Skip to content

Pineapple float & some things you didn’t know

April 9, 2010

Pineapple Float

I’ve bought more pineapples in the past month than you can imagine.  Lots of pineapples.  Our family throwdown was Easter weekend and I just couldn’t make up my mind about what to make.  I tried several different ideas, but I finally decided on this float.  I know it isn’t much in the eye candy department, but 2 out of 3 of my pint-sized taste testers loved it, so I was hoping for a clean sweep with the younger set of judges.  Add to that the fact that I look for any excuse to use my ice cream machine, plus the final product reminds me of the “Dole Whips” we were smitten with at Disney last summer.

I started by making pineapple sherbet, then turned it into a float using pineapple juice and a tropical-flavored sparkling water.  I’ve also made them using Sprite.  Basically, that last ingredient is just to give it a frothy fizz.

Even though this float is light and fruity and refreshing, alas, it did not win the throwdown.  I swear I’m not making excuses, but here are a the facts surrounding my throwdown entry:

a.)  It was hot enough in my mom’s kitchen to fry an egg on the counter, which was not conducive to ice cream making; and

b.)  Even though this recipe specifically says to put the finished sherbet in the freezer for an hour, I didn’t.

And as if my confidence wasn’t dragging on the floor by that time, let me share a couple of observations by our judges:

a.)  My 6-year-old nephew, who was sure he was gonna vote for me, ended up voting for Grandy instead.  Picture a little guy with a really deep voice saying, “I didn’t know Aunt Shell’s was gonna be a liquid.”

b.)  My mother, who supposedly loves me, looked at me in earnest and said, “You know, this would be really good with ice cream in it.”  What??  Oh my gosh!!  I am so not appreciated in this family!

In my defense, I mentioned the stinking heat, right?  My sherbet was too soft to even be called soft-serve, so Ayden was right.  It was most definitely a liquid.  Dang.  Maybe I’ll get that trophy back next year.  In the meantime, the winning pineapple recipe will be revealed shortly.  Stay tuned!

{But to soothe my broken heart, I’m sharing a great blogging award I received after the recipe.}

Recipe:  Pineapple Float

(adapted from Serious Eats)

1 can sweetened condensed milk

1 whole pineapple, peeled, core removed, and cut into chunks

1/2 cup cold whole milk

1 1/2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

For assembling the pineapple float:

pineapple juice, canned

splash of flavored seltzer water or Sprite

Place the pineapple chunks in the blender and puree until smooth.  Pass the mixture through a fine-mesh strainer.  Press to discard all the solids.  Stir in the sweetened condensed milk, whole milk, and lemon juice until thoroughly mixed.  Chill for at least 30 minutes.

Freeze the sherbet in an ice cream maker following manufacturer’s instructions.  Transfer to freezer-safe container and freeze 1 hour before making floats.  When sherbet is ready, scoop some into a frosty glass, add pineapple juice, then top off with a splash of seltzer water or Sprite.  Adorn side of glass with a pineapple chunk.  Serve with straws (my faves are found here) and iced tea spoons.

A short time ago I stopped by a blog I read regularly (Farmer Gal’s Market) and to my surprise I found that my friend Farmer Gal has passed an award on to me.  And even better, she said such sweet things about me and my little blog that frankly I felt quite humbled.  Thank you, Farmer Gal!

As always with these little tokens of kindness, there are a few things I have to do in return:

  • Link back to the person who gave it to you.
  • List seven things about yourself.
  • Pass the award on to seven other bloggers.

So here we go!  Seven things about myself, eh?  And they have to be truths, not the silly (but fun) fibs I thought up last month.

  1. I am not a night person.  Don’t even think about calling my house after 8 PM.  Decent people don’t call other folks that late at night.
  2. Sometimes I make my kids eat cereal for dinner.
  3. I cannot bear when someone has a limp handshake.  It grosses me out.
  4. I’d like to travel to Uganda, to visit a Watoto village and meet our sponsored child.
  5. Being a mom is the hardest and most amazing thing I will ever have the privilege of doing.
  6. I despise the word “succulent.”  I can barely even type it without cringing.
  7. I’m a sucker for the last big song in a musical.  Makes me wanna cry every time.  Even High School Musical.  There, I said it.  Don’t judge me.

I like the name of this award and I’m passing it on to some beautiful people and some lovely blogs.  Reading these blogs brightens my day, and I think you’ll feel the same way.

