Skip to content

Zucchini patties

August 9, 2009

Zucchini Patties

I am the proud godmother to two amazing kids.  Excuse me… young adults.  (They are 18 and 19 years old now.  Where on earth did the time go?)  Every so often the two of them have reminisced about this one time… more years ago than I can remember… when I made zucchini patties during one of their visits with us.  Even though they were pretty picky eaters when they were little, they both went crazy over these zucchini patties.  Go figure.

Lauren was here spending a few days with us, and she happened to ask if we could have those famous zucchini patties.  By coincidence, I had more zucchini sitting on my counter than I knew what to do with, so I said yes.  I found the recipe I’d used and mixed some up, but they were a disaster.  Apparently, I’d forgotten to include eggs when I added the recipe to my binder and these might taste fine without eggs, but you really need them to hold the whole thing together.  We ate them anyway… after all, cheesy goodness is cheesy goodness.

We tried again the next day and this time we did it right, with wonderful results.   These zucchini patties are delicious served with a dollop of sour cream.  We also like them stacked between layers of nice, ripe tomatoes that had been sprinkled with a little salt.

Recipe:  Zucchini Patties

4 c. shredded zucchini

1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 c. shredded Parmesan cheese

1/2 c. shredded mozzarella cheese

2 eggs, beaten

1/4 c. chopped onion

2 Tbsp. vegetable oil

salt and pepper, to taste

Combine zucchini with eggs, cheeses, and onion.  Stir to combine.  Add flour, salt, and pepper and combine.  Heat oil in skillet on medium-high.  Drop batter into oil and cook until browned on both sides, flipping once, like you would cook pancakes.  Serve with sour cream.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2009 12:27 am

    Oh wow, I’ve never heard of zucchini patties before, but they sure sound like a great way to sneak in those greens!

  2. August 10, 2009 2:14 am

    Oh! Veggie heaven! I am having these TODAY. (with my neighbor’s zucchinis, because I have somehow failed to grow mine, is that possible with zucchinis? i’d thought not.)

  3. August 10, 2009 3:06 am

    Okay, I added zucchini to my grocery list which already has your cucumbers and extra lemons. I’m trusting you Michelle! :) Nah, just kidding…you haven’t steered me wrong yet. I’m pretty certain my guys will like ‘em. They are big veggies eaters (much more than I am) and babygirl likes anything covered in sour cream.

    Happy Monday!!
    ~ingrid

  4. August 10, 2009 8:38 am

    That looks so good. My mouth is watering.

  5. August 10, 2009 10:29 am

    Oh, I’m so excited to try this! I am vegetarian so I’m always looking for hearty vegetarian dishes. And this seems like it could be a main course for a light lunch or a side dish for dinner. Either way, looks delish!

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 10, 2009 1:23 pm

    Miri – I hope you enjoy these as much as we do. We actually ate these for lunch when we added the tomatoes and were really happy with how it turned out. Please let me know what you think.
    ~Michelle

  7. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 10, 2009 1:24 pm

    Ingrid – Too funny! You have to let me know how everyone likes the lemonade for sure. And you will even love the zucchini patties. You can’t go wrong w/ all that cheese!
    ~Michelle

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 10, 2009 1:27 pm

    ovenhaven – LOL I don’t know if this can really count for being “healthy,” but I’d like to think they have at least some nutritional value. : )

    AmberLee – I don’t know a thing about growing zucchini, but I might just have to give it a try myself next year.

    The Provident Woman – Thank you. That’s a pretty high compliment! haha

    ~Michelle

  9. tenpossible permalink
    August 26, 2009 1:38 pm

    oh wow.. now THIS i have to try!

Trackbacks

  1. thoughts on giving by ONE ORDINARY DAY | giverslog.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 855 other followers