Skip to content

Peach sour cream ice cream

August 7, 2009

Peach Sour Cream Ice Cream

I made Sweet Charity Pie’s strawberry sour cream ice cream as soon as I saw her recipe, and I loved it so much that my mind was reeling with the possibilities.  Peaches are everywhere here right now, so peach ice cream was kind of a given, but I want to try it with every berry I can think of.  I bet they’d all be great.

I mentioned a while back that I bought a (cheap) ice cream machine…. well, it broke in the middle of the aforementioned strawberry sour cream ice cream.  No worries though, cause I promptly followed David Lebovitz‘s tried and true instructions for making it without a machine and it turned out perfectly.

Anyway, while we were all at my parents’ house celebrating Mom’s birthday, my parents gave me their ice cream maker to take home.  They haven’t used it in ages and neither of them thought they’d miss it much.  Yea for me!  I was like a little kid giggling at how wonderful the peach ice cream turned out.  It was awesome!  {still giggling}  I had a blast just watching it churn for 20 minutes, much less tasting all that creamy ice cream.  Now that I have a machine that works so well, I’m looking for frozen treats to make.  Let me know if you’ve got a favorite!

Recipe:  Peach Sour Cream Ice Cream

(adapted from Sweet Charity Pie‘s blog)

1 lb. fresh or frozen peeled and chopped peaches  (If using frozen, allow to thaw.)

1/2-3/4 c. granulated sugar, depending on how sweet your fruit is  (I used 3/4 c. when I made the strawberry ice cream and only 1/2 c. with the peach.)

1/2 c. milk

1 c. sour cream  (I only had light sour cream in the fridge and it worked great.)

Place peaches in a bowl and sprinkle with sugar.  Allow to chill out together for a little while; stirring them occasionally.  Place fruit and sugar into a blender with the other ingredients.  Blend until smooth and then freeze in your ice cream maker following manufacturer’s directions.  Transfer to an airtight container and store in freezer.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2009 4:08 am

    Well, I think you know how I feel about ice cream. :) I actually made Babygirl some birthday cake ice cream last night. She loved it and ate some soft serve style.

    I remember seeing this around the time I was trying some buttermilk in my ice cream. Thanks for reminding me that I NEED to try this! I’ve got a huge tub of sour cream just need some fresh fruit.

    I’m still leery about the cucumber lemonade but am going to sneak it to the kids and see what they think before I take the plunge myself.

    Happy Friday!
    ~ingrid

  2. August 9, 2009 10:19 am

    This makes me want to eat ice cream. The problem is that I want THIS ice cream, not the store bought stuff. Not even the good store bought stuff would suffice having seen and read about your ice cream. Wah~

  3. August 10, 2009 10:27 am

    My aunt, who lives around the corner from me, has become obsessed with ice cream making this summer. I’m definitely going to share this with her. I like the sour cream twist. Beautiful photo… I’m sitting here in my office and my mouth is watering!

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 10, 2009 1:37 pm

    Thanks, everybody. I love reading your comments!

    ~Michelle

  5. August 12, 2009 3:24 pm

    This is one of my favorite flavors in icecream! Delicious!

  6. August 19, 2009 3:57 pm

    This was SO good! I just made some tonight and I can’t stop eating it! Thanks for the fantastic recipe!

Trackbacks

  1. Weekend Foodie Links: No Cooking Required : Blisstree - Family, Health, Home and Lifestyles
  2. Eat A Peach : Blisstree - Family, Health, Home and Lifestyles

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 859 other followers