  1. Ingrid, because even though we “met” through our blogs, I feel blessed to call her my friend.  I’ve also got her to thank for my love of bar cookies.  : )
  2. Monica, because she inspires me to be a better baker and photographer.  I love baking along with her and Ingrid.
  3. Dreamland, because it’s full of beautiful quotes that I want to copy and hang all over my house.
  4. Kind Over Matter, because kindness does matter!
  5. Giver’s Log, because Amber is creative and her blog is full of wonderful examples of thoughtfulness.
  6. Waffleizer, because how can you not support waffle research?  I don’t even own a waffle iron, but I think this blog is great.
  7. eighteen25, which is relatively new to me but I enjoy it because it’s crafty and creative and you’ll find lots of good ideas there.
14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 11:14 am

    I hate limp handshakes too. Ugh.
    A friend of mine’s favourite thing to say about everything was “succulente” with an emphasis on the “eh” at the end. It would always make us crack up. What IS it about that word?!

  2. April 9, 2010 2:21 pm

    So fun to read your seven things! I love learning little tid-bits about people. I hate certain words, too. ‘Succulent’ isn’t one of them, but I definitely have some others that get under my skin. And I hate limp hand shakes too. Doesn’t everybody hate limp handshakes? And yet there are still people out there in the world just limp-handshaking away. It’s beyond my comprehension.

  3. April 9, 2010 4:15 pm

    I agree that it was fun to read more facts about you!! The recipe for the pineapple float looks promising. I’m sorry it didn’t work out perfectly this time around. Congrats on the award!!

  4. April 9, 2010 10:51 pm

    i commend you–a pineapple float is a great idea for a cool treat, even if things didn’t go exactly right.
    meanwhile, YES to the repulsiveness of limp handshakes!! :)

  5. April 10, 2010 6:06 am

    Don’t you just love how supportive mothers can be in the throes of competition?

  6. Dani Lawton permalink
    April 10, 2010 7:54 am

    I hate to point out in front of everyone but…I did tell her MULTIPLE times that she should take the ice cream maker to the first floor of mom’s house (which was considerably cooler).

  7. April 10, 2010 10:45 am

    Oooo so sorry to hear you didn’t win!!! :) anxious to read the winning recipe though! And congratulations on your – well deserved -award too!!

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 10, 2010 10:59 am

    Lonely Scrapbooker – I have no idea, but it completely makes me cringe. : )

    Farmer Gal – Imagine me during “passing of the peace” at church! haha

    Memoria – Thanks. The float really is tasty, even if it looks very plain and ordinary.

    Grace – Thank you!

    My Man’s Belly – Oh, that’s okay. My mom’s awesome and it really was comical because she said it so innocently.

    Dani – ZIP IT.

    Simone – Thanks, but that’s okay. My mom won for the first time since we started the throwdown, so I was happy for her. But not so happy that I won’t try to win it back next year!

    ~ Michelle

  9. April 10, 2010 2:16 pm

    During ‘passing of the peace’, just hug people instead. Hard. Nobody likes a limp hugger, either. ;) Ha ha.

  10. April 11, 2010 11:15 am

    Aw, thanks, Michelle! I needed that. I can’t tell you how much I enjoy baking with you and Monica, too!

    Bar cookies totally kick butt! :)

    Sorry to hear you didn’t win. You’re recipe sounds totally yummy. I could go for one right now. What’s next year’s ingredient? That trophy’s gonna be ours,er yours.
    ~ingrid

  11. April 11, 2010 5:22 pm

    Number 1 totally made me laugh because I am SO not a morning person and I have made my mompromise to never call me before 8 am. ha ha!

    Sorry you didn’t win with your beverage entry. Just teasing :-)

  12. April 12, 2010 8:17 am

    okay. so much to say. first of all, I love that you love the last big song in a musical. i am going to try to soak that up next time. second of all, I’m totally going to try this recipe. I love things that involve fizzy water. And I love the comment about it being liquid. that totally cracked me up. (oh, and I’m going to look for the Dole whips in Disneyland!) And finally, thank you for the mention. It totally made my day.

  13. April 12, 2010 9:25 am

    Oh man! Sorry to hear you didnt win! I think this float sounds delicious…even if it was a liquid :)

    Congrats to your mom, her cake looks amazing as well!

  14. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 12, 2010 10:38 am

    Ingrid – : ) I won’t know next year’s ingredient until it gets closer. Bea’s the “chairman” and gets to choose, cause she doesn’t cook. LOL

    Monica – Ha ha… very funny.

    Amber – I love your blog. Most definitely one of the best around.

    Krystle – Oh, that’s okay. If you have to lose to someone, it may as well be your mom, right?

    ~ Michelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 855 other followers