Skip to content

Malted milk bar brownies

March 8, 2010

Malted Milk Bar Brownies

Do you ever walk by some particular thing at the grocery store and think to yourself ~ “Hmm.  I think I could bake something with that.”  That’s just what happened to me with the malted milk.  And I couldn’t just buy malted milk without buying some malted milk balls to go with it.  C’mon, I might need them, right?

Armed with my pantry specialties… yes, I did call malted milk balls “pantry specialties.”  Anyway, armed with my pantry specialties, I went searching for something to bake.  This recipe fit the bill, and I think it’s pretty tasty.  The base is a cakey brownie and the malted milk topping is ooey and gooey and it all just tastes great together.  I especially like the crunch of the crushed candy on top, but neither of my kids liked that.  And being the smart mama I try to be, I anticipated that and only added malted milk balls on half of the bars.

I love brownie recipes that come together in one pot on the stove.  It’s so easy and the brownies are far better than the usual boxed brownie.  Not that I have anything against using a boxed anything, but if you’ve never tried homemade brownies, you’ll be so surprised at how much more you love them.

Recipe:  Malted Milk Bar Brownies

(adapted from Good Housekeeping)

Easily doubles for a 9×13″ pan, with a 24-29 minute baking time.

Chocolate Brownie Base:

6 Tbsp. butter

2 1-oz. squares of semi-sweet chocolate

1 1-oz. square of unsweetened chocolate

3/4 c. granulated sugar

1/2 Tbsp. pure vanilla extract

2 eggs

3/4 c. all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

Malted Milk Topping:

1/3 c. + 1 Tbsp. malted milk powder  (Carnation makes this… it isn’t the Ovaltine mix.)

1 1/2 Tbsp. milk

1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 Tbsp. unsalted butter, room temperature

1/2 c. powdered sugar

3/4 c. chopped malted milk ball candies

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line an 8″ square baking dish with foil, extending ends over edges to help lift brownies out of the pan later.  Spray with cooking spray.

In a heavy saucepan, melt butter and chocolates over low heat, stirring frequently.  When melted and smooth, remove saucepan from heat.  With a wooden spoon or spatula, stir in granulated sugar and vanilla.  Beat in eggs, one at a time, until well blended.  Add flour, baking powder, and salt.  Stir to combine.  Spread batter evenly in pan.  Bake 22-24 minutes, until a toothpick inserted 1″ from the edge of the pan comes out clean.  Cool on wire rack.

To frost, stir together malted milk powder, milk, and vanilla in a small bowl until blended.  Stir in butter and whisk to combine.  Add powdered sugar and mix until blended.  Spread topping on cooled bars; top with chopped malted milk ball candies.  Allow topping to set.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 1:16 pm

    Wow, this is a fabulous creation of yours. I’m a big fan of malt balls, and I cannot believe that it is a part of a brownie now…

  2. March 8, 2010 2:09 pm

    I didn’t even know one could make malted milk balls. I thought you had to buy them at the store. (I’m sure I’ve written this same comment before here. lol)

    You changed your blog header again. The bagels look yummy. Fresh bagels… mmmm….

  3. March 8, 2010 2:23 pm

    Oh goodness! This looks great!!

  4. March 8, 2010 4:47 pm

    Funny story? I always thought malted milk was chocolate (& tasted like those whoppers) so I never tried it. Recently I learned that malted milk can be vanilla flavored, too. Ding-ding, we have a winner! I actually have a container of it waiting for just this occasion.

    I’ll let you know how it goes.
    ~ingrid

  5. March 8, 2010 7:20 pm

    I’ve never been a fan of malted milk balls. But I llike how crunchy this looks against the fudgey brownie.

  6. March 9, 2010 1:11 am

    i won’t lie–i don’t love the flavor of malt. that said, these bars look amazingly gooey and rich and i suspect i’d have no trouble ingesting two or twelve. no trouble at all.

  7. March 9, 2010 3:16 am

    Oh yum! I bet these were pretty tasty! I love that you knew the kiddos werent going for the crunchy topping…what a good mama!

  8. March 9, 2010 4:38 am

    My wife was craving something exactly like this the other day. She’ll be so surprised when she comes home today. Thanks for helping me get out of the dog house!

  9. March 9, 2010 8:40 am

    Wow, these look fabulous! Two of my favorite things combined! I will definitely be trying these out!

  10. March 9, 2010 8:28 pm

    I love malted milk balls! These look yummy :)

  11. March 10, 2010 7:55 am

    Mmm, this looks yummy! What an interesting combination, I think I’ll need to try these sometime.

  12. March 10, 2010 3:24 pm

    Veeerrrry good thing this goodie is not in my house right now! Yummy!

  13. March 11, 2010 1:11 pm

    We thought we had just cleverly invented the idea of the malted milk brownie! Beautiful picture, and I’m looking forward to trying your recipe.

  14. March 15, 2010 8:08 am

    OMG these look amazing!! Definitely earmarking them for the next kitchen adventure!!

  15. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 25, 2010 4:51 am

    fattydumpling – Thank you. My kids aren’t fans, so I knew I had to find a great recipe. This is a good one, for sure.

    Lonely Scrapbooker – I bought the candies, but made the brownies. : ) And thanks ~ I like the new header too.

    Memoria – Thanks!

    Ingrid – Sigh. You and your anti-chocolate. : )

    Monica & Grace – The malted milk balls really were a great topping for these brownies. They could change your mind.

    Krystle – Aw, thank you!

    12th Man – Hope she loves them…. come back and let me know.

    EZ Recipes – Great. I hope you love them too.

    Diane & Amanda – Thanks very much!

    Marla – : )

    CrankyCheryl – Did you make them too? Great minds…

    Mango – Thanks. Come back to let me know if you liked them.

    ~Michelle

  16. April 9, 2010 7:11 am

    uh YUM!!!! i’m so making these!
    love your blog. and your yummy looking pictures.

Trackbacks

  1. Pastillas de Leche (Milk Bars) II
  2. Pastillas de Leche (Milk Bars) II | Filipino Recipe Site

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers