Skip to content

Pumpkin chili

October 4, 2009

Pumpkin Chili

We’ve had a gorgeous weekend here and today the sun was shining, but there was a definite feel of Fall in the air.  A good day for chili and cornbread.  I came across a recipe at Taste of Home for pumpkin chili and was eager to give it a try.  (I’ll share the cornbread recipe on another post.)

I followed the recipe except for not using as much ground beef as was called for, simply for lack of having that much at the time.  I liked the chili, but I think it needs some tweaking for next time.  I’m going to start with my usual chili recipe and just add the pumpkin and pumpkin pie spices to that and see if we like those results better.  Overall, I found it to be too salty and tomato-ey for my taste.  I know “tomato-ey” isn’t a word, but I don’t know how else to describe it, so just humor me.  I also think it needed another can of chili beans, but again… I didn’t have one.  I really enjoyed that layer of flavor the pumpkin puree brought to the whole mix, and it gave the chili a nice, smooth texture.  I think it has potential to become a keeper.

Recipe:  Pumpkin Chili

(from Taste of Home)

3 lbs. ground beef

1 medium onion, chopped

2 16-oz. cans chili beans, undrained

2 12-oz. bottles chili sauce

2 cans tomato soup, undiluted

1 c. pumpkin puree

2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. sugar

1 tsp. pepper

1 tsp. chili powder

In a large Dutch oven, cook beef and onion over medium heat until no longer pink; drain.  Stir in remaining ingredients.  Add water, if desired, to reduce thickness.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 1 hour.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2009 2:23 pm

    Sounds kinda interesting and would like to give it a try though I’ll wait for your tweaked recipe as I’m not keen on anything “tomato-ey”. I personally like more beans in mine than ground beef, too.
    ~ingrid

  2. October 4, 2009 2:52 pm

    Mmm I love Chili. Gave me an idea of what to have for dinner tomorrow. I think I even have the same sort of pumpkin that you’re using (in general what we call pumpkin and what you call pumpkin are different, I think.)
    I’ll let you know how it turns out (if I indeed do it… my memory is soooo bad these days.) You know all about baby brain so you understand… .

  3. Kitchen Goddess permalink
    October 4, 2009 3:15 pm

    I really like the sound of that, with a little adapting I think it could be a gem.

  4. October 4, 2009 10:45 pm

    i can tell your chili has a pretty unique texture, and i’m sure the pumpkin adds a great flavor too. subtle, but great. and if chocolate-y can be a word, so can tomato-ey. :)

  5. October 5, 2009 5:26 am

    I love the sound of this recipe. If an unsuspecting guest were to close her eyes and taste the chili would she notice the pumpkin flavor? Or is it very subtle? Just curious. :-) I would love to try this in my crockpot!

  6. October 5, 2009 3:12 pm

    I couldn’t find chili sauce (not a much used ingredient in the Jamaican diet!) but we used extra chili powder. It wasn’t bad; a good change for our dinner menu.

  7. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 7, 2009 10:15 am

    Ingrid – Try it w/ your own chili recipe. This one really is heavy on the tomato taste – kind of a ketchup thing going on. But still good. Makes no sense, does it? : )

    Kitchen Goddess – I totally agree.

    Grace – I did like the texture of this one. The pumpkin was just a great layer in there.

    kitchenbelle – No, I don’t think anyone could guess what you had in there. It’s subtle.

    ~ Michelle

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 7, 2009 10:17 am

    Lonely Scrapbooker – I actually think adding the chili powder instead was probably a good thing. I’m going to try it again with my usual chili, which has no soup or chili sauce in it. I’ll let ya know how it turns out. I’m glad you made it though! Did Bebel get her rainbow cake too?
    ~ Michelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 858 other followers