Skip to content

Beef and lentil soup

January 4, 2010

Beef and Lentil Soup

The start of a new year inevitably means eating healthier, doesn’t it?  For me, it’s just that we indulged and overindulged over the holidays, and I want to have more energy and less carb-induced couch potato-ness.  Of course, that could cut into my Super Mario Bros. time, but I’m willing to risk it.

This soup began as a Giada recipe from Food Network.  I have to say, that it seems like more work went into it than taste came out of it.  We had it for dinner over the weekend, and neither of the kids would do much more than “one bite to be polite.”  Sam ate the beef.  Claudia ate the carrots.  Great.  There was still a bunch of soup left, and Jim and I both thought it was just totally ordinary, so I ended up adding some curry powder to it and heating it up a little longer.  The leftovers ended up being way better than the original.

In light of my tweaks, I’ve changed the recipe to account for the addition.  Now I feel better about recommending it.  And all that being said, if you’re looking for lentil recipes that are really wonderful, please check out these past posts, cause they are definite keepers:  Lentil Sausage Soup and Stewed Lentils and Tomatoes.  (Just don’t judge either of them by the unflattering photos…. they weren’t very cooperative models!)

Recipe:  Lentil Soup

(adapted from Food Network)

2 Tbsp. olive oil

1 1/2 lbs. beef stew meat, cut into 1″ cubes

salt and freshly ground pepper

3 celery stalks, chopped

3 large carrots, peeled and chopped

1 large onion, chopped

6 garlic cloves, diced

1 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning

1 1/2 tsp. dried thyme

1 1/2 tsp. ground curry powder (mild)

1 28-oz. can of diced tomatoes in juice

8 c. beef broth

2 c. dried lentils, rinsed

Heat the oil in a large, heavy pot over medium/high heat.  Add the beef and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Brown the beef for 5-8 minutes, then add the vegetables and spices to the pot.  Continue cooking until onions are translucent.  Add the broth and tomatoes with their juice.  Bring the soup to a boil.  Reduce heat to medium/low.  Cover and simmer until meat is tender, about 1 hour.  Add the lentils.  Cover and continue simmering until lentils are tender, about 40-45 minutes.  Season soup with additional salt and pepper.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 6:15 am

    I think curry is a great way to (literally) spice lentils up. They can be a little dull. The soup certainly looks pretty (and I like that little striped tablecloth–very pretty!)

  2. January 4, 2010 8:29 am

    so many times i tweak and tweak and tweak until the original recipe is completely unrecognizable. although curry isn’t my thing, i’m glad you were able to improve upon giada’s idea!

  3. January 5, 2010 4:45 am

    That looks lovely and wholesome !

  4. January 5, 2010 7:36 am

    Okay, soup just doesn’t do much for me. The kids on the other hand love the stuff. BUT I do have a funny story to share to make up for my lack of excitement. The very first time I made 12 bean soup the kiddos asked what I was making for dinner. Well, when I told them 12 bean soup Babygirl must have been curious because she promptly went to the pot, pulled off the lid, and started counting. After she counted the 12th bean she shouted excitedly, Mama there’s MORE than 12 beans in here! LOL! Guess this is one of those times when you had to be there. :)
    ~ingrid

  5. January 5, 2010 3:23 pm

    This photo came out really nice. I would love this soup. As you know I like clean, healthy, yummy meals for my day to day high energy eating. This would fit perfectly in my meal plan. U got me thinking that I need to make more soups!
    Ever notice that we both have the same WordPress theme? I like it, clean looking, simple and you can customize it just right :)
    I shipped your Scharffen Berger goodies yesterday….you should have it in a few days. Yippee!!

  6. March 9, 2012 4:47 pm

    After exploring a number of the blog articles on your web site, I truly like your way of writing a blog. I added it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back in the near future. Please check out my web site as well and tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 855 other followers