Skip to content

Chicken tortilla soup

February 3, 2010

Chicken Tortilla Soup

Being the ever-thoughtful wife, I …

Hang on a minute.  I have to stop laughing and catch my breath.  Oh, come on.  I’m just kidding.  I really am thoughtful, but if Jim reads this post, he might have something to say about the “ever” part.

So anyway, Jim’s been asking for hearty soups for lunch.  It’s convenient to make a big pot of soup, then dole it out into single portions and freeze them for another time.  At work, he just pops one in the microwave and gets a nice filling lunch.  And healthy too.

I haven’t made this before, but he really liked it.  It’s a bit spicy for me, but if you’d like to do a less spicy version, just use a green pepper instead of the chipotle peppers.  Squeezing a little lime juice on at the table really adds a nice touch.

Recipe:  Chicken Tortilla Soup

(adapted from Back to the Cutting Board)

2 tsp. olive oil

1 large onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 Tbsp. chili powder

1/2 tsp. paprika

1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

1/4 tsp. dried oregano

1 1/2 tsp. ground cumin

1/2 tsp. tumeric

1 tsp. kosher salt

1 tsp. black pepper

1 Tbsp. dried cilantro leaves  (I didn’t have any fresh, or I would have tossed in a handful of freshly chopped cilantro.)

1 large can of diced tomatoes (do not drain)

2 carrots, peeled and chopped

2-3 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, diced  (or 1 large green pepper for a less spicy version)

4 c. chicken broth

12 oz. frozen corn

1 can of black beans, rinsed and drained

2-3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cooked and shredded

Mexican cheese blend and tortillas, for garnish

lime wedges, optional

fresh cilantro, for garnish, optional

Heat olive oil in a large pot over medium heat.  Cook onions until translucent.  Add garlic and cook another 1-2 minutes.  Add the spices (except cilantro) and heat for an additional minute.   Next, add cilantro, tomatoes, carrots, peppers, chicken broth, frozen corn, black beans, and shredded chicken.  If soup is too thick, add up to 1 c. water to thin it a little.  Simmer, partly covered, for 1 hour.

When ready to serve, place tortilla on baking sheet and broil until brown and crispy.  Cool slightly and break into pieces.  Ladle soup into bowl, top with tortilla pieces and Mexican blend shredded cheese.  Squeeze a wedge of lime over soup just before eating.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 1:38 am

    I love the idea of the chipotle peppers in this soup. It is hard to always be thoughtful….but it sounds like u r doing a great job! I always need to remind my husband the same :)

  2. February 3, 2010 3:02 am

    Michelle this soup looks amazing! Tortilla soup is one of my favorites! Sounds like your a great wife! :)

  3. February 3, 2010 6:20 am

    Yummy. This soup sounds great. You are a good spouse! I would have just told mine to make the soup her/himself haha..

  4. February 3, 2010 8:16 am

    Ha, ha… My husband might question the ‘ever’ part too. I do love him all the time, but sometimes expressing it seems to take a backseat to everything else. Do you think that if I make him this soup I would redeem myself? ;)

  5. February 3, 2010 11:46 am

    Nice wife! This soup looks lovely. I just made tortilla soup for the very first time recently and have been thinking about it ever since–we just loved it! My recipe is a little different than this but yours looks equally delicious!

  6. February 3, 2010 12:24 pm

    Another fan of freezing large batches of soup – always good for when you can’t be bothered cooking!

  7. February 3, 2010 12:59 pm

    If only I had a big bowl of that right now. It’s cold and wet here and this would be perfect!

  8. February 4, 2010 1:56 am

    no, i want it spicy! and don’t lie, michelle–i’m sure you’re a super-thoughtful wife nearly all of the time. :)

  9. oneordinaryday permalink*
    February 4, 2010 1:58 am

    Haha!
    You all are so nice. I’m gonna have to get Jim to read your comments!! You are good for a girl’s self-esteem. Thanks!

  10. February 4, 2010 3:04 am

    Chicken + tortilla + GORGEOUS shot = perfect!

  11. February 4, 2010 3:31 pm

    I made it! And it was DELICIOUS. I also added a dollop of sour cream on top. Yum!

  12. February 5, 2010 3:10 am

    LOL, I’m not even going to start with you because it would be the “pot calling the kettle black”.

    The soup looks great and I love spicy food.

    Hey, Michelle do you have to let the (any)soup defrost some before nuking it? And do you freeze and nuke in plastic? What’s your thoughts on that? I’ve heard & read both are major no-no’s. Thanks!
    ~ingrid

  13. oneordinaryday permalink*
    February 5, 2010 12:46 pm

    Lonely Scrapbooker – Yea for you! I’m glad you finally made one of my recipes, Diana! : ) And even happier that you like it!

    Ingrid – The plastic container stuff is hard to figure out. I know that some folks say not to reheat in them, but we do anyway. But really just for Jim and me, not for the kids. If I had frozen spaghetti sauce or something that we were all eating, I do transfer that to a pot to reheat it, but for single servings of things like soup, I don’t bother to do that. You’ve got me thinking though, and I’m going to read up on it more. : )

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 840 other followers