Skip to content

Double chocolate snack cake

September 18, 2009

Double Chocolate Snack Cake

My poor kids.  I’ve been kind of under the weather this week, and they’ve suffered for it.  No baked goods have been tucked into lunchboxes all week.  Poor things.  I don’t know how they managed.

Honestly, even I’ve been feeling the pangs of withdrawal, but mine have been from the baking, not so much the eating.  I was wanting to bake something for them that would be quick and easy so I didn’t have to spend a lot of time in the kitchen.  Really, I just wanted to veg out on the couch and read, but coming across this old newspaper recipe for chocolate snack cake changed my mind.

It’s one of those one-pan desserts where you mix it all up in the same pan you bake in.  No dirty dishes!  That’s definitely a selling point.  I had it mixed up and in the oven in no time flat.  I also had two very happy kids walking through the front door after school today.

Recipe:  Double Chocolate Snack Cake

1 2/3 c. all-purpose flour

1 c. brown sugar, packed

1/4 c. unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 c. water

1/3 c. vegetable oil

1 tsp. white vinegar

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

powdered sugar, optional

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  With a fork, mix flour, brown sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt in an ungreased 8 inch square baking pan.  Make a well in the center and add water, vegetable oil, vinegar, and vanilla.  Stir until mixture is thoroughly combined.  Sprinkle chocolate chips over top of batter.  Bake until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, about 35-40 minutes.  Cool completely.  Dust with powdered sugar.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2009 1:54 pm

    Right now, the one-dish recipe is a definite selling point for me. After today’s baking, I’m staring at a sea of dirty cups and bowls.

  2. September 18, 2009 2:23 pm

    Thanks for sharing! Anything with “double chocolate” is greatly welcomed right now.

  3. September 18, 2009 4:21 pm

    Wow! What a nice mom! But the one dish is definitely a selling point for me to make these this weekend!!

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 19, 2009 1:08 am

    Irina – Yep… same trouble around here. Where do these dirty dishes come from anyway?

    Kathy – You really can’t go wrong with “double” chocolate!

    Krystle – Ah, shucks. : ) It was the one-pan thing that won me over. I’ll definitely make it again – fast, easy, and the kids loved it.

    ~Michelle

  5. September 19, 2009 3:32 am

    That looks so decadent and delicious! I love that it’s mixed and baked in the same pan.

  6. September 19, 2009 8:02 am

    what do you mean, poor kids? they get to eat treats like this, so i don’t feel sorry for them for a second. :)

  7. September 19, 2009 2:49 pm

    Looks ever so good to me…yay for the lucky kids!

  8. September 20, 2009 12:22 am

    Forget lunch boxes! I want these for breakfast, lunch and dinner!

  9. September 21, 2009 11:26 pm

    Looks good and easy. I have been slacking in bake goods for my kids lunch boxes too. I have been giving them store bought cookies GASP!!! I’ll get it together soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 852 other followers