to thank for the “one bite to be polite” rule. She’s full of those little tidbits and they all come in handy.

    Pontch – Thanks!

    Amrita – I had fun eating them, to be honest, but didn’t really love the making part.

    Jen – Thanks a lot!

    ~Michelle

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 3, 2009 4:00 am

    Robin Sue – I think they’d be okay in a lunchbox with an ice pack for a bit. I sure won’t be sending them in my kids’ lunches. : )
    ~Michelle

  10. October 21, 2009 2:31 pm

    That looks great. I’d love to try it with the sweetened condensed milk.

  11. Morgan moyer permalink
    October 27, 2009 1:04 pm

    My Grandma would make this for Christmas. It was my favorite thing. I would always try to peal the layers apart. The weird thing is, is that I don’t like jello unless it is like this!

  12. December 12, 2009 2:52 am

    Thanks for sharing the school colors combo concept – great idea!!!
    I really appreciate reading your site and the poem in the upper tight hand corner.
    I m not married nor do I have any children ( yet) but you make it sound romantic for me.
    Thanks and happy holidays!
    Lisa Lepak
    Tampa, FL

  13. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 12, 2009 6:39 am

    Lisa – Thank you for the kind comments! Hope you keep coming back to my blog. : )
    ~ Michelle

  14. Gina permalink
    January 20, 2010 4:47 pm

    When I was little, my best friend’s mom would make a variation of this for EVERY holiday and send them to school for the whole class. They were only two layers and at Valentines they were red and white, cut out in hearts with a cookie cutter. St. Pat’s day they were green and white cut out as 4 leaf clovers. Etc. I found this blog while looking for the recipe. I LOVED THEM!
    I would also peel mine like the other poster mentioned. My kids really like Jello so I thought this would be a fun way to get them involved in the process (the cookie cutter part). Thanks for the recipe!

  15. Melena permalink
    March 19, 2010 8:12 am

    Hi Michelle,

    This looks so fun I’d love to bring these to a party I’m attending next weekend but I’d like to do rainbow jello! Do I need to add the condensed milk to successfully make these?

    Thanks so much for the wonderful idea!

    Cheers,

    Melena

  16. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 19, 2010 8:19 am

    Melena – I don’t see why you would have to add the condensed milk layers if you don’t want to. It does add a nice flavor to all that fruitiness though. Hope everyone loves it!
    ~Michelle

  17. Melena permalink
    March 27, 2010 4:13 am

    Hi Michelle,

    I went and bought my six colors but I forgot the unflavored gelatin, will this hinder the taste?

    Thanks for your advice!

    Melena

  18. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 27, 2010 4:30 am

    Hi, Melena. The recipe does call for mixing the Jello with 1/2 a packet of unflavored gelatin. I suppose since you don’t want to add the milk layers anyway, that you could try it using the Jello Jiggler recipe on the box and just layering it that way. I’ve never tried it that way though, so no promises. Good luck!
    ~Michelle

  19. Linda Hudson permalink
    August 15, 2011 4:10 pm

    may I use your jello layer photo?

    I”m a professor of art and design at Otis in Los Angele.
    I’m planning a lecture and want to include your image.

    thanks.

  20. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 15, 2011 5:25 pm

    Linda – Thank you for asking to use my photo. I’d be happy if it was part of your lecture. Please do!
    ~ Michelle

  21. September 7, 2011 3:31 pm

    That looks absolutely delicious! This was served at my cousin’s graduation luau party, and it was simply fabulous. :) I will have to try making it myself!

  22. April 2, 2012 8:46 pm

    Making this right now! I am using cherry and lime jello…kind of like a cherry limeade! Everything looks good so far!

  23. one ordinary day permalink
    April 4, 2012 9:37 am

    Allison – Great idea with the flavor combination! Hope they turned out perfectly!!
    ~ Michelle

  24. Janis permalink
    July 3, 2012 1:20 am

    Jelli Jigglers

Trackbacks

  1. Wigglin’ and Jigglin’ « thenotsobradybunch

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 859 other followers