Skip to content

Spooky ghost meringues

October 24, 2009

Okay, so maybe spooky isn’t exactly the right word for these little ghosts.  There just isn’t a good ghoulish word for cute.  My Claudia is finally on the tail end of this rotten flu and is fever-free, and we’re both feeling stir crazy, so I thought I’d get into the kitchen today and keep us busy.

I’ve never worked much with meringue, so I wasn’t terribly sure how these ghosts would turn out, but I think they’re pretty good for a first-timer.  I wish I’d have had mini chocolate chips or black confetti sprinkles or something to use as eyes.  All I had that was the right shape were these pastel colors.  I also have no clue why my little ghosts look like they’ve come from the “old ghosts home.”  They are sooo wrinkled.  What’s up with that?  What’d I do?

I jazzed the flavor of my meringues up a smidge by adding some of my new chocolate extract.  We also dipped the bottoms (or their butts, according to my precious daughter) in some melted dark chocolate.  This was a much easier treat than I ever expected it to be.  The kitchenaid mixer was awesome and did all the work while Claudia and I watched.  The piping was a breeze too.  The hard part was waiting for them to bake.  It takes quite a while and we aren’t very patient when it comes to our baked goodies, but we managed to occupy ourselves with several episodes of Scooby-Doo.  Whatever it takes to get us through the day.  {shrug}

(If you feel overwhelmed by the idea of working with meringue, I suggest checking out the original post from 101 Cookbooks, because the author offers lots of good tips that came in handy.)

Recipe:  Spooky Ghost Meringues

(adapted from 101 Cookbooks)

2 egg whites, room temperature  (Room temperature will help you get the most volume.)

pinch of salt

pinch of cream of tartar

3/4 c. powdered sugar, sifted

1/4 tsp. chocolate extract, optional

tiny candies for eyes

1 dark chocolate candy bar, melted for dipping, optional

Preheat oven to 200 degrees and place oven rack in middle position.  Line baking sheet with Silpat or parchment paper.  Be sure that your mixing bowl and whisk attachment are clean and free from any grease or water.

Place egg whites, salt, cream of tartar, and chocolate extract in the bowl of your electric mixer.  Start whisking eggs at medium high speed.  When the whites are frothy and have increased in volume, start sprinkling sugar in a bit at a time, leaving the mixer on the entire time.  Whisking will take about 15-20 minutes.  Once the whisk is leaving a definitive trail in the meringue, start slowing the mixer speed down.  When you can lift the whisk and leave a stiff structured peak, you’re done.

Gently fill a pastry bag fitted with a large round tip (or snip the corner off a ziploc bag), using a spatula.  Pipe 12 ghost shapes on your prepared baking sheet.  Press small candies in for eyes.

Place the meringues in the oven for one hour.  After an hour, open the oven door an inch or two and cook for another 30 minutes.  Ghosts should not be gummy or wobbly after this point.  Turn off the oven and let meringues come to room temperature.

Melt chocolate and dip bottoms of ghosts into chocolate.  Return to baking sheet and place in refrigerator to set chocolate.  Store in airtight container.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 3:03 am

    These are hilariously fun! I giggled when I saw them at first – what a great idea!

  2. October 24, 2009 3:16 am

    What a great Halloween treat! Fantastic idea to dip them in chocolate =).

  3. October 24, 2009 3:55 am

    what a fun project, and what delightful results! i love the rainbow of eye colors, the dipping in chocolate, and yes, even the wrinkles. :)

  4. October 24, 2009 6:47 am

    I think they look so much more friendly with the colored sprinkles for eyes.

    And they do look like little old men. ha ha! These are so cute.

  5. Laurel permalink
    October 24, 2009 1:58 pm

    Oh my gosh, I thought you’d stolen my thunder and piped homemade marshmallow on chocolate cookies. Yummy! I wonder why your meringues cracked though, did they dry out? Did any of the undead stick around until dinner or were they merely daytime spooks? And I’m glad you didn’t have something dark for their eyes they look like ghosts of the lost with those lovely pastel eyes.

  6. October 24, 2009 9:13 pm

    omg !! totally love this idea .. must try!! very unique.. by the way im so happy to find your blog!! i find your posts very homey & RELAXING! wish ya the best

  7. grandy permalink
    October 25, 2009 2:43 am

    Like your ghost but your spider looks to real hanging off the smoothie!You know mommy doesn’t like spiders:)

  8. October 26, 2009 2:30 am

    I absolutely love these. They are just soooo cute!

  9. October 26, 2009 3:25 pm

    Your meringue came out fantastic! These are spookily adorable!

  10. October 27, 2009 9:22 am

    These are sooo cute and I like the varying colored eyes and one must definately have their butts dipped in chocolate! Very cute idea.

  11. November 2, 2009 2:45 pm

    It’s such a bummer I’ve been neglecting my Google Reader since we moved. These are WONDERFUL!!!! I have a soft spot for food that looks back at me ;) I love their butts too :) I might have to make them with the kids even though the big day has come and gone!

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Halloween, Guys! (are these neato, or what? ) :) - Cooking Forum

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 838 other followers