Skip to content

Rainbow pancakes

April 13, 2010

Rainbow Pancakes

Would you just look at this stack of pancakes?  How can you not feel happy when your day starts like this?  Claudia has been on a frozen waffle kick for weeks and weeks and weeks, even though Jim always makes and freezes pancakes for the kids to eat in the mornings.  Pancakes made with whole wheat flour (and sometimes peanut butter) are way better than those freezer waffles.  Anyway, I’ve been trying to figure out how to get this child to get back to eating a better breakfast and thought this might just do the trick.  I bought some rainbow sprinkles and Jim tossed a big handful into his pancake batter.  Viola!  Rainbow pancakes!

These turned out really cute, don’t you think?  And, yes, Claudia will actually eat them!  I was the lucky one to chow down on this particular stack.  I wasn’t sure I was going to like them because I don’t care for sprinkles/jimmies when they’re used as decorations on cookies or ice cream.  I was happily surprised that even though the pancakes are full of little bursts of color, the texture blends right in with the pancake.  Success!  If you’ve ever had a “funfetti” cake, this is pretty much it, but in breakfast form.

Wouldn’t these be a fun birthday breakfast?  Or how about Mother’s Day/Father’s Day breakfast in bed?  I just love ‘em.  I hope you do too!

{one year ago:  peanut butter cookie bars}

Recipe:  Rainbow Pancakes

1 c. King Arthur white whole wheat flour  (We are crazy about this flour and use it in everything!)

1 Tbsp. baking powder

1 Tbsp. light brown sugar

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

1 egg

1 c. skim milk, or whatever milk you like

2 Tbsp. canola or vegetable oil

3/4 tsp. pure vanilla extract

rainbow jimmies

Heat your griddle to medium high heat.  Meanwhile, whisk together the dry ingredients and make a well in the center.  In another bowl, combine wet ingredients.  Pour wet ingredients into the well in the flour mixture and stir just until combined.  Add a handful of rainbow jimmies and stir to evenly distribute.  Pour batter by 1/4 cupfuls onto hot, buttered griddle.  Cook until pancakes are lightly golden on both sides and cooked through.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 1:58 am

    These would definitly make my day start off great!

  2. April 13, 2010 5:09 am

    So pretty! I never have time for a big breakfast, but these would definitely make me stop for a couple bites! I love sprinkles :)

  3. April 13, 2010 7:40 am

    Aww, they’re so cute! And they look so delicious! I want to stuff them in my face lol.

  4. April 13, 2010 9:26 am

    Hi! Wow these look sooooo HAPPY! May I please put a link to this on my Facebook page? I just know it would cheer everyone up. I’m totally with Lizzy — forget the fork I just want to pick them up and stuff them in my mouth!

    Thanks, Kay

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 13, 2010 9:30 am

    Hi, Kay. Yes, you sure can put a link on facebook. : ) Thanks for asking and for the comment!
    ~Michelle

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 13, 2010 9:33 am

    April – I think so too. They are so cheerful.

    Krystle – My husband freezes the pancakes in little stacks of two and they’re ready to go in 60-70 seconds in the microwave on busy mornings. Believe me, otherwise our kids wouldn’t be getting pancakes for breakfast every day either. : )

    Lizzy – LOL Thanks.

    ~ Michelle

  7. April 13, 2010 9:35 am

    these are definitely appealing–what a fun idea! if i had kids, you’d better believe i’d be tossing the sprinkles in my next batch of pancakes. i may do it anyway. :)

  8. April 13, 2010 3:07 pm

    Oh, these are perfect for the kid in me! hahaha I want a huge stack of them, please!

  9. April 13, 2010 3:09 pm

    They look great. Yummy. I was on a pancake binge for the first few weeks after the babies got here but I think I od’ed. But these make me hungry for them again… .
    Can you believe Bebel doesn’t like pancakes? Only kid on the planet… I wonder if she’d eat them with the rainbow sprinkles in them… .

  10. April 14, 2010 10:06 am

    Those do look yummy! I’m excited to try them! I’ve also done whole wheat waffles and put food coloring in them as well. My daughter loves them. It’s amazing the things we do to get our kids to eat good food! :-)

  11. April 14, 2010 3:28 pm

    My 11 year old nephew is staying with us this weekend and I have been trying to think of something fun and clever to make him for breakfast Saturday morning while we’re watching Spongebob and lazing around… this is a GREAT idea! I am so stealing this, and no worries, I will link back to you!

  12. April 15, 2010 12:53 am

    My kids would love these pancakes! They are so pretty, I bet that little touch of sweeteness adds a lot of something special. Yes, great b’day breakfast idea.

  13. April 15, 2010 4:53 am

    Yay someone else who calls them jimmies too! I have had to start calling them sprinkles because no one knows what I am talking about when I say jimmies!

  14. April 15, 2010 8:25 am

    I like “jimmmies” and I like pancakes thus I like “jimmie” filled pancakes! :)

    LOL, I’m a bad mama (or Dad? You never know…ha-ha!) I give my kiddos Eggo waffles for breakfast.
    ~ingrid

  15. April 15, 2010 10:31 am

    Happy pancakes! What a wonderful idea!

  16. April 17, 2010 2:32 pm

    I LOVE funfetti cake and one of my friends makes it on a regular basis. Can’t wait to try a breakfast version :).

  17. April 17, 2010 4:07 pm

    How fun are these! I love them and I’m glad Claudia is now eating better breakfasts because of them.

    These would be super cute made into shapes with those pancake molds too!

  18. March 1, 2011 10:47 am

    We’re making these tonight for National Pancake Day. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 852 other followers