Skip to content

Fluffernutter cupcakes for Cupcake Hero :: peanut butter

November 8, 2009

Fluffernutter Cupcakes

Oh. My. Gosh.  The only people in the house when I was finishing up these cupcakes were Jim and me.  Thank goodness for small favors, because as soon as I had polished off my first fluffernutter cupcake, I must say there were some expletives flying around my kitchen.  Several colorful phrases, all in reference to how incredibly spectacular these cupcakes are.  Jim was teasing me about just posting my exact words on the blog and leaving it at that.  I just couldn’t do it.  This is a G-rated blog, after all.  And besides that… my mom reads it!  {Hi, Mom!}

So now that I’ve properly cleaned up my language, let me tell you about these cupcakes.  The cupcake is a rich peanut butter cupcake from Elinor Klivans’ great book, cupcakes! It’s fabulous all on its own.  But that just wouldn’t be Cupcake Hero worthy, would it?  When the cupcakes came out of the oven, I put some milk chocolate chips on top of each one and let them get all warm and soft.  I spread the chocolate around to cover the top and let it set up a little while I made the frosting.  If I’d have just stopped there, this would have been a delicious cupcake.  But, people, I have to tell you that a pile of fluffernutter frosting on top just makes you weak in the knees.  I’m talking sighs and yummy noises here.  It’s really that good.  Really.

So get your cupcake liners out and be sure to have some milk in the fridge, cause you’re gonna need it.  And you can thank me later.  And you will.  {smile}

Recipe:  Peanut Butter Cupcakes

(slightly adapted from cupcakes! by Elinor Klivans)

1 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

6 Tbsp. unsalted butter, room temperature

3/4 c. smooth peanut butter

1 c. packed dark brown sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1/2 c. milk, any fat content

milk chocolate chips or milk chocolate candy bar

fluffernutter frosting – recipe follows

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line 12 standard muffin cups with paper liners.  Whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl; set aside.

In bowl of mixer, on medium speed, beat the butter, peanut butter, and brown sugar until smoothly blended and lightened in color, about 1 minute.  Scrape down bowl and add egg and vanilla.  Beat for 1 minute until batter is smooth.  On low speed, alternately add flour mixture in 3 additions and milk in 2 additions, starting and ending with flour.  Mix until flour is incorporated and batter is smooth.

Fill each paper liner with a generous 1/4 c. of batter.  Bake until the tops feel firm and are lightly browned, and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 20-22 minutes.  There may be a few small cracks on top.

Remove cupcakes from oven and place a piece of a candy bar or several chocolate chips on top of each.  Allow chocolate to soften enough to spread.  Spread to cover top of cupcakes and allow to cool completely.  Frost with fluffernutter frosting.  These cupcakes are at their very tastiest when eaten fresh while the chocolate is slightly soft.

Recipe:  Fluffernutter Frosting

(adapted from The Recipe Link)

1 c. marshmallow fluff

1/2 c. creamy peanut butter

1/3 c. butter, softened

1/4 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1/4 tsp. salt

1 1/3 c. powdered sugar

1-2 Tbsp. milk

In mixer bowl, on low speed, combine fluff, peanut butter, butter, vanilla, and salt until blended.  Scrape down bowl, and add powdered sugar.  Beat until blended.  Add just enough milk to make frosting the desired consistency.

36 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2009 8:48 am

    Oh YUm these look and sound SO good!! Good luck!

  2. November 8, 2009 9:07 am

    These look like the home run they were! I considered this type of frosting too for my entry but decided to go for something else. Now that I know it’s amazing, I’ll have to try it down the road.

  3. November 8, 2009 11:41 am

    these look gorgeous!

    Michael

  4. November 8, 2009 12:00 pm

    mmm that does sound good – good luck in the comp :)

  5. November 8, 2009 8:24 pm

    ha ha! I’ve said some similar phrases after eating some of my creations. Sometimes I impress myself and I cuss like a sailor just to let my husband know about it. Glad I’m not the only one :-)

    These looks so good and I want a huge bowl of that frosting all to myself!

  6. November 9, 2009 2:32 am

    as a bonafide lover of all things marshmallow, i fully endorse this product. what an amazing creation, and i have no doubt that it caused voices to be raised in ecstasy. :)

  7. November 10, 2009 4:55 am

    Ha-ha! I so wish I could have heard you rant and RAVE about how spectacular these were! Of course, then I could have also tasted one for myself. :)

    Got my vote. Btw, Michelle, I love how you work marshmallows into many of your yummicilious desserts!
    ~ingrid

  8. oneordinaryday permalink*
    November 10, 2009 6:30 am

    Jen – Thanks!!

    Xiaolu – Great minds, right? Can’t wait to see your entry!

    Michael – Thank you!

    Alicia – Thanks!

    ~ Michelle

  9. oneordinaryday permalink*
    November 10, 2009 6:31 am

    Monica – Too funny! Sometimes “mmm mmm good” just doesn’t cut it. A great frosting deserves some colorful language, and this is definitely a great frosting! : )
    ~ Michelle

  10. oneordinaryday permalink*
    November 10, 2009 6:34 am

    Grace – Thanks for the endorsement. This is not a paid advertisement. : )

    Ingrid – I’m afraid I might have shocked you, Ingrid. It was a tad “sailor-like.”

