Skip to content

Brownie krispies

July 31, 2009

Brownie Krispies

When I saw this at Cookie Madness, it was called “easy peanut butter marshmallow krispie topped brownies.”  While certainly an accurate description, that’s too much of a name.  I’ll just call them brownie krispies.

I made these this morning because my girlfriend was coming over with her daughters, and if there was ever someone I like to share goodies with, it’s her.  Not that we need the chocolate for our visits to be great, but it was a tasty perk all the same.  And apparently, I’m developing a nice little baking reputation with her girls and I’m not one to disappoint.

These bars are three layers of delicious – first a brownie, then gooey marshmallow, topped with a crunchy peanut butter/chocolate combination.  I thought they were awesome and they seemed to be a hit with most of the kids that were here today.  And I have to tell ya that we both got a kick out of the fact that I used a LOW FAT brownie mix to make these.  Ironic, isn’t it?  You can bake your own brownies if you want, but I grabbed what I had in the pantry and they turned out great.

Recipe:  Brownie Krispies

1 box brownie mix + additional ingredients to bake brownies according to package directions

4 c. mini marshmallows

1 1/3 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 c. creamy peanut butter

3 Tbsp. butter

2 c. crispy rice cereal

Bake brownies according to package directions in a greased 9×13″ baking pan.  Two minutes before they are supposed to be baked, pull brownies from the oven and sprinkle marshmallows across top.  Return to oven for 2 minutes to soften marshmallows.  Remove from oven and spread marshmallows across top of brownies.  Let cool completely.  (I didn’t actually spread the marshmallows – they just covered the whole top and softened up nice and gooey.)

Prepare crispy topping:  combine chocolate chips, peanut butter, and butter in a bowl.  Heat in microwave for 30 seconds at a time until mixture is melted and smooth.  Add cereal and stir to coat.  Pour over marshmallow layer and spread evenly.  Place brownies in the refrigerator for at least an hour until chilled.  This helps make them easy to cut and makes them a little less messy to eat.  : )

19 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2009 11:53 pm

    I love this idea!!! I made a 3 layer crispy square earlier in the week too. I love this idea though.. like a crispy smores!!

  2. August 1, 2009 4:32 am

    Mmmm, looks and sounds good. I’m a fan of almost anything that includes warm, gooey marshmallows!
    ~ingrid

  3. sumshay permalink
    August 1, 2009 5:34 am

    As always, though our days together just sitting in your sun room are limited, I had a great time!
    So did the girls.
    We were playing the “alphabet game” with place names later that evening. “Sam’s house” was used for S. : )

    As for the brownies you sent home for us…
    gone as soon as we walked in the door.
    Husband was not away as expected…girls couldn’t very well let him eat alone!!

    Thanks!

  4. August 1, 2009 10:04 am

    These looks awesome…especially with the different textures involved.

  5. August 1, 2009 5:21 pm

    Low fat brownies for this sounds a little ironic, indeed! It looks SO GOOD!

  6. August 2, 2009 5:55 am

    i get so excited by layered desserts, particularly when one or more of the layers contain chocolate. the crispy crunch aspect is quite the added bonus!

  7. bobbygee permalink
    August 3, 2009 1:01 am

    This looks great. My wife will have to make these for me. I am a disaster in the kitchen. When I get done you have to call 911.

    http://bobbygee.wordpress.com/

  8. August 3, 2009 1:21 am

    Those look DELICIOUS.
    Definitely going to have to try this :)

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 3, 2009 3:55 am

    Jen – I’m gonna have to check out your recipe too… I’ve got 1/2 a box of cereal leftover.

    Ingrid – The marshmallow isn’t so gooey after being in the fridge, but if you didn’t refrigerate this, the top wouldn’t set up. You end up w/ chocolate fingers anyway, but it’s worth it.

    sumshay – {smile}

    Susan – Thanks. It tastes great too.

    Paula – I know… lowfat brownies? Pa-lease. : )

    Grace – I’m not a fan of traditional rice krispie treats but putting the marshmallows in as their own layer and mixing the cereal w/ pb and chocolate turned it into a hit for me.

    bobbygee – Hope you like it!

    Kiara – Come back and let me know if you make them and what you think.

    ~Michelle

  10. Julie permalink
    December 4, 2009 5:15 am

    I am SO thankful to have came across your website. I found this recipe in my Grandma’s church cookbook, but the instructions were incomplete…so they didn’t really make sense. I could tell from the ingredients though that I HAD to make them. SO I went searching online & found YOU! My brownies are in the oven & I can’t wait to get these yummise made! I have two little boys who will be sure to help me & their daddy devour them :) Thank you for sharing!

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 5, 2009 11:19 am

    Hi, Julie. Thanks for the nice comment! I agree with you… I couldn’t wait to make these either. And they’re awesome! Hope you loved ‘em too!
    ~Michelle

  12. Christine Strand permalink
    January 11, 2010 5:34 pm

    Hi! I don’t even remember how I got to your website, but I’m sure it had to do with a dessert search. Anyway, the picture of this brownie blew me away and I HAD to try it. I made it yesterday and it was a HUGE hit!! I made a batch to share with my sis-in-law who just had a baby. When my hubby saw it in the fridge, he thought it was just a regular brownie with marshmallow and icing. But when he took a bite… he was FLOORED!!! He was over the moon and said it was the best brownie EVER! I believe him considering he is SO very hard to please! Anyway, thank you for posting this recipe!

  13. barb dodd permalink
    September 1, 2010 11:03 pm

    the tomatoe pasta salad and the brownies. Yeah! baby yeah! healthy and sinful all in one. thanx Laura..

  14. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 2, 2010 7:45 am

    Barb – LOL That’s the way to look at a meal, right? Eat the healthy stuff first, then splurge with dessert. That’s how my kids see it anyway, so I need to take more lessons from them. : ) Thanks for the comment and I hope you love those brownie krispies as much as we do.
    ~ Michelle

  15. Tracy permalink
    September 2, 2010 12:12 pm

    Could I use your picture on a gardening forum! There is a recipe/preserving subforum and one of the threads is baking for our families……….I am “the brownie Mom” for the athletes in our school district, afrter 17 yrs of this, I am alwlays lookin’ for something ‘different’ and these look GREAT………(How can you miss with PB, marshmallows, krispie rice and chocolate?!? ;o)) The picture is beautiful and I will put a link to your blog as well as crediting you for the recipe………..Thanks (even if I can’t use it, you have added to my ‘go tos’ ;o))

  16. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 2, 2010 12:21 pm

    Tracy – Yes, you can use my photo and the recipe as long as you link back to the original post on the blog. Thanks for the kind comments. You’re gonna LOVE these!
    ~ Michelle

  17. Kathleen permalink
    April 23, 2012 2:13 am

    I just finished baking these and they are in the fridge setting and cooling. I can’t wait to try these!, considering the fantastic reviews! YUM!

  18. Tracy permalink
    September 2, 2012 10:54 am

    I know it’s been a while, but just wanted to check in and let you know that these has become ‘legend’ in our HS………. The athletes that have had them ( I’ve done them a dozen of so times, found out these are best made for the ‘cold weather’ sports, lol) The kids will speak of these in almost ‘reverent’ tones, lol…(this, my cinnamon rolls and a salted caramel bar are my most request) … Thanks again for this recipe

Trackbacks

  1. My Technology Website

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 852 other followers