Skip to content

Whole wheat pumpkin muffins with cream cheese glaze

January 14, 2010

Whole Wheat Pumpkin Muffins with Cream Cheese Glaze

I made a pumpkin smoothie the other day and found myself with some extra pumpkin puree on my hands.  I saw this recipe at Recipe Girl and had no doubt that my leftover pumpkin needed to become muffins.  Not only muffins, but muffins with cream cheese glaze drizzled on top.  Oh baby.  But as decadent and delicious as these muffins are, they have the added benefit of being made with whole wheat flour.  Doesn’t that make you feel better about indulging a little?

As always, Lori’s recipe did not disappoint.  If anything, it exceeded all my expectations.  It’s not only lovely to look at, but it just melts in your mouth.  I cut some squares from parchment paper and used those as liners, and I love how pretty the muffins look in them.  And that glaze???  Oh mercy.  I’d like a small bowl of that next to my muffin so I can double-dip til my hearts content.  It is delightful.  All and all, this is one winning recipe.

Recipe:  Whole Wheat Pumpkin Muffins with Cream Cheese Glaze

(slightly adapted from Recipe Girl)

Muffins:

1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1 1/2 Tbsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/2 c. unsalted butter, melted

1/2 c. granulated sugar

1/2 c. packed light brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1/2 c. half and half   (Original recipe calls for 1/4 c. milk and 1/4 c. heavy cream.)

1 c. pumpkin puree

Cream Cheese Glaze:

1 c. powdered sugar

2 oz. softened cream cheese

dash of ground cinnamon

dash of milk, for thinning glaze

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray muffin tin with nonstick cooking spray.  (Spray the top of the pan and the cups, in case muffins expand over the top of each cup.)

In a medium bowl, whisk together flours, baking powder, salt, pumpkin pie spice, and cinnamon.  In a larger bowl, use mixer to cream butter and sugars together.  Mix in eggs and vanilla.  Add dry ingredients, alternating with half and half.  Stir in pumpkin puree last, being careful not to overmix.

Divide batter between muffin cups.  (Lori got 12 muffins, I got 16.) Bake 25-30 minutes.  (Because my tin was less full, my muffins baked for 18-20 minutes.) A toothpick inserted in the center should come out clean.  Cool muffins in the baking pan for 15 minutes before transferring them to a wire rack to cool completely.

For glaze, mix all ingredients in a small bowl.  Drizzle glaze over muffin tops.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2010 11:19 am

    Michelle terrific photos! Your muffins look so sweet in those parchment liners and tied with the pretty ribbon! Very nice! Between you and Monica I guess I better step my photos up! :)

    Btw, I like how you think. I’d go for a side of glaze too.
    ~ingrid

  2. January 14, 2010 12:21 pm

    Hands down some of my favorite muffins- pumpkin! Love the glaze and whole wheat-ness :)

  3. foododelmundo permalink
    January 14, 2010 3:25 pm

    Mercy is right – LAWSY MERCY these look awsome – I need to make me some NOW!

  4. January 14, 2010 11:10 pm

    for me, these are rescued by that ever-enjoyable cream cheese glaze. it can cover the pumpkin flavor and replace it with something i enjoy much more! :)
    they’re lovely scones for the pumpkin-lover. :)

  5. January 15, 2010 6:28 am

    Your pumpkin muffins looks so pretty all dressed up like that. I have got to start making muffins- so good on a cold day with a cup of tea!

  6. January 16, 2010 2:03 am

    Excellent photos! Yes, these pumpkin muffins do look great. I am such a fan of whole wheat for health and the flavor, great call there! And the dipping idea……oh yum!

  7. January 16, 2010 9:59 pm

    Right. Now I feel like I’m totally missing out. Must. make. some.

  8. January 17, 2010 7:14 pm

    That first photo is lovely. And these sound delicious!

  9. January 22, 2010 7:05 am

    I love anything pumpkin and your awesome photos make these look irristable! Love it! Gotta make me some soon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers