Skip to content

Donut muffins

March 30, 2010

Donut Muffins

Sometimes I think I have a great idea and it ends up a lot like a balloon deflating.  Know what I mean?  That’s a bit how these donut muffins turned out.

I thought these would be a special treat for a morning the kids had off from school.  Well, not so much.  Neither of them even liked them!  I’m guessing that the recipe would have been better for us if I had reduced the amount of nutmeg and added some vanilla and cinnamon to the batter.  I also think going for mini muffins might have been a better plan.  That way, you’d feel more like you were popping a donut hole into your mouth.  Oh well.  Maybe my kids should just stop having so many days off of school so this sort of thing doesn’t happen again?  Right?  Just kidding!  {sort of }

Recipe:  Donut Muffins

(found at Bed and Breakfast Inns)

Muffin:

1/3 c. vegetable oil

1/2 c. granulated sugar

1 egg

1 1/2 c. flour

1/2 tsp. salt

2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

1/2 c. milk

Topping:

1/2 c. granulated sugar

1 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/2 c. melted butter

Cream oil, sugar, and egg.  Sift together flour, baking powder, salt, and nutmeg.  Add to creamed mixture alternately with milk.  Fill greased muffin tin and bake for 20-25 minutes in a preheated 375 degree oven.  Remove immediately from pan.  Roll in melted butter, then cinnamon sugar mixture.  Serve warm.

Makes 6 full-size muffins.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 2:47 am

    What a pity your kids didn’t like these! They definitely look good :) Surprisingly, I’ve made donut muffins before, and still have yet to decide whether I liked them. There’s something about them that I can’t quite put a finger to, but perhaps I’ll just stick to donut holes :P

  2. March 30, 2010 5:45 am

    Really? Man, Michelle, what’s up with the kiddos’ taste buds? LOL! Can I have their share? Were the muffins really not good? Did you like them? Jim? You could make them again in mini form and glaze them with a powdered sugar or chocolate one. So what recipes totally rock your children’s world?

    Btw, how’s the Easter recipe throwdown testing going?
    ~ingrid

  3. March 30, 2010 6:36 am

    What a shame! They certainly look gorgeous and sound like a brilliant idea. I’m sure I’d be willing to eat a few…

  4. March 30, 2010 8:38 am

    Well, did YOU like them? That is all that matters at this point haha. More for you! :P They do look good.

  5. March 30, 2010 9:50 am

    making mini muffins and adding cinnamon are definitely two things that’d raise the appeal of these for me. don’t get me wrong–i’d eat ‘em as they are–but i’d prefer them with those changes. :)

  6. March 30, 2010 3:09 pm

    I saw these on a food network show recently and added them to my must-bake list. Thanks for reminding me to make them.

  7. March 30, 2010 6:30 pm

    You’re the first person who has said they didn’t like them! huh! I’m not a big fan of nutmeg so I’d sub cinnamon instead. This only makes 6 muffins so maybe I’ll try them anyway. They look good!

  8. March 31, 2010 6:57 am

    OMG these look sooooooooooo good. I gotta try these sometime.

  9. April 1, 2010 1:16 am

    Ooops, my comment went into the wrong post:
    These donuts look great to me, sorry the kids weren’t so impressed. Sometimes you never know what your gonna get with the kiddos!

  10. April 5, 2010 8:44 am

    Michelle I have seen these everywhere and would like to make them but if you think they aren’t that great I won’t. They at least look pretty!

  11. April 6, 2010 3:51 pm

    Sorry it didn’t work out but these sound really good. I’m sure it’ll work out to be everything you’d imagined with some tweaking :).

Trackbacks

  1. Donut Muffins « Bakingblonde’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 858 other followers