Skip to content

Chocolate-peanut butter-marshmallow fudge

December 22, 2009

My Mom’s Famous Fudge

Are you ready?  I’m about to let you in on a family secret.  It’s my mom’s fudge recipe.  This fudge is so well-known… so sought-after… so stinkin’ delicious, that I couldn’t call us friends if I wasn’t willing to share it with you.  Consider it my Christmas gift.

Seriously, I can’t even tell you the requests that come for this fudge.  The expectations of yumminess.  The oohs and ahhs of happiness.  I kid you not.  Try it.  You’ll see.  And you can thank my mom.

Recipe:  My Mom’s Fudge

1 stick of butter

3 c. granulated sugar

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

pinch of salt  (We’re talking the three-finger pinch here.)

pinch of flour

pinch (drizzle) of light corn syrup

3 Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder

1 c. evaporated milk

1/2 c. water

1 c. creamy peanut butter

1 c. marshmallow fluff

1 c. chopped walnuts, optional  (These aren’t really optional in my opinion, but Bea can’t eat walnuts, so there are always some batches made without.)

Butter a 9×9 baking pan.  Cook first 9 ingredients over low-medium heat until fudge forms a soft ball when dropped into cold water.  (This stage can be determined by dropping a spoonful of hot syrup into a bowl of very cold water.  Use your fingers to gather the cooled syrup into a ball.  If it is at the soft ball stage, it should easily form a ball, then flatten once it is removed from the water.  I don’t have the patience for this method, so I just cook mine until it registers between 235-240 degrees on a candy thermometer.)  Remove from heat.  Stir in peanut butter, marshmallow fluff, and walnuts.  Pour immediately into prepared pan and allow to cool completely before cutting.

(Can be frozen too!)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 8:40 am

    Thanks SO much for sharing this family secret recipe, it sounds amazing!! Look forward to making it!

  2. December 23, 2009 5:15 am

    Thanks for the fudge recipe! I have never tried to make fudge but if you’re saying it’s as good as it is… well, I just have to try it!

  3. December 23, 2009 1:18 pm

    mmm fudgy :D

  4. December 23, 2009 4:05 pm

    Cocoa, peanut butter and marshmallow fluff! No wonder you like it so much. Thank you and your mom for sharing!

  5. December 23, 2009 11:34 pm

    this is fudge done right. as far as i’m concerned, chocolate fudge without marshmallow and peanut butter is just worthless. :)

  6. December 24, 2009 5:46 am

    I’m still at work but hope to get home with time to give this a try. It sounds good and you know I’m not fond of chocolate. I think its the fluff….ha-ha! Thanks, Michelle’s Mom!
    ~ingrid

  7. December 24, 2009 8:18 am

    You are right, our fudge methods are quite different. In any case, your fudge looks outrageously good and dense and satisfying. Peanut butter is hard to beat. Have a fantastic holiday!

  8. Dani permalink
    December 27, 2009 1:48 am

    This is ULTRA amazing fudge!

  9. December 27, 2009 7:05 pm

    Thanks for letting us in on the secret. This looks so thick and ridiculously delicious!

  10. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 3, 2010 11:20 am

    Hi, all! On behalf of my mom, I thank you. It really, truly is the best fudge on the planet!!! : )

    ~ Michelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 858 other followers