Skip to content

Thin mints

March 11, 2010

Thin Mints

I really don’t think you can top a Girl Scout Thin Mint cookie straight from the freezer.  Unless you make your own, of course!  Three ingredients.  That’s it!  And if you happen to pick up some Andes mints baking bits, then you’ve cut your ingredient list by a third.  I love it.

These are seriously good.  So good that it’s hard to believe they’re actually Ritz crackers.  Yep.  Ritz crackers!  Dip them into some minty dark chocolate and you’ve created thin mint cookies in your own kitchen.  Now grab an icy glass of milk and enjoy.

Recipe:  Thin Mints

1 sleeve of Ritz crackers

1 bag of dark chocolate chips

1/2 tsp. pure peppermint extract

Melt chocolate in a glass bowl over a pot of simmering water.  When chocolate is melted and smooth, stir in peppermint extract.  Dip crackers and remove with a fork.  Tap fork against side of bowl.  Transfer cracker to waxed paper-lined cookie sheet.  Chill in refrigerator until chocolate sets.

32 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 4:48 am

    For real? A Ritz cracker? Who knew? Am I the last to know this?

    Just picked up a ton of chocolate chips yesterday to make malted milk brownies, but didn’t notice mint chips. Will have to dig around for that.

    Thanks!

  2. March 11, 2010 4:49 am

    I make these every Christmas! They’re my favorite, last minute, treat to take with me to parties. You can also crush a candycane and sprinkle some of that on top of them when they’re still wet. Love them!

  3. March 11, 2010 4:53 am

    Oh my gosh! I would have never thought to make them with crackers! I just broke open my box of Thin Mints last night, but now I know I can have an endless supply once I gobble those down!

  4. March 11, 2010 5:15 am

    How clever! Who would of thought a ritz could take so good! Freezer thin mints are my favorite!!

  5. March 11, 2010 5:19 am

    I love thin mints, and I agree they are best right out of the freezer!!

  6. March 11, 2010 5:50 am

    Devon adores these! I make them every Christmas. He nags me endlessly for them as soon as we roll into November. How’d you get your chocolate so smooth? Mine never looks that nice which is why mine get topped with some crushed candy canes. :)
    ~ingrid

  7. March 11, 2010 9:10 am

    many people underestimate the power of the ritz cracker, but i don’t. i know how magical it can be, and this is a fine and dandy use for it!

  8. March 11, 2010 10:44 am

    Oh my what a super simple idea. Thses look so good and would make such nice teacher’s gifts too!

  9. March 12, 2010 4:47 am

    I most definitely agree thin mints are THE BEST out of the freezer. I am most definitely going to have to try these. ..thin mints are my FAV! I’m planning on making a thin mint chunk cookie and thin mint cupcake for St.Pattys day and posting that on my blog, maybe if I have extra time I can try these babies! thanks!

    http://cuppycakebakes.blogspot.com

  10. March 12, 2010 4:37 pm

    oh they look so delicious!

  11. March 12, 2010 6:49 pm

    These thin mints are so simple and perfect. I bet it is hard to refrain from eating a great big stack of ‘em!!

  12. March 13, 2010 3:51 am

    Wow, is it really that easy? When I first saw the title of the post, I was thinking, ok, NOW let me see THIS recipe! Who knew?!

  13. March 13, 2010 7:26 pm

    Oooh or you could use those Nabisco chocolate wafers and have even thinner thin mints. once I work my way through the boxes of GS cookies I have in my pantry I might make these if the craving hits!

  14. March 14, 2010 11:32 am

    I love this! I don’t eat thin mints anymore because of the trans fats, but this is a great alternative. You’ve got a great blog! So many great ideas! :-)

  15. March 14, 2010 3:47 pm

    Fantastic recipe — I simply adore the ease of it.

  16. karen permalink
    March 14, 2010 5:39 pm

    Great! Always been an addict of the G.S. ones until I found out about the copious amounts of Hydrogenated soybean oil in them. Now we can make our own. thanks!

