Skip to content

Cinnamon popcorn

September 16, 2009

Cinnamon Popcorn

There’s only one problem with this popcorn.  I couldn’t stop eating it!  If you like cinnamon, you’ve gotta try this.  So simple and fast to make and soooo easy to eat.  And eat.  And eat.  Yum.

Recipe:  Cinnamon Popcorn

8-10 c. of popped popcorn

1/2 c. unsalted butter, cut into pieces

1/3 c. granulated sugar

1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

2 hefty pinches of kosher salt

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  Pop popcorn and spread onto a large cookie sheet.  (I used a hot air popcorn popper.)  Melt butter, sugar, and cinnamon in a microwave-safe bowl until sugar is dissolved and butter melted, 1 – 2 minutes.  Stir in vanilla extract.  Spoon butter mixture over popcorn and sprinkle with salt.  Toss to coat as many pieces of popcorn as you can.  Place in oven for 10 minutes.  Allow to cool completely.  If storing {not likely!}, place in an airtight container.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2009 6:27 am

    Mmm, perfect popcorn snack variation!

  2. September 16, 2009 6:47 am

    I’d be afraid of myself and what I’d be capable of if this was in front of me. Very dangerously good.

  3. September 16, 2009 8:46 am

    Okay, I’m going to try very hard to make this tonight as “dessert” for the kids. They’ve been so bummed that I’ve not been baking though understand it’s their fault with all the homework and practices every night. Think I might try a white chocolate drizzle on part of it to make it more “dessert-y”! :)

    Thanks Michelle!
    ~ingrid

  4. September 16, 2009 9:16 am

    if i like cinnamon? IF? good heavens, i can tell just by thinking about it that i’d eat my weight in this without realizing it! great idea, i’m ashamed it never occurred to me. :)

  5. September 17, 2009 3:40 am

    I absolutely love cinnamon, this looks like the perfect snack!!

  6. lisahudson permalink
    September 17, 2009 6:51 am

    Oh my gosh…as if popcorn, in and of itself, isn’t irresistable enough!!! We’ll be trying this one!

  7. sumshay permalink
    September 18, 2009 4:24 am

    Okay, I have to admit that I am not a fan of all the varietes of popcorn. Not cheese, not kettle corn, nacho, cajun, you name it. Good old butter and salt, just like the movie theater.
    However…
    You know I love, love, love cinnamon. And almost anything with cinnamon in it. So, now I’m tempted. But couldn’t I just skip the baking step? Just pour the cinnamon mix on top, shake it, and eat it warm and gooey. Mmmm…I’m drooling just thinking of warm buttery mess sticking to my fingers…

  8. woods4 permalink
    September 18, 2009 11:23 am

    i love spicing up popcorn – never tried cinnamon, i’ll have to

  9. oneordinaryday permalink*
    September 19, 2009 1:17 am

    Veggie Girl – Yea, that salty sweet combination is always a winner.

    Irina – I had to remove myself from the room too or I would have eaten it all.

    Ingrid – Good thinking with the drizzle. Nuts too, maybe?

    Grace – I know you are cinnamon-crazed. I actually thought of you when I was making this!! : )

    Natalie – I loved the cinnamon touch too. Yum.

    Lisa – It really was pretty darn tasty!

    sumshay – Yea, yea…. I love the traditional best too, but seriously. This was gooooood. I know you’d love it.

    ~Michelle

  10. oneordinaryday permalink*
    September 19, 2009 1:18 am

    woods – I’ve got a couple other recipes up my sleeve for popcorn too. Stay tuned!
    ~Michelle

  11. September 21, 2009 8:02 am

    This looks so perfect for an easy autumn snack. Yum! Roughly how much unpopped popcorn makes 8-10 c popped?

  12. September 21, 2009 11:28 pm

    This is a must try. Great for the incoming Fall weather and curling up next to the fire!

  13. oneordinaryday permalink*
    September 23, 2009 5:29 am

    Josh – I used roughly 2/3 cup of unpopped popcorn when I made this batch. Hope you like it!
    ~Michelle

  14. Karey permalink
    November 12, 2009 9:01 am

    I found your recipe via Tasty Kitchen and it was a big hit! Now if only there were more than two popcorn eaters in our house, I could make it more often! We need to have some more babies!

  15. Dani permalink
    November 22, 2009 10:18 am

    OH MY GOODNESS!!! Made this tonight and it lasted less than 20 minutes.

  16. March 9, 2011 6:03 pm

    Thanks for the link! This looks delicious! Printed it out and will make it soon. I’ve only made white chocolate popcorn which is also addictive. Basically pour melted white chocolate on your popcorn and add sprinkles…maybe green for st. patty’s day? Good stuff!

  17. December 21, 2011 1:35 pm

    Thanks again for sharing this on my wall on Facebook – I plan to make it for Friday, which is when I’ll be celebrating Christmas with my parents, so we’ll need some snacks that day! :)

  18. February 15, 2012 7:41 pm

    This was AMAZING thanks for being here so I could have this delicious recipe!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Cinnamon Popcorn « the Pabodys
  2. Cinnamon + Popcorn = God’s Favorite Snack | Prep & Circumstance

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 838 other followers