    ~ Michelle

  11. November 10, 2009 8:50 pm

    Ha ha! I think I frightened Ingrid off by my language too :-)

  12. November 13, 2009 8:27 am

    These do look amazing! I have the cupcakes! book, and I’ll definitely be marking this page. The frosting sounds fantastic too.

  13. November 16, 2009 11:25 pm

    ooooo……..can i please bite into that frosting diving into a gorgeous cake!!!!

  14. November 18, 2009 10:48 am

    saw these bad boys on tastespotting–had to tell you they are fabulous!

  15. November 18, 2009 7:32 pm

    these look incredible! i love pb. i will have to try these.

  16. oneordinaryday permalink*
    November 19, 2009 4:24 am

    …Totally Baked Flickr Pro User says:…

    So I made them and my 7-year-old almost passed out from sheer food-euphoria! Absolutely delicious (now if I could only make them as pretty as yours). Thanks for the recipe! It will be added to my favs and made often.

  17. November 19, 2009 1:38 pm

    I can hear these calling my name! Can’t wait to try them. Thanks for posting. Cute blog.

  18. November 20, 2009 5:43 pm

    These look totally fab! Gotta make them for my son!

  19. February 10, 2010 6:35 am

    OH!! My mouth is watering and I have not had breakfast yet. I may have to make these for breakfast! Thanks for sharing :D

  20. Kristina permalink
    February 17, 2010 11:21 am

    I made these for my Aunt’s birthday and they were a HIT! I decorated a bit differently and didn’t do the whole chocolate on top thing. Wish I would have doubled the batch. Most def will give you credit on my blog!

    Cheers!
    -K

  21. November 7, 2010 7:54 pm

    Wow, these just look like the most amazing thing out there! Can’t wait to try!

  22. vickeroo permalink
    May 13, 2011 6:38 pm

    Can you do this with chunky peanut butter?

  23. oneordinaryday permalink*
    May 17, 2011 7:13 am

    Vickeroo – I don’t see why you couldn’t use chunky peanut butter in these cupcakes. I’d love to hear back from you when you’re finished baking (and eating!) them!
    ~ Michelle

  24. mic permalink
    September 26, 2011 4:39 pm

    a friend made these for me and i asked for the recipe. they were the best cupcakes I’ve ever had. really and truly. can’t wait to make them myself!

  25. one ordinary day permalink*
    October 5, 2011 1:36 pm

    Mic – Thank you so much for the kind compliment. And thank your friend for me too! : )
    ~ Michelle

  26. December 15, 2011 3:51 pm

    These look so delicious we might have to try them and feature them on our site!

    {http://www.dressmycupcake.com}

  27. one ordinary day permalink*
    December 18, 2011 7:45 am

    Maya – That’d be wonderful. Thanks for the compliment. They really were delicious!
    ~ Michelle

  28. Tracy permalink
    January 13, 2012 2:17 pm

    i know this is something like 2 years later, but i made these a little while back and they were FANTASTIC! huge hit amongst my book club buddies. i skipped the chocolate chips because we were doing a fluffernutter theme and i wanted to keep them more “pure” (whatever that means). but soooo good. thanks a bunch!

  29. sandra sheppard permalink
    January 24, 2012 4:48 pm

    I made the cupcakes,and i had an issue with them,i followed recipe to a tee,but in the oven they wouldnt rise and burnt around the edges.I figured it was my oven,so I asked the neighbor and i used her oven,same thing.What could I have been doing wrong? Help cause I sure want to make these.

  30. one ordinary day permalink*
    January 24, 2012 5:02 pm

    Hi, Sandra. I wish I had an answer for you about the cupcakes. I went back to my Elinor Klivans cookbook to double-check the recipe I posted and it’s copied correctly. Did you bake the same batch of batter in the two ovens or did you make a new batch for each? Just curious if maybe you left something out. I’m sorry they didn’t work out for you!
    ~ Michelle

  31. sandra sheppard permalink
    January 25, 2012 5:49 am

    it was the same batch,checked the date on the baking powder and that was good.dont worry though i will keep trying it,lol,they look too good to give up on.wish me luck. And thank you for responding.

  32. January 31, 2013 10:40 am

    Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe! I made these last night. I had made some banana butter cream for some flourless cupcakes that deflated. So I thought of a peanut butter cupcake with marshmallow fluff filling with my banana butter cream on top! When I was a child, my mom would give us peanut butter, fluff, and a banana slice on top of a ritz cracker. This cupcake recreated this childhood memory for me. Next time I will make your fluffernutter frosting for these cupcakes! Thanks again for an incredible peanut butter cupcake recipe!

  33. oneordinaryday permalink*
    February 1, 2013 8:50 am

    Maria – Thank you so much for leaving a comment about the fluffernutter cupcakes. :) You made my day!
    ~ Michelle

Trackbacks

  1. into another dimension » confections of a serial baker
  2. How to Make Edible Cupcake Stands | giverslog.com
  3. How to Make Edible Cupcake Stands | giverslog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 818 other followers