Skip to content

Are you helping?

April 20, 2010

I really debated about sharing this video.  It makes me sad.  Ashamed, even.  Discomfited by the fact that people, including myself, do things every day that have the potential to harm another living thing.  I realize there’s likely to be a person actually standing there filming this video, and I assume that person will happily help the turtle.  But the point has been made.

Please get yourself some reusable shopping bags.  They’re not expensive and it’s really an easy thing to do.  The reusable shopping bags don’t break, they hold more, and their washable.  And they really do make difference.

I’ve heard the excuses.

“I use the plastic bags again.”  Right.  But those plastic bags still end up in a landfill or waterway eventually.

“I always forget my cloth bag at home.”  Okay, then, put them in the front seat of your car so you can’t forget them at home.

“I recycle the plastic bags.”  Do you know it costs more money and energy to recycle that bag than it does to make a new one?

If you haven’t already made the switch, use Earth Day as your starting point.  Just do it.  You can make a difference.

“The Earth is what we all have in common.” ~ Wendell Berry

Do your part this Earth Day ~ April 22

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 4:24 pm

    Oh my goodness. I couldn’t watch the rest of the video. It was too sad for words!! I’m thankful that I use cloth bags almost all of the time. I leave my cloth bags in my car. When I come home with the bags, I empty them out and then place them on the doorknob of the front door so that I won’t forget to take them back to the car. The days I don’t use the cloth bags usually occur when I go to the store with a friend in her/his car, and the grocery trip is unplanned. When I get only a few items, and I have no bag, I don’t use a bag at all. The workers look at me like I’m crazy, but I try to do everything in my power to avoid using plastic bags. When I HAVE to give in and use a plastic bag, I feel sick and guilty. I usually just keep the bags in my house because they are safer here than out in the vast world where the lovely creatures are. I need to share this video with my mom. She still feels it is unnecessary to be so obsessive about using cloth bags. I cringe every time I go shopping with her for that very reason.

  2. April 20, 2010 7:44 pm

    I have bags and I always forget them at home. I even store them right by the door so I don’t forget, but I still do. If I get tot he store and realize I don’t have them then I’ll just use paper bags, raher than plastic. I’ve got to get better though. I’ll try!

  3. April 21, 2010 5:25 am

    I have, no lie, about 20 of those bags. The reason? I often forget them and when I do just buy a new one. I try remember to take them with me when I’m shopping at the mall,too.
    ~ingrid

  4. Joann permalink
    June 26, 2010 1:07 am

    I’m all for helping the environment. Just be sure that you clean those ‘green’ bags:

    “Reusable bags may present health risk”

    http://www.azcentral.com/news/articles/2010/06/25/20100625reusable-shopping-bags-health-risk.html

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers