Skip to content

Banana s’mores for Cupcake Hero

September 8, 2009

VOTING BEGINS TODAY FOR CUPCAKE HERO BANANA (VOTE 9/17-9/21)

Banana S’more Cupcake

When I found out the ingredient for my first Cupcake Hero was banana, I have to say I was more than a little bummed.  My kids are notorious for not eating baked goods that even remotely smell like banana.  I blame Bea, but that’s a story for another day.  Anyway, I was talking to Bea and Dani (my sisters, for those of you who don’t know) and when I asked them what they thought of when I said banana, they both mentioned putting bananas on their s’mores and how much they love them.  So, I started fiddling around with some ideas and the banana s’more cupcake was born.

I’m sorry, but I’m about to bombard you with photos.  I couldn’t help it.  That marshmallow frosting was just begging to be photographed.

You get everything you love from the classic s’more, but with a banana twist.  There’s a graham cracker crumb layer underneath a banana cupcake.  The cupcake is filled with milk chocolate ganache, then topped with a big golden dollop of marshmallow frosting.  I wish Bea and Dani were here to taste test for me!

(I made my ganache filling the night before I baked the cupcakes, so this does require a smidge of pre-planning.  I needed it to be thoroughly chilled so I could whip it for the filling.)

And just one more for the road because I seriously could not stop taking pictures of these!  I also couldn’t stop eating the frosting straight out of the bowl.  Big spoonfuls.  It was amazing.  I had extra so I mixed it into some homemade chocolate ice cream too.  And on top of the ice cream.  And straight out of the bowl again.  It was soooo good.

Recipe:  Banana S’more Cupcake

(adapted and added to from a Martha Stewart recipe for banana cupcakes)

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

3/4 c. granulated sugar

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 c. unsalted butter, melted

1 1/2 c. mashed, ripe bananas

2 eggs

1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Graham Cracker Layer:

1 1/2 c. graham cracker crumbs

1/3 c. unsalted butter, melted

3 Tbsp. granulated sugar

Ganache Filling:

5 1/2 ounces of milk chocolate, finely chopped ~ I went with Hershey bars to give it that genuine s’more flavor

2/3 c. heavy cream

Marshmallow Frosting:

4 large egg whites

1 c. granulated sugar

1/4 tsp. cream of tartar

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Begin by making the ganache the night before you  plan on baking the cupcakes.  Place the cream in a small, heavy saucepan and warm over medium-high heat until it begins to bubble around the edges.  Remove from heat and add chopped chocolate.  Whisk until smooth, then pour into a bowl.  Place a piece of plastic wrap on the surface of the ganache and refrigerate overnight.

When you’re ready to bake the cupcakes, preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a 12 cup muffin tin with paper liners.

Graham Cracker Layer:

Combine graham cracker crumbs, sugar and melted butter in a small bowl.  Stir to mix.  Drop a tablespoon of crumb mixture in the bottom of each muffin liner.  Tamp down with a small glass.  (You’ll have leftover for sprinkling on top of the marshmallow frosting.)

Cupcake:

In a bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Make a well in the center of the flour mixture.  In the well, mix together melted butter, mashed bananas, eggs, and vanilla extract.  Stir to incorporate flour mixture, but do not overmix.  Divide evenly between 12 muffin cups.

Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, 20-25 minutes.  Remove from pan and cool completely on a wire rack before moving onto the next step.

Ganache:

Whisk your chilled ganache.  Spoon into a pastry bag fitted with a medium size tip.  Poke the tip into the cooled cupcake and fill the cupcake with the whipped ganache.

Marshmallow Frosting:

Place egg whites, sugar, and cream of tartar in the heatproof bowl of your electric mixer.  Set over a saucepan of simmering water, but make sure it isn’t touching the water.  Whisk constantly until the sugar has dissolved and the whites are warm to the touch, about 3 or 4 minutes.

Move your bowl over to your electric mixer and fit the mixer with the whisk attachment.  Beat, starting on low speed and gradually increasing to high speed, until stiff and glossy peaks form, about 5-7 minutes.  Add vanilla and mix until combined.  Immediately frost cupcakes by spooning a large dollop of frosting onto the cupcake, then use the back of the spoon to make peaks and curls.  To lightly brown your frosting, you can use a kitchen torch or place them under your oven’s broiler.  If using the broiler method, the ganache will be very gooey and melted inside your cupcake for a while afterward.  Refrigerate for a bit to firm it back up.

Makes 12 regular-sized cupcakes.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 3:47 am

    that marshmellow frosting looks amazing! love the idea of bananas in smores!

  2. September 8, 2009 6:19 am

    Girlfriend you’re gonna win BIG with this one! It looks A-MAZING!! Seriously banana s’mores is brillant and I KNOW my clan is gonna love it as they’re banana fiends! I can’t wait to try it. Geez, my list of your recipes is getting out of control! :)

    Btw, THANK YOU for all the photos of those beauties!
    ~ingrid

  3. September 8, 2009 7:47 am

    those photos are GORGEOUS–the frosting is like a puffy cloud, and it’s marvelous. heck, the entire creation is marvelous, michelle–bravo!

  4. September 8, 2009 1:04 pm

    Now that’s a cupcake! Makes mine look pathetic! GREG

  5. September 8, 2009 3:26 pm

    This is truly a great little gem you have here. I must try this….what a hit!

  6. September 11, 2009 12:24 pm

    LOVE these. never would have thought to pair bananas and marshmallows!

  7. September 14, 2009 6:53 am

    mmmm a little banana in a smore never hurt anyone! great entry!

  8. September 17, 2009 10:25 am

    your topping is absolutely GORGEOUS!!!!!!! i’m DEF. making these! xo

  9. September 18, 2009 3:28 am

    I can never resist a lovely photo of toasted meringue. Lovely entry!

  10. cookievig permalink
    September 19, 2009 12:23 am

    Oh My God! I love your blog! This cupcake is making me shake. How fast can I make it, before the kids get up? Ingredients are swirling around in my head! The marshmellow frosting to just to much! I will check back and let u know how I did with the recipe. Please visit us at Twicebakedtwins.com. Come and blog with us. Also please click on our press kit so you can see us in action. Got to go make my cupcakes!

    Judy & Joy
    Twice Baked Twins

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 19, 2009 1:05 am

    cookievig – You are cracking me up! Too funny. I’ll look forward to hearing how you like the cupcakes! Be warned… it’s the marshmallow frosting that’s gonna do you in. : )
    ~ Michelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 859 other followers