Skip to content

Peppermint white chocolate mocha

November 28, 2009

Peppermint White Chocolate Mocha

I have a sizable addiction to any combination of chocolate and peppermint, and especially to Starbucks’ Peppermint White Chocolate Mocha or Peppermint Mocha – hot or cold – it really doesn’t matter to me.  I long for the stuff.  I make up excuses to go to Target because there’s a Starbucks inside the store.  You just can’t beat shopping while sipping on a frappuccino.  Sometimes my sweet mom even sends me a Starbucks gift card in the mail… just because.  My adoration is great.  For my mom and for Starbucks.  But mostly for my mom, of course.

When I saw this recipe last winter, it practically sang to me.  Of course I had to try it, and it did not disappoint.    Pouring this into the blender made a nice froth that I topped with a little bit of whipped cream.  The recipe made one large serving so you might want to share with a friend.

Find a quiet corner, a warm blanket, and a really good book.  Now make yourself a steaming mug of this peppermint white chocolate mocha.  It’s also a great treat to enjoy while you decorate for the holidays.  Enjoy!

Recipe:  Peppermint White Chocolate Mocha

(adapted from Joy of Baking)

1 1/2 c. milk (any fat content will do)

3 oz. white chocolate, chopped  (make sure the ingredients include cocoa butter)

1 Tbsp. instant coffee or espresso powder

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1/4 – 1/2 tsp. pure peppermint extract

Place the milk in a small saucepan over medium heat until it is nice and hot.  Meanwhile, place the chopped white chocolate, instant coffee powder, and vanilla extract in your blender.

Pour the hot milk in the blender and process until nice and foamy.  Garnish with shaved chocolate or whipped cream.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2009 12:31 pm

    Lovely adoration and holiday beverage :)

  2. November 28, 2009 12:43 pm

    Mmm. I make excuses to go to Target too just so I can get a tall iced mocha. This would be perfect while decorating for the holidays.

  3. November 28, 2009 2:27 pm

    Yummy! What a great combo for winter. I like your placement of the candy cane too.

  4. November 28, 2009 10:05 pm

    yum yum!

    Michael

  5. November 29, 2009 6:14 am

    this is my most favorite starbucks beverage. in fact, it’s the only one on which i’ll spend my money. hot diggity–now i don’t have to buy them anymore!

  6. November 29, 2009 8:29 am

    Oh my. I’d like a large one of these right now!

  7. December 3, 2009 7:25 am

    I’ve never had one of those foo-foo coffee drinks before. :) I’m not sure why other than I don’t drink coffee. Now that I think about it I’m not certain why I don’t drink coffee either as I really enjoy coffee flavored desserts. (read, LOVE tiramisu!) They sure look good with their yummy tower of whipped cream and drizzles!
    ~ingrid

  8. Alley permalink
    December 14, 2009 4:21 am

    very good recipe. do you have to put both the vanilla and peppermint extract????

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 14, 2009 4:23 am

    Hi, Alley. I loved having the flavors of both extracts in this, but you can mix it up any way you like. It’ll still be yummy!
    ~ Michelle

  10. Alley permalink
    December 21, 2009 3:18 am

    Thank you. :)

  11. Bekah permalink
    November 14, 2010 4:50 pm

    When I made it the espresso powder didn’t dissolve or anything so there were little specks that ruined the drink :( Is there a way to prevent this? I tried to put it through a filter when I made it again today but it took a full hour to filter it and was very frustrating.

  12. oneordinaryday permalink
    November 14, 2010 5:48 pm

    Bekah – I’m sorry the mocha didn’t turn out well for you. I actually use instant coffee when I make it because I’ve never been able to find espresso powder around here, though the recipe calls for it. Give it a try w/ the instant coffee and you should see the same success I did. It really was good, so I hope you get the chance to enjoy it.
    ~ Michelle

  13. Erin permalink
    December 6, 2011 5:11 pm

    I tried this w/ instant coffee. Like Bekah, mine did not dissolve. Tried again but this time I brewed the coffee and poured it into the blender…not little chunks to chew on!! Thanks for the recipe!!

  14. madison permalink
    December 17, 2012 11:51 am

    how many servings does this item make??

Trackbacks

  1. Savvima » Peppermint White Chocolate Mocha @ Home

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 852 other followers