Skip to content

Cinnamon roll pancakes

February 6, 2010

Cinnamon Roll Pancakes

Let me set the scene…

We’re snowed in this morning, with at least 20 inches of snow so far, and still more falling.  It’s gorgeous.  That’s saying a lot coming from me because I was so ready to track that groundhog down and do him some serious harm when I heard about this storm.  But now that it’s here, it’s kinda nice.  A deep blanket of snow makes everything beautiful.  Not that I’m going to be feeling like this by Monday.  Next week I want to see crocuses popping through the ground, darn it.  For today, though, this is okay with me.

Jim’s made me feel so self-conscious about this post.  He said I’m going to make it sound picture-perfect.  A snowy day… big family breakfast… him and Sam cooking together… a Norman Rockwell morning.

I offered to let him write the post, but he won’t, so I guess I’m gonna have to give you the real story.  We are snowed in.  That’s the truth.  Sam and Jim did start out cooking together, but Sam got tired of it after measuring out the ingredients and quit.  Jim burned the first brown sugar mixture, so I made the second batch.  The rest of the meal went something like this:  Sam didn’t like the pancakes… Claudia ate them but insisted on glaze and syrup, but no apples…  Jim’s lovely stack of pancakes were cold by the time I got done taking pictures of them… I ate mine standing in front of the counter… And the kids were wrestling around in the living room for a large portion of that time.

So there you have it.  I’d like to see the painting Norman Rockwell could have made of that!  {he he}  As for the pancakes, they were wonderful.  Definitely a special treat and something you could make for guests that would knock their socks off.  All on their own or with plain old syrup, these pancakes were pretty ordinary.  But topped with the apple and walnut mixture and drizzled in frosting?  Just delicious!

Recipe:  Cinnamon Roll Pancakes

(adapted from Inn Cuisine)

Pancakes:

1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1/4 c. whole wheat flour

1 1/2 Tbsp. granulated sugar

1/4 tsp. kosher salt

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 Tbsp. ground cinnamon

1 egg, beaten

1/2 c. buttermilk  (can substitute with milk)**

1 Tbsp. light corn syrup

2 Tbsp. melted butter

1/2 Tbsp. pure vanilla extract

Topping:

1 apple, peeled, cored, and diced

1 Tbsp. butter

2 Tbsp. packed light brown sugar

1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1/4 c. chopped walnuts

Drizzle:

1 c. powdered sugar

1 1/4 tsp. pure vanilla extract

3-4 tsp. milk

Pancakes:

Combine all dry ingredients in large bowl; whisk.  In another bowl, whisk together all wet ingredients for the pancakes.  Pour wet mixture into dry mixture, stirring gently until just combined.  **(If using buttermilk, batter may be too thick.  Just add additional regular milk by the tablespoon to thin.  If using regular milk, batter may need to rest and thicken for about 10 minutes.)

Topping:

Melt butter in a heavy saucepan over low heat.  Stir in brown sugar and cinnamon until smooth.  Add apples; cover and cook over low heat for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Set aside while you cook pancakes.

Drizzle:

Combine all three ingredients in a bowl and whisk until smooth.  Start with 3 tsp. of milk and add more milk as necessary to achieve desired consistency.

Cook pancakes by dropping 1/4 cupfuls of batter onto hot griddle.  To serve, top with apple/walnut mixture, then drizzle with icing.  Makes 8 pancakes, but doubles easily.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2010 7:39 am

    That is simply amazing looking! Might be breakfast-for-dinner here tonight!

  2. gail permalink
    February 6, 2010 7:59 am

    i love the honesty…that’s what our saturday morning breakfasts are usually like!

  3. bexbakes permalink
    February 6, 2010 8:36 am

    We’re snowed in too and those look delicious! Maybe for tomorrow morning…

  4. February 6, 2010 9:13 am

    Oh man! Man, oh, man, oh, MAN! I have to make these!!! And that sounds exactly like mornings at our house!