  17. March 15, 2010 3:29 am

    That makes a change from cheese and crackers!

  18. March 15, 2010 5:40 am

    I’ve just about finished off my first box of Thin Mints, so when they are gone I am totally trying these!

  19. March 15, 2010 3:27 pm

    Ok, this is the coolest idea. I need to get some crackers!

  20. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 25, 2010 4:43 am

    12th Man – I didn’t use the Andes mint chips either. Just add some peppermint extract to your regular chocolate chips and you’ve got it. They are so good!

    Stephanie – That’s a great idea. These are now gonna be my last-minute go-to treat too!

    Danae – I know! My mom has even made the mock apple pie recipe using Ritz. Crazy!

    Krystle & Hungry Dog – I agree. Thin Mints straight from the freezer are awesome.

    Ingrid – But they’re cookies?! You don’t do cookies! ; )

    Grace – Thanks!

    Robin – Oh, these would be great for teacher gifts. I know my kids’ teachers would love them.

    Tarrah – I’ll be checking out your thin mint cupcakes! Thanks.

    Diane – Thank you!

    Marla – That’s partly why it helps to freeze them. : ) Out of sight, out of mind.

    Lonely Scrapbooker – Yep, that’s really all there is to it.

    Monica – I think that’d be delicious, but I can’t get those cookies here. I’ve used Smitten Kitchen’s recipe and made my own though, and they were great. They’d be perfect wrapped in chocolate and mint.

    Erin & Xiaolu – Thanks!

    Karen – I actually used the wheat Ritz for this batch and we couldn’t stop eating them.

    CB – I still love cheese and crackers, but this is definitely a sweet alternative. : )

    Karly – Hope you come back and let me know how you like them.

    Holly – Thanks!

    ~Michelle

  21. June 13, 2010 2:09 am

    Really? I’m curious enough to try this!

  22. Ben permalink
    October 11, 2010 6:41 am

    Aren’t the Ritz crackers salty?

  23. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 11, 2010 7:19 am

    Ben – I actually adore a little saltiness w/ chocolate, but no, none of us thought these were salty. Just really tasty! : ) Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    ~ Michelle

  24. Ben permalink
    October 11, 2010 7:40 am

    Okay thanks, will try these today =) Looking forward to them!

  25. Eva Velarde permalink
    December 19, 2010 12:11 pm

    Beautiful site! I bookmarked it and put on practice some tips. I also took the news paper gift wrap picture. Keep up the good work. merry xmas

  26. Greg permalink
    February 6, 2011 10:11 pm

    Just made these and they are quite tasty. I used 60% Ghirardelli, so they were a bit bitter. Out of curiosity, what kind of chips did you use and what size bag? I used an 11.5oz bag, so it seemed a bit minty.

  27. May 5, 2011 1:05 pm

    Hello Michelle,

    I love this recipe, I’m just adoring all of the ideas I find out there to “copy” girl scout cookies but in a healthier, cheaper and lower fat way.

    I hope you won’t mind, we’d love to link to some of your recipes at RecipeLion.com, I think our readers would love them!

    Thanks, I’ll be back often,

    Sarah @ RecipeLion

  28. agnita permalink
    November 16, 2011 12:44 am

    Hi… i loves soooo much your post. my i use it for me and my friends?… not for comersial but just for us (me and my few friends). So, when we cook, we’ll get some inspiration how to do. thanks. an admiror from Indonesia.

  29. February 24, 2012 10:31 pm

    I’d like to include a your photo of this recipe in a Thin Mint Recipe Collection that I’m posting on Sunday! Let me know if this is a problem! Thank you!!

  30. February 24, 2012 10:32 pm

    PS- a link back to you will, obviously, be included

  31. one ordinary day permalink
    February 25, 2012 7:17 am

    Ashton – Sounds great! Thanks for asking. :)
    ~ Michelle

  32. March 2, 2012 10:41 am

    I found you via Ashton’s link! :)

    Thanks! -Carly

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 859 other followers