Skip to content

Roasted chickpeas

January 28, 2010

Roasted Chickpeas

I have tried to make roasted chickpeas more times than I care to count, and for whatever reason, I never bothered to actually look at anyone else’s recipe to see what oven temperature to use or anything.  I just wing it every time, and every time, my roasted chickpeas end up in the trash.  Okay, lesson learned.  This time,  I actually looked around at a bunch of different recipes, and I finally got it right.

Recipe:  Roasted Chickpeas

1 can of chickpeas, rinsed, drained, and dried

1 Tbsp. olive oil

sea salt

Preheat oven to 400 degrees, and line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper.  Toss rinsed, drained, and dried chickpeas with olive oil.  Spread in single layer on baking sheet.  Check on chickpeas every 10 minutes and give the pan a shake so chickpeas are cooked evenly.  Remove from oven after 30 minutes and toss with a generous sprinkling of sea salt.  Best enjoyed a little warm from the oven.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 5:06 am

    Thanks for posting this! These seem to be all the rage. My favorite restaurant here serves them as a little snack when you sit down and they are absolutely addictive. I need to try making them myself, so thank you!

  2. January 28, 2010 1:05 pm

    Is this crunchy, like a snack? I love chickpeas and I love salt… hmmm… (plus it’s so easy!)

  3. January 28, 2010 3:38 pm

    That’s pretty funny. Why didn’t you check out a recipe sooner? Is that hard-headedness the female version of guys not wanting to stop and ask directions? LOL :) They look pretty good. What do they taste like?!
    ~ingrid

  4. January 29, 2010 1:29 am

    I love Roasted Chickpeas. They are such a great snack! Funny how something so simple can be so easy to goof up! I need to make these again, chickpeas are so healthy.

  5. January 29, 2010 1:53 am

    roasted chickpeas. trash. say it ain’t so! glad you finally got it right, as these are one of the finest snacks around. :)

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 29, 2010 3:31 am

    Yep, the chickpeas get all nice and crunchy like a nut when you roast them. I don’t care for them the next day because I don’t think they keep the same texture, but when they are freshly roasted they’re really good. Try them! : )
    ~ Michelle

  7. February 3, 2010 8:19 am

    I am totally intrigued. I have never heard of these before! I will have to give them a try.

  8. February 5, 2010 7:56 am

    Mmm, these look so yummy! I’m going to make them. I just found your blog and your food looks yummy! Stop by and visit me sometime. I’m going to follow you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 858 other followers