Skip to content

Jamaican coffee soda

March 6, 2010

Jamaican Coffee Soda

Root beer float, move over.  There’s a new drink in town.  This is called a Jamaican coffee soda, but I will rely on my friend to let us know in the comments whether this really is a Jamaican specialty or not.  {Diana…. what do you think?}  Either way, this is a cold, tasty treat and a really nice way to enjoy your ice cream.  Not that I’ll give up my trusty root beer floats, but I can definitely see enjoying this on hot summer nights.

Recipe:  Jamaican Coffee Soda

(from Good Housekeeping)

Yields two drinks

1/4 c. Kahlua or other coffee-flavored liqueur

1 Tbsp. instant coffee granules or powder

2 tsp. sugar

1 10-oz. bottle club soda, chilled

1 pint vanilla ice cream, slightly softened

Into each of two tall 14-oz. glasses, measure 2 Tbsp. Kahlua, 1 1/2 tsp. instant coffee granules, and 1 tsp. sugar.  Stir until coffee dissolves.  Pour about 1/4 c. club soda into each glass and stir into coffee mixture.  Add ice cream.  Slowly pour the remaining club soda over the ice cream.  Top with whipped cream and sprinkle with grated chocolate, if desired.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2010 12:03 pm

    This is brilliant. I’ll take on right now! Great photo too.

  2. March 6, 2010 2:12 pm

    I’ll have one without alcohol, please!!! This looks fantastic!!! I must try this out.

  3. March 6, 2010 5:10 pm

    Looks like a drink my coffee lovin’ honey would enjoy! :)
    ~ingrid

    Btw, you’ve been awfully quiet. You’re not baking illegally again are you? LOL! Everytime I click over here those yummilicious bagels slap me in the face! :)

  4. March 7, 2010 8:27 am

    this takes my beloved iced coffee to a stupendous level! wow, what a treat–caffeine, calories, and contentment all at once. :)

  5. March 7, 2010 4:41 pm

    This looks delish. Hmmm… I have a sore throat… Don’t you think this could be considered ‘medicine’? ;)

  6. March 8, 2010 7:01 am

    Sounds delicious! Coffee and ice cream…perfect combo!

  7. March 8, 2010 7:03 am

    This looks so great! My mouth is watering. I love cold coffee drinks – so much that I have given them up for lent. I will be back to try this right after Easter!

  8. March 8, 2010 2:07 pm

    Very interesting that they call this Jamaican when there’s NOTHING Jamaican in it! Nor do we drink anything like this. Apparently we invented coffee liqueur, under the brand name Tia Maria, but we failed to “own” it (the product, the concept, etc.), and Kahlua came in and took over the market from us.
    It does sound yummy though.

  9. March 8, 2010 7:17 pm

    ooh, this sounds good. Anything that calls for coffee and ice cream I’m all in!

  10. March 10, 2010 6:11 am

    What a fantastic concoction. I’ll take anything with Kahlua, please!

  11. March 12, 2010 1:20 am

    I was pleased to see this even though I’ve never heard of it here…mark you I don’t know all possibilities. However I plan to try this.

  12. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 25, 2010 4:53 am

    Thanks, all! Even if they aren’t from Jamaica (Thanks for the info., Diana!), these sodas were pretty darn tasty. And I think they could definitely be called “medicinal!” haha
    ~Michelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 857 other followers