Skip to content

Snickerdoodle cookie dough truffles

September 10, 2009

Snickerdoodle Cookie Dough Truffles

I first saw these little gems a while back at a blog called Salt and Chocolate (whose name I love, by the way).  This kind of jumped out at me since it’s one of those recipes that you don’t even have to bake to get a delicious morsel of goodness.  If you love raw cookie dough, you’ll love them.  And if you’re a snickerdoodle fan, then that just doubles the love.

I found that I needed to sprinkle some extra flour into the dough so I could roll it ~ it’s pretty sticky.  I had a heck of a time at first, but by the 6th or 7th truffle, I was into a good groove.  I strayed from the recipe only by rolling each truffle in sanding sugar.  I also placed them all on a cookie sheet and popped them into the freezer for a bit before putting them into a container.  I was worried they’d stick together and I’d have one super large truffle lump if I didn’t flash freeze them first.

They’re wonderful just as they are, but I’m wondering how they’d be with some chocolate drizzled on them.  Maybe next time.

Recipe:  Snickerdoodle Cookie Dough Truffles

(adapted only slightly from Salt and Chocolate)

1 stick of unsalted butter, room temperature

3/4 c. packed light brown sugar

2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 c. all-purpose flour

2 tsp. cinnamon

14 oz. can of sweetened condensed milk

sanding sugar

In a bowl, combine the salt, flour, and cinnamon and set aside.  In the bowl of your electric mixer, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add in vanilla and mix until incorporated.  Slowly add flour mixture, alternating with sweetened condensed milk.  Shape into 1″ balls, roll in sanding sugar, and place on cookie sheet lined with waxed paper.  Flash freeze for about an hour before putting truffles into an airtight container.  Store in freezer.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 1:36 am

    Cookie TRUFFLES?!?!?! Yes, please! :-D

  2. September 10, 2009 3:00 am

    No-no! You’ll ruin ‘em with chocolate! They are PERFECT as is! Don’t do it Michelle. :)
    ~ingrid

  3. September 10, 2009 3:57 am

    Yum! Diffidently on my to do list. I might try white chocolate, maybe dipping them in it and dusting the top with cinnamon and sugar.

  4. September 10, 2009 5:30 am

    i’m not really sure how i missed these on katie’s blog, as the word snickerdoodle is an immediate draw for me. they look great!

  5. September 10, 2009 8:05 am

    Are you totally serious?!! I can have my Snickerdoodles in a truffle form. I think I have died and gone to heaven! Thanks for sharing this is perfect for the fall time and bake sales. I love your Root Beer Cake too. I am so far behind in my blog reading lately. We went full speed that last week of summer before school started but now I can get back into the blog swing!

  6. September 10, 2009 9:39 am

    Glad you liked them!

  7. September 10, 2009 10:16 am

    These sound pretty incredible! I don’t think the chocolate drizzle could do any harm either. ;)

  8. September 10, 2009 12:34 pm

    With or withour chocolate, I’d eat them all :)

  9. September 25, 2009 12:46 pm

    I wish I could make these but there’s no way: my kids and I are WAY too susceptible to sugar and these look way too sweet. I appreciate the recipe and the photo though!

  10. huntfortheverybest permalink
    September 28, 2009 12:27 pm

    yummy looking!

  11. December 18, 2009 4:10 am

    I made these and wrote about them here: http://tomatoesforapples.blogspot.com/2009/12/snickerdoodle-cookie-dough-truffles.html

    These are uber addictive!!! I’m having such a hard time restraining myself from eating the whole batch. Keep your fingers crossed they last until Christmas.

    Thank you SOOOOOOOOOOO much for the recipe. I’ll be making these again and again, and not just over the holidays.

  12. hannah permalink
    February 27, 2010 7:53 pm

    hello! I have a question. I would love to make these but was wondering it is a must to store them in the freezer? And if I want to eat them, must I take them out of the freezer for a specific amount of time before eating them?

    Thanks and I love this recipe! ((:

  13. oneordinaryday permalink*
    February 28, 2010 12:40 am

    Hannah – You do not have to keep the truffles in the freezer, but I would say that keeping them in the fridge is a good idea. They are rather soft if left at room temperature, so we just preferred them very chilled. I think it’s a personal preference though. Let me know how you like them!
    ~Michelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 818 other followers