Skip to content

Whole wheat pizza bites

February 11, 2010

Pizza Bites

I saw pizza bites over at Annie’s Eats and had to try them.  Coming off of my yeast high from the pretzel success, I was totally ready to dive into another project and make my own pizza dough.  I looked around and found what just might be the easiest pizza dough recipe ever at Oprah.com.  It’s a one-bowl, no fuss kind of recipe.  And it tastes good.

The pizza bites are a great idea, but I put too much cheese in some of them.  I don’t think brushing them with olive oil is quite flavorful enough though.  They need a little something else.  Next time, I’d definitely melt some butter with a little crushed garlic and brush that on top instead.  Then top it with the Italian seasoning and Parmesan and I think it’d be a huge hit.

Recipe:  Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

(adapted slightly from Oprah.com)

2 1/2 c. whole wheat flour

1 c. all-purpose flour

2 packages dry active yeast

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. sugar

1 1/2 c. lukewarm water

1 tsp. olive oil

cornmeal, if using dough for a pizza

Place flours, yeast, salt, and sugar in a stand mixer fitted with a dough hook.  While the mixer is turned to low, gradually add water and knead on low speed until dough is firm and smooth, about 8-10 minutes.  As soon as dough begins to stick, turn it off.  Remove bowl from stand, drizzle olive oil around sides of bowl and turn dough to coat.  Cover bowl with plastic wrap and let rise in a warm spot until doubled, about 2 hours.

Pizza Bites directions:

(idea from Annie’s Eats)

1/2 batch of pizza dough
about 4 oz. mozzarella cheese, cubed (about 16-20 pieces)
Sliced pepperoni or other fillings, optional

Preheat the oven to 400˚ F.  Lightly grease a 9-inch pie plate or cake pan.  Divide the pizza dough into 16-20 roughly equal sized pieces.  Take one of the dough pieces, top with a cube of cheese and toppings.  Pull the edges of the dough around the fillings and pinch closed.  Place seam-side down in the baking dish.  Repeat with the remaining dough pieces.  Annie suggests brushing the tops with olive oil, Italian seasoning, and Parmesan cheese.  Next time, I’m going to add a clove of crushed garlic to melting butter and brush that over dough instead, before sprinkling with Italian seasoning and Parmesan cheese.  Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until tops are golden brown.  Serve warm, with pizza sauce or ranch dressing for dipping.

Pizza directions:

Preheat your oven to highest setting, 500° or 550°F. If using a pizza stone, place stone in oven on bottom rack, preheat oven one hour ahead. Punch dough down, cut in half. On generously floured work surface, place one half of dough.

By hand, form dough loosely into a ball, stretch into a circle. Using a floured rolling pin, roll dough into large circle until very thin. Don’t worry if your circle isn’t perfect and if you get a hole; just pinch edges back together.

To prevent dough from sticking to counter, turn dough over, add flour to dough, counter and rolling pin as needed. Sprinkle pizza peel or cookie sheet generously with cornmeal. Transfer dough to pizza peel or cookie sheet with no lip. Add toppings.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 6:08 am

    I agree with you they need an extra boost of flavor; brushing garlic-flavored butter on the top is a great idea! I’m eager to try your WW version!

  2. February 11, 2010 6:30 am

    Mmm these sound so good! I’ll have to stop by the grocery store tonight after work and grab some mozzarella to make these tomorrow on my day off! Thanks for the great recipe!

  3. February 11, 2010 8:16 am

    These pizza bites sound great. I wonder how they would turn out with 100% whole wheat flour??

  4. February 11, 2010 8:38 am

    mmmm…these look good! too much cheese…no way! I bet that made them extra delicious!

  5. February 11, 2010 12:13 pm

    This looks fantastic!! Great photo!

  6. February 11, 2010 10:36 pm

    wait, is there such a thing as too much cheese? i love this idea, and i’m kind of excited that oprah has an awesome pizza dough recipe. :) your ideas to improve the overall flavor are great!

  7. February 12, 2010 3:31 am

    I just wanna pull a piece right off and dunk it in that sauce in the background! Yum!

  8. February 12, 2010 8:39 pm

    Too much cheese? is that even possible? I’ve seen these around and they look delicious. I’ve been dying to try them!

  9. February 13, 2010 1:45 pm

    Great recipe and a beautiful photo. I found your blog through Photograzing. What a pleasant find! I really like it and subscribed. Keep up the good work.

  10. February 13, 2010 5:15 pm

    I just love the idea of these! Too much cheese? Are you sure that’s possible?? And after trying my hands at pretzels too, well, I’ve gotten a bit of a big head now. I think I’d be able to conquer this recipe as well!

  11. February 14, 2010 9:23 am

    I saw these over at Annies and thought they’d be a big hit at my house.

    Don’t you love that no fear baking vibe we have right now? I say bring it all on….ha-ha!
    ~ingrid

  12. February 19, 2010 10:48 am

    Wow, this looks like such a simple treat! I WILL be making these!

  13. March 22, 2010 12:35 am

    frumos rau , bravos!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 817 other followers