Skip to content

Strawberry shortcake cookies

August 16, 2009

Strawberry Shortcake Cookies

I bought a carton of strawberries at the grocery store the other day, even though that’s about the worst place you can buy strawberries.  I got them home and each of the kids nibbled on one or two, but they weren’t sweet or juicy, so they were pretty much just going to waste in the fridge.  Enter Martha Stewart.  Well, she didn’t exactly enter, but her recipe did, and I managed to turn those dull old berries into some pretty delicious cookies.

This is a simple recipe that has everything you’d want in your shortcake:  butter, sugar, cream, and strawberries.  It’s kind of like an inside out strawberry shortcake.  It really does taste like the real thing and we thought they were delicious.

I have to admit, I was pretty doubtful when I saw how the dough was coming together.  My berries weren’t blending in nicely and the dough felt too stiff and too wet at the same time.  When I put spoonfuls of cookie dough on my baking sheet, I wasn’t holding out much hope for them.  I shouldn’t have doubted Martha, I guess, because darn, they’re good.

Recipe:  Strawberry Shortcake Cookies

(from Martha Stewart Living)

12 ounces strawberries, hulled and cut into 1/4″ pieces (2 cups)

1 tsp. fresh lemon juice

1/2 c. plus 1 Tbsp. granulated sugar, divided

2 c. all-purpose flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

6 Tbsp. cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

2/3 c. heavy cream

sanding sugar, for sprinkling

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Combine strawberries, lemon juice, and 2 Tbsp. granulated sugar.  Whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, and remaining 7 Tbsp. granulated sugar in a large bowl.  Cut in the butter with a pastry cutter, or rub with your fingers, until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.  Stir in the cream until dough starts to come together, then stir in strawberry mixture.

Using a cookie scoop or a tablespoon, drop dough onto baking sheets lined with parchment, spacing evenly apart.  Sprinkle with sanding sugar and bake until golden brown, about 24 minutes.  Transfer to a wire rack and allow to cool.

Cookies are best served immediately, but can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 1 day.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2009 1:42 am

    Oh don’t you love it when you are all disappointed by something and are so sure you just wasted your time and then it comes out like these? It makes it that much more sweet when you get to eat them!

  2. hungrynez permalink
    August 17, 2009 2:21 am

    fresh strawberries are quite expensive these days here. can i use strawberry preserves instead?

  3. August 17, 2009 2:43 am

    Oh my those look delicious! I love strawberry shortcake! And even better that you thought they werent going to turn out and you ended up loving them!

  4. August 17, 2009 3:27 am

    Great way to save the strawberry day! Oh, that Martha always comes through.

  5. Jeb permalink
    August 17, 2009 3:56 am

    Look Great. Can I use milk instead. Thanks

  6. August 18, 2009 5:31 am

    So cute! I wish I could have found these this weekend when I needed something to do with some strawberries!

  7. August 18, 2009 8:00 am

    I’d love to feature these cookies on my blog. Let me know if you’re interested.

    Thanks!
    Tiffany

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 19, 2009 12:06 am

    Niki – I was definitely delighted that they tasted so good. I really wasn’t holding out a lot of hope when I slid them into the oven. : )

    hungrynez – I think you need the fresh strawberries. You could try preserves, but it’s going to color your dough too. I like the contrast of the berries peeking through the biscuit, myself.

    Krystle – Thanks… it really was a nice surprise that we liked them so much. LOL

    Irina – Yep, Martha came through for me.

    Jeb – You can try it with whole milk, but I think the cookie needed that extra fat from the cream. And to me, it made it kind of an inside-out strawberry shortcake.

    Katie – Thanks!

    Tiffany – Sounds awesome. I’ll email you.

    ~Michelle

  9. August 19, 2009 12:06 pm

    Wow, what a great idea, love it! I love the cute matching background in your photos, too :)

  10. August 22, 2009 10:23 am

    What a great idea, using strawberries like this. It’s like a shortcut shortcake :)

Trackbacks

  1. Cookies | All Days Long
  2. Strawberry Shortcake Cookies Recipe | The Cookie Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 859 other followers