  5. February 6, 2010 9:18 am

    Sounds like a fun family breakfast anyway! Isn’t that the way a real family is? I can’t wait to try them, the picture looks so yummy! Tell Jim thanks for taking one for blogland and eating his pancakes cold!

  6. February 6, 2010 11:20 am

    sam didn’t like them? aliens must’ve invaded his body because there’s nothing in the world that could keep me from eating my weight in these beauties. as long as the pancakes are in the background, the scene is perfect to me. :)

  7. February 6, 2010 1:31 pm

    We got the snow too.. Not as much as you though! We only had about 8-12 inches total, but I wish I would have known about these pancakes yesterday while I sat at home snowed in! lol and you know you’ve got a good recipe when I exclaim “Cinnamon Roll Pancakes!” as I see the title and my boyfriend yells “That sounds AWESOME!!” from the other room.

  8. February 6, 2010 2:19 pm

    WOAH!!! INTENSE pancakes!! So intense, that I must try this out. Thanks for posting this!! Stay warm!

  9. February 6, 2010 2:22 pm

    If this was a Pavlovian experiment then you have succeeded…..I am definitely salivating over these beautiful pictures. Pancakes are the best food in the whole entire world and this recipe HAS to be tried! Thanks!

  10. February 6, 2010 3:10 pm

    Oh my goodness now that is one amazing stack of pancakes! drool worthy!!

  11. February 6, 2010 3:56 pm

    O…M….G….I need a cold shower! :)

  12. Evie permalink
    February 7, 2010 6:18 am

    That’s just lovely, Aunt Shell. {eye rolling inserted here} Really, Uncle Jim! :) 20 in. of snow!? We have splotches of it every 5 ft. apart! Well, I hope you had a good time. Love you! -Evie

  13. February 7, 2010 12:07 pm

    We got 22 inches! Amazingly, I was still able to bake a ton. Even with having no power for 37 hours or so… but these are next on my breakfast list!
    ~Sherry

  14. February 7, 2010 2:19 pm

    Pancakes, topping and drizzle…girl you are killing me here! This is truly decadent. I wouldn’t be picky, I would eat it all. Every bite! Hope you weathered the storm!

  15. February 8, 2010 5:33 am

    Love the sound of that apple topping! We’re big pancake fans, and the CSA keeps bringing us apples, so this will probably end up on next weekend’s menu.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  16. kateohkatie permalink
    February 8, 2010 8:35 am

    Oh my gosh those look amazing! I know what we’re making this weekend :-)

  17. February 8, 2010 2:19 pm

    I reeeeally like it when recipes combine many delicious things together to make one grand delicious thing. That cinnamon roll pancake looks simply so tasty!

  18. February 9, 2010 7:31 am

    My hubby will love you (and hopefully me) forever if I make him these!

  19. February 9, 2010 4:59 pm

    Lemme get this straight. The pancakes were just okay by themselves but with all the goodies on top they were a knock out? Well, that’s a bummer. I was hoping the pancakes on their own were off the hook. I’m not too crazy about warm mushy fruit. The kids on the other hand looooove it. So what’s the final verdict? Thumbs up or down? To roll or not to roll? :)
    ~ingrid

  20. February 10, 2010 1:49 pm

    I want a big-o-stack of these right now. But since I can’t make them I’m going to have to rely on your picture.

    Hope you’re able to get out of the snow, especially after today!

  21. March 6, 2011 1:29 am

    WOW! I made a cinnamon roll pancake this morning and blogged it, but it was a little more simple Im afraid. Mine were a really nice fluffy pancake batter base, with a swirl of cinnamon roll filling swirled on while cooking. The swirl part gets a bit cripsy like cinnamon toast does..SO GOOD. Then topped it all off with a cream cheese cinnamon roll type pourable icing. SO good! Your’s look really delish and interesting…thinking they might be next!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 853 